We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Treacle Mine

) #2 of 17 Restaurants in Polegate ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , , British
Hailsham Road, Polegate BN26 6QL, England
+44 1323 489520
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good27%
  • Average16%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“treacle” (17 reviews)
“sundae” (10 reviews)
“pudding” (20 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hailsham Road, Polegate BN26 6QL, England
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We stayed in the Polegate Premier Inn for 2 nights and so we had breakfast both days in the Treacle Mine where breakfast is served. We also ate at the Treacle Mine on both evenings, not that we are unadventurous at all. It's simply that...More

Thank Joel019
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We went as a family of 3 and had fab food which there was plenty of, presented well and served hot which is very unusual these days! But really made our visit was the service from our waitress Victoria who greeted us with a smile...More

Thank Nikki J
treacle-mine_wi, General Manager at Treacle Mine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and found the service and food to your liking. I shall pass your kind words on to Vickie. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 6 days ago

Complete satisfaction with the meals we have here, excellent menue, pleasant informed team.. Not the usual chain food.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank 297websites
treacle-mine_wi, General Manager at Treacle Mine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and the menu was to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good service, friendly Staff, great food and qood value for money. Would definitely recommend. Great for families and friends.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
treacle-mine_wi, General Manager at Treacle Mine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and the service and value was to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Disappointed there were no offers even for regulars?? i'm sure i saw something on my emails saying dads eat free?? But no one seemed to know??More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank 556websites
treacle-mine_wi, General Manager at Treacle Mine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you were disappointed in the lack of promotional offers on Father's Day. Many of the offers sent to Tasty Rewards guests are unique to them, and a lot run at once, most of which exclude weekends/bank holidays anyway....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in lunchtime after shopping to see if after 2years the food had improved, sadly not. we had to wait a long while to be seated. The first glass that came with my drink was wet so asked for a dry glass. The second glass...More

Thank peggy65
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great food and service.Family friendly with great atmosphere.Outside area and parking.Varied menu for kids aswell.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank 167websites
treacle-mine_wi, General Manager at Treacle Mine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoy your visits and the food and the service is to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staying at the Premier Inn next door, had breakfast here each morning which was good and enjoyable. Evening meals here not very good at all, service a huge let down compared to breakfast, very slow even when hardly any customers in the restaurant. The food...More

Thank A_SG6
treacle-mine_wi, General Manager at Treacle Mine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your breakfasts, though sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meals in the evening, I shall feed this back to the team. We hope you do come to visit again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had breakfast here every morning during a stay at local hotel. Welcomed every morning by happy staff that were attentive but not hovering over me. All breakfast is cooked to order. Hot, fresh, and not dry.

Thank Holden133
treacle-mine_wi, General Manager at Treacle Mine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We're very glad you enjoyed your visits and found the food and the service to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had breakfast and a dinner here. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and the food was very tasty; good value. The service was excellent although it was quiet at the time. The quality of the food for dinner was not quite so good...More

Thank GreekGeek16
treacle-mine_wi, General Manager at Treacle Mine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your visits despite the evening meal not being as good as the breakfast. I shall feed this back to the team. We hope you do come to visit again soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
K2 Indian Restaurant
245 reviews
.33 km away
The Viceroy
67 reviews
1.02 km away
Polegate Fisheries
45 reviews
1.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Michelham Priory
223 reviews
4.06 km away
Willingdon Golf Club
18 reviews
4.71 km away
The Long Man of Wilmington
42 reviews
5.13 km away
Drusillas Park
1,409 reviews
5.20 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
lreilly88
I notice there is "ve = suitable for vegans" in the dietry requirements box but not one of the dishes on your menu has the 've' sign next to it. Can you advise if you are able to make any of your veggie dishes vegan please?
12 April 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from bkumar841 | Reviewed this property |
You will have to ring the hotel and find out. The reason being I did not have any vegan dishes hence I am unable your question.
0
Votes
Patricia P
Hi, What is the max you can seat for a meal?
27 March 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from nikki4giles | Reviewed this property |
Not sure but they are very helpful
0
Votes
Catrina103
Hi there. Do you do breakfasts as you are attached to premier inn? Thanks.
28 December 2016|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from Johnk8920 | Reviewed this property |
Yes Book via Premier Inn Or select from Menu
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 6 - US$ 25
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 10:00
Monday
06:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
06:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
06:30 - 22:00
Thursday
06:30 - 22:00
Friday
06:30 - 22:00
Saturday
07:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hailsham Road, Polegate BN26 6QL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Polegate
  • Phone Number: +44 1323 489520
  • E-mail
Description
Using seasonal ingredients, Whitbread Inns - Treacle Mine boasts a menu of traditional pub dishes. Varied sharing platters are served alongside tempting nibbles and British favourites. Hearty breakfasts are also available for early risers, while sensational desserts bring something sweet to the Treacle Mine menu. Enjoy a glass of flavoursome wine or refreshing beer from the bar, or indulge in our weekly Tuesday night quiz in the snug.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing