We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sun Inn

) #1 of 1 Restaurants in Winforton ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , British,
Winforton, Winforton HR3 6EA, England
01544-32-76-77
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good21%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (11 reviews)
“pudding” (9 reviews)
Open Now
18:30 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Winforton, Winforton HR3 6EA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely experience. The barman was welcoming, the food was lovely, the customer service was great.

Thank Abbi S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped off here for lunch and were most impressed. We sat in the lovely garden with our dog under the shade of a huge tree as was a very warm day. My husband had the pork belly with orgasmic cider gravy which he said...More

Thank Dunmow567
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Called in during Monday afternoon with 2 friends on way back from Hay Festival. The landlord and landlady could not have been more welcoming. The food was great and we were made to feel valued as visitors. I would recommend The Sun at Winforton to...More

Thank Chris M
fourpalms134, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Wow! Thankyou for your wonderful review we really appreciate you taking the time to give The Sun such a great review

Reviewed 30 May 2017

Escaping the bustle and queues of the Hay Festival, we made for the Sun Inn for a late lunch. Why don't you do the same? The hosts are lovely, charming people. The welcome is warm and friendly. Food is available all day/evening during the festival.......More

1  Thank Christine R
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Called in without a booking, on way back from visiting friends in Brecon. Luckily although busy due to the Hay Festival they found us a table for 3. Received a very warm welcome, excellent service, the black mountain steak was delicious and my mother enjoyed...More

Thank 787ladyjane
fourpalms134, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thankyou for taking the time to write such a wonderful review a very big thankyou from all our team at The Sun

Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

On a long trip back to Manchester, 10.30pm at night with no services or public toilets nearby I called in quickly to use the loo. I asked the man at the bar nicely (because I am polite and wouldn't usually use facilities somewhere I was...More

Thank Ellie R
fourpalms134, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

My team and I believe in offering our customers an outstanding experience, we strive to maintain and surpass our record,as clearly displayed here on trip advisor. In return, all we ask is that you become a customer and then our excellent facilities are freely available...More

Reviewed 18 April 2017

We were staying near Hay on Wye and were looking for somewhere nice to eat. Saw some good reviews on this place and decided to give it a try. Well worth the visit. We had a really warm welcome from the owner. The food was...More

Thank Lorraine B
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

My partner and I went here for Sunday lunch today. We had a 3 course meal at a very reasonable price. The atmosphere was relaxed and the staff were friendly. The food was nicely presented and very tasty. All in all a positive experience and...More

Thank maxine132
fourpalms134, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thankyou for your review. We appreciate you taking time to write a positive review. We look forward to welcoming ou back to the The Sun Inn.

Reviewed 6 April 2017

We were staying nearby so decided to have a Sunday treat. Booking is essential as it is quite small and seemingly very popular. Three of us had the roast beef which was just divine and my two teenage sons had the roast pork, which they...More

Thank Karen R
fourpalms134, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thankyou for your wonderful review we are thrilled you all enjoyed your Sunday lunch. Thankyou for taking the time to write about your experience at The Sun. We would love to welcome you and your family again if you ever visit our area again.

Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Whilst staying in the local area for the weekend this place was highmy recommended to us by other local pubs. We both agreed that the service was great and the food was without doubt the best we had ever had in a pub, and better...More

Thank MJSeagrave
fourpalms134, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Thankyou for your superb review we are delighted you enjoyed your evening. Please come back and visit us again. A bit thankyou from all at The Sun.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Tram Inn
340 reviews
2.39 km away
The Boat Inn
151 reviews
2.89 km away
Restaurant at The Red Lion Hotel
24 reviews
3.99 km away
Nearby Attractions
Whitney Bridge
67 reviews
2.98 km away
Arthur's Stone
34 reviews
4.89 km away
Small Breeds Farm Park and Owl Centre
518 reviews
6.96 km away
Brobury House Gardens
42 reviews
5.02 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Joanna G
28 October 2016|
Answer
Response from AllyandBarry | Reviewed this property |
Hi. The loos are both on the ground floor and there are no steps involved. I don't believe there is a specific disabled toilet. A
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Winforton, Winforton HR3 6EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Winforton
  • Phone Number: 01544-32-76-77
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing