We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sands Bistro

Athlone High Street | High street, Borth SY24 5LH, Wales
+44 7974 369904
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good28%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“baked potato” (2 reviews)
“burgers” (8 reviews)
“ice cream” (9 reviews)
Open Now
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Athlone High Street | High street, Borth SY24 5LH, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2017

Lovely little cafe/bistro.Good homemade food and nice friendly but not over bearing staff.reasonable prices and dog friendly ! highly recommend if you are in Borth .

1  Thank kazylynch
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

It was raining heavily in Borth and it was great to enter this cafe. Staff greeted us and gave us menus to order food at table. All day breakfasts were cooked to order and were tasty. Other customers were equally valued and staff were kind...More

1  Thank 37alasdaird
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Although we come to Borth regularly we had missed this little gem - although actually not little at all. Surprised at the space inside, with two conservertories to the side and rear. Initially calling for coffee, (which was great) we stayed for lunch. the service...More

Thank Mary H
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and I had breakfast at Sands Bistro in Borth today, it was absolutely delicious and I can highly recommend it to anyone looking for good food. The food quality and quantity were excellent. The coffee was great as well. Location is excellent, plenty...More

3  Thank brit048
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

This is more than my 5th visit and keep coming back , had a amazing plate of beer battered cod and chips and was a very generous portion . Visited mid September where there was a lovely busy atmosphere . Would be great if they...More

Thank Kazlfrancis
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We had visited this cafe previously with no issue however this summer we had a less than happy visit. The member of staff was unnecessarily rude whilst our children were deciding which ice cream flavour to have. I am sure all children are a little...More

2  Thank sasha264
gltborth, Owner at Sands Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

I apologise that you had an unpleasant experience. The staff here usually pride themselves on customer service. I make staff aware of all our complaints good & bad, and made them aware that this is not an exceptable way to treat customers. I hope this...More

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

I'd rather starve than eat here again. Absolutely no effort goes into the food. Disgusting, cheap and nasty. This sort of place angers me. I'd be embarrassed to serve this dross.More

Thank Uncle_Badger
gltborth, Owner at Sands Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

I would like to begin my response by saying that I welcome constructive criticism. Reviews usually state what you ate, what the problem was, and wether we were helpful or not in rectifying the problem. As you have not stated any of the above, and...More

Reviewed 1 September 2017

We've eaten here many times, my daughter enjoys it, I find it mediocre. The staff when they eventually serve you are pleasent and the cafe is very clean. Pretty much standard menu of burgers, chilli's, fish and chips. The vegetarian menu is pretty good. Had...More

1  Thank Jane H
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Borth is a great place so we wanted to eat local. We booked a table (6 people at 6pm) it was very quiet (maybe 3 other tables). It took 45 mins from ordering for our food to come. Nobody came to check on us or...More

2  Thank rachelowen
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Visited 2x whilst away for tea with the family. Great food and drinks. Very welcoming staff defo recommend x

Thank jelibabi
Nearby HotelsSee all Borth Hotels
White Lion Hotel
35 reviews
4.65 km away
The Harbour Hotel
2 reviews
7.05 km away
Queensbridge Hotel
184 reviews
7.08 km away
Penhelig Arms
703 reviews
7.20 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Libanus 1877
104 reviews
.69 km away
Uncle Albert's Ice Cream Emporium
83 reviews
.45 km away
Oriel Tir A Mor Gallery
126 reviews
.84 km away
Nearby Attractions
Borth Wild Animal Kingdom
362 reviews
.70 km away
Borth Station Museum
50 reviews
.59 km away
Borth RNLI Lifeboat Station
25 reviews
.45 km away
Friendship Inn
22 reviews
.46 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
19 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from gltborth | Property representative |
Hello, I'm really pleased you enjoyed the chips. The oil we use can be purchased at bookers cash & carry, it is KTC vegetable oil :)
David J
13 May 2016|
Response from peterthegreat2016 | Reviewed this property |
I haven`t got a clue how to do that, sorry.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Athlone High Street | High street, Borth SY24 5LH, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Ceredigion  >  Borth
  • Phone Number: +44 7974 369904
  • E-mail
Cafe bistro serving breakfast, traditional & light lunches and evening meals during peak season (June - September). Also serving segafredo coffee, dessert & ice cream sundaes, in a relaxed atmosphere. Dog friendly too
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Save your favourites!
Keep track of your top restaurant finds.
Save now