We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Black Bull

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
52 West End | Launton, Bicester OX26 5DG, England
+44 1869 253656
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 104: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopping at the Premier Inn in Bicester, we desired a more intimate experience than that on offer at the Brewers Fayre next door. The Black Bull offered tasty well served food on a traditional theme in a traditional pub. The Bull is not too big and appears to be well organised and managed. My wife being Gluten free was well... More 

Helpful?
Thank David B
TCS50, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was lovely meeting you and glad we could help with the Gluten allergy and cross contamination issue. I think more people are aware of allergies now and we are glad we were able to give you an enjoyable experience. More 

bicester
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm a local and so have eaten here many times and on each occasion come away feeling delightfully replete. Paulo does the most wonderful spaghetti with garlic & a hint of chilli (ask nicely and you can have 2 hints). Also, the sponge puddings are as light as a proverbial feather - today it was sticky pear with pecans. Fancy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dotokane
TCS50, Owner at The Black Bull, responded to this review

It's always a pleasure. thank you. More 

Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went here on 26th March 2017 for Mother's Day evening with 3 generations of family. We'd never been here before, but will now make a point of eating here whenever we we in the Bicester area. The 3 course menu offered a good range of excellently cooked and presented food, served by caring and friendly staff. The ladies even... More 

Helpful?
Thank SHDC-Dancer
TCS50, Owner at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It's always a pleasure to serve good food cooked by Paolo, and we do have lovely members of staff. Once again Thank you. More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

We visited The Black Bull for the third time this weekend and once again were more than pleased with the service, the food and the atmosphere. The barmaid/waitress (apologies I don't know her name) is very attentive and remembered us from last weekend which is a nice feeling. She even remembered that we wanted the Arancini for starters (as it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paige P
TCS50, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The barmaid/waitress is Kelly, and she remembered you from your other visit. We look forward to welcoming you again. More 

Oxford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Tracey and Paolo had a few well earned days off recently but that left us looking for somewhere comparable to go - there was nowhere! For the quality of welcome, food and beer you're the best, thanks again

Helpful?
Thank BenA714
TCS50, Owner at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank you, it's nice to know that we are missed and we always love seeing you both. x More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

If TripAdvisor had a rating out of 10 rather than 5, I would be grading the meal as a 7 out of 10. I graded 4 out of 5 because I felt 3 out of 5 was too low, but in my opinion, 4 out of 5 is generous. We visited for an evening meal and please don't get me... More 

Helpful?
Thank cccsl
TCS50, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do cater for gluten free and had we know we would have used gluten free flour. With the Burger it's law now that you have to cook them well done or if the customer prefers it rare or medium rare we have to get you to sign a disclaimer. As we used to cook... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Nice country pub, warm welcome, pity they choose to put another table in front off the fireplace as it would have made a huge difference to walk in and see a roaring fire in winter. Apart from that the food was very good, nice and hot and plenty of it. Very reasonably priced too. We would definitely go again.

Helpful?
Thank Helhols
TCS50, Owner at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, unfortunately because of the extractor in the kitchen we are unable to light the fire as it fills the pub with smoke. However we are looking at changing the pool room into a dining area and we maybe able to put a log burner in there which wouldn't be affected. We look forward to seeing... More 

Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We have had great fun and service at the Black Bull and visit it whenever we are in the area. Delicious food and a great atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
TCS50, Owner at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank you. I really enjoyed reading your review as it sounds like Fun. More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Went to the the pub as a post 18th birthday dinner for my daughter, very nice food quite busy but still managed to deliver a very nice spread, we had two roast lamb, three roast beef and a very nice portion of spaghetti and garlic for my granddaughter all very nicely presented. I would say just a couple of observations.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clive D
TCS50, Owner at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do realise that our tables are quite close together but with a small space it is difficult, however in the new year we will be expanding into the pool room, so hopefully it will create a bit more space. Also if you would like your meat well done, you just have to ask. We... More 

Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2016

A pleasant village pub, cosy and friendly. The Sunday lunch was well cooked and hot. The puddings OK, but a little fattening !! It was great to find out that if you paid cash you got a discount. great !

Helpful?
Thank PamNewall
TCS50, Owner at The Black Bull, responded to this review

It's really nice to know when customers are happy. Many thanks hope to see you again soon. More 

Travellers who viewed The Black Bull also viewed

Stratton Audley, Bicester
 
Bicester, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Black Bull? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 3 - US$ 26
Cuisine
Italian, British, Bar, Mediterranean, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Reservations, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 52 West End | Launton, Bicester OX26 5DG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Bicester
  • Phone Number: +44 1869 253656
Description
We are a traditional village pub with a 22 seater restaurant area. We provide freshly cooked food to order with an Italian & English offering. We also have a pool table, darts and aunt sally pitches. We have cask marque for our real ales of which one is a guest ale and traditional Ale and Tribute are our standard ales.We also have good parking, a large patio area and outside bar for functions. Food serving times MON, WED, THURS & FRI 12 - 2.30 P.M 6 P.M - 9 P.M SAT 12 - 9 P.M SUN 12 - 6.30 P.M

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Black Bull and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Black Bull staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?