We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Dukes Head

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Laindon Common Road | Little Burstead, Billericay CM12 9TA, England
+44 1277 651333
Website
Today
12:00 - 21:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 09:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

539 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 538: English reviews
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Been a few times now and never had a bad meal yet. Staff are attentive and polite and service was very good. Not cheap but good value for why you get. Great for a special occasion

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Hi Paul, Thank you for your kind words, it's great to hear you have enjoyed every visit to The Dukes Head. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Called in for lunch on a Monday, everything we chose they has run out of - the no burgers, no fish cakes, no ham even for ham egg and chips! There were only six tables occupied - wonder who ate all the food?

Helpful?
Thank Jacqui S
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Good Morning Jacqui, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It's disappointing to hear you left hungry due to low stock issues, however this is something that we are further investigating. We hope that you return soon to give our full menu a chance! The Dukes Head Team More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We happened to stumble across this place whilst going out for a drive in the country. It was very cosy and all the plates of food coming out looked good. It was refreshing that although we visited on a Sunday it wasn't just roast dinner available, so we had the sharing Mediterranean board which was enough for two and delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Hello Amanda, Thank you for your review, and kind words. Its great to hear you enjoyed visiting us on Sunday. We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff weren't very friendly and we felt very rushed. They made it quite clear that they wanted to go home and was cleaning around us. It's a shame as we have been going there for years and the old manager was so welcoming and friendly but his absence shows

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline C
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Hello Jacqueline, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Its disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your last visit and that you felt rushed to leave. Your comments will be taken on board with the team to ensure this does not happen again. We do hope you return in order to have a much... More 

Langdon Hills, Essex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went here for a 90th birthday lunch. The pub and restaurant are decorated well in a modern style which fits the venue well. The lunch menu was varied and there was a choice of a two or three course meal or anything off the menu .The prices were reasonable. The food was served up hot and presented well, it... More 

Helpful?
Thank RussShaw
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Hello RussShaw, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Its wonderful to hear you had such a lovely experience with us here at The Dukes Head. We hope to see you again soon! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really nice pub and pretty location. Service was good and both the waitresses that served us were friendly and helpful. I had the fishcakes which were really tasty. My only gripe was after ordering dessert (chocolate brownie) the waitress came back and apologised and said they had ran out!! I could understand if I'd ordered off of a 'specials' menu... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Deb B
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Hello Deb B, Thank you for your review, its great to hear you enjoyed your last visit with us. Unfortunately we had sold out of our classic chocolate brownie upon this day as it is a favourite. Hopefully you return shortly to give it a try! More 

Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited the restaurant after around a year and a half break. It had gone down the pan big style over time .Could not believe the change, it was like being taken care of at the Grand Hotel !!. Everyone was on the ball and could not be faulted for attitude or service, let alone the food had improved immensely. On... More 

Helpful?
Thank kennyb12014
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Hello Kenny, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. Its always a pleasure to hear that our guests have left satisfied and enjoyed their visit with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Wickford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Always a worry suggesting somewhere for a group to get together for a meal but we all had a brilliant time - excellent food, service, atmosphere etc - even received a (lit) candle on my dessert! Car park was pretty full but considering how busy they were the service was amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Ray I
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Dear Ray, Thank you for taking the time to review our Pub, To hear your great comments on your last birthday visit is appreciated too. We hope to be welcoming you and your party very soon. Kind Regards, The Dukes Head Team. More 

Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called in for a Sunday roast. Been hear in the past. Some bad some good memories. This was another bad...........why do they give you so called roast potatoes that were one of the worst I have had and the Yorkshire was a shame to be called a YORKSHIRE pudding. The pub has nice ambiance but the food lets it down.... More 

Helpful?
Thank paul672555
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our Pub, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us on Sunday, I can promise you that if you had spoken to one of the managers, we would have been more than happy to change your meal for you. If you would like to... More 

Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

my husband and I have eaten in this pub a fair amount of times. the food has always been good. the staff are very friendly as well.

Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Dear Jenny, Thank you for taking the time to review our pub, We are very happy to hear that you and your husband enjoy your time with us, and your positive comments are very much appreciated. We hope to welcome you and your husband very soon. Kind Regards The Dukes Head Team More 

Travellers who viewed The Dukes Head also viewed

 
Billericay, Essex
 

Been to The Dukes Head? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 09:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Laindon Common Road | Little Burstead, Billericay CM12 9TA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Billericay
  • Phone Number: +44 1277 651333
Description
Our menu offers delicious seasonal dishes – so whether you’re dining in our restaurant, grabbing a snack in the bar or enjoying a delicious salad al fresco, you’re sure to find something to brighten up your day.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Dukes Head and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Essex, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Dukes Head staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?