We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Vojan

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Epping Road | Essex, Chipping Ongar, Ongar CM5 0DE, England
+44 1277 362293
Website
Today
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 23:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 168: English reviews
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Having spent many a visit to this establishment, I thought it was about time I posted an un-biased review. Everything about this Restaurant is quality. I was last there 3 days ago with my wife and a couple of friends. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the service and food were second to none. It can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michaelclark4
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came early evening around 7pm and the restaurant was only about 1/3 full, but even then we had to wait some time in the lobby while staff buzzed around without greeting us, some even making eye contact but not saying anything. After a few minutes though someone came up and we guessed we should follow them. Poppadoms came very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin D
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at The Vojan, responded to this review

Dear Martin D, Thanks for taking the time to write this review for us, we will take into account your points and appreciate your constructive criticism so we can try our best to improve on those points. Kind regards, Vojan Staff. More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been coming here for years. I have never ever ever had a bad meal here and I go here a lot! Love that they now do take away deliveries too! Beautiful Cooked good, great drinks and lovely attentive staff. Only thing I would say is there should be a larger choice when it comes to the dessert menu... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh H
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at The Vojan, responded to this review

Dear Ashleigh H, Thanks for taking the time to write this review for us, we are so pleased you love coming to visit. We note your point about desserts and will discuss this with the staff in due course. Kind regards, Vojan Staff. More 

ongar
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for a friends birthday. There was 17 of us in total. Before the day of the meal we rung up the restaurant to be told we had to have a set menu! We refused that and got told we would all have to have a main course and could share the rice and side... Fine! When we got... More 

Helpful?
Thank samantha l
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at The Vojan, responded to this review

Dear Samantha, Thanks for taking the time to write this review for us, we will take into account your points, we are sorry for your experience, and hope you will come back to us again soon, we are glad you enjoyed the food. Kind regards, Vojan Staff. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called in for a curry last Thursday. The food was good, the service was fine. We were quite early, so it wasn't very busy. Overall it was a pretty good experience.

Helpful?
Thank JonVanner
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at The Vojan, responded to this review

Hi JonVanner, Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, we look forward to seeing you again soon. So glad you enjoyed your curry. Kind regards, Vojan Staff x More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

20 of us walked out after 40 minutes; service was so bad -- sat down after 20mins (their error on booking) and no drinks offered at anytime we were waiting, set menu very poor and told we couldn't have a la carte as it would take a long time!!!!. Went to Cinnamon North Weald- 1000% better, brilliant ambience, friendly staff... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank matt h
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at The Vojan, responded to this review

Dear matt h, Thanks for taking the time to write this review for us, we will take into account your points and appreciate your constructive criticism so we can try our best to improve on those points. We are glad you had a good night. Kind regards, Vojan Staff. More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a party of 15 people booked a month ago. The first impression when we arrived was chaotic, The entrance was crammed with people with no one helping them. We eventually got our table and then waited 20 minuets to get a drink, and then about an hour before they took our order. It just seemed that they couldn't... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank David C
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at The Vojan, responded to this review

Hi dtcosgrove, Thanks for writing a review for us. It seems you experienced us on a particularly busy evening with lots of people enjoying themselves in the bar area before they went to the table. This is close to the entrance and so it can seem very busy when you come through the door. We do sometimes experience staffing issues,... More 

North Weald, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There were 19 of us, and they expected us to sit on 2 different tables. After some discussion, they asked some other people to move and pushed tables together to make one big one for us. They told us we needed to order from set menu otherwise it would take too long from a la carte menu, we then sat... More 

Helpful?
Thank juliedree99
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at The Vojan, responded to this review

Hi dtcosgrove, Thanks for writing a review for us. It seems you experienced us on a particularly busy evening. We do sometimes experience staffing issues, if one or more of our long standing and loyal staff members is unwell for instance, then we do have a bank of staff to call upon, but they may not know the system quite... More 

Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a nice time after a long day at this cuisine. Nice atmosphere and staff. The food was good and so was the service. The wait was not long.

Helpful?
Thank Bigbadbaldwin
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at The Vojan, responded to this review

Hi Bigbadbaldwin, Thank you for writing this review for us, so glad you enjoyed the food, atmosphere, had friendly service and did not have to wait long. See you again soon. Kind regards, Vojan Staff More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2017

We've been to this restaurant several times and havong read some of the recent reviews felt we had to add a review too, as the food was excellent and our service was very good. Unlike almose every other time I go to an Indian, I tried somehtign different, a Nepal King Prawn curry which was delicious - not too spicy... More 

Helpful?
Thank gmunday2
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at The Vojan, responded to this review

Hi gmunday2, Thank you for writing this review for us. How lovely to hear such great things, we strive to make every dish enjoyable and agreeable to that diners tastes. We love it when people try something new, you enjoyed a Nepal King Prawn Curry, we do have great fresh seafood from our regular supplier along with all of our... More 

Travellers who viewed The Vojan also viewed

Chipping Ongar, Ongar
 

Been to The Vojan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 13 - US$ 33
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Reservations, Delivery
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:30
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 00:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 00:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 00:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Epping Road | Essex, Chipping Ongar, Ongar CM5 0DE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Ongar  >  Chipping Ongar
  • Phone Number: +44 1277 362293
Description
If you think you know everything about Indian restaurants, think again. A quiet revolution is taking place at The Vojan. Award winning Head chef Forid Ali has created a menu that will ignite your senses, combining fresh and intriguing flavours (drawn from his culinary heritage) with a modern twist. Vojan is a destination restaurant, but loyal local patrons still regularly enjoy their very own dining gem. The large, chic interior successfully incorporates a series of dining rooms on a succession of stepped levels. Each one is gracefully lit and enclosed, in part, byhewn-slate feature walls. Vases brimming with arching white lilies and tables set with crisp white linen create a natural yet sophisticated air. The spacious restaurant seats 200 diners, but the architecture and lighting evoke intimacy at every table. One of the dining rooms opens onto a contemporary private garden, which is perfect for parties. We offer a great diary of entertainment, ranging from Tribute Acts, Bollywood Evenings and Disco Nights - Friday and Saturday evenings, a fantastic Cooking Club, where you can come along and learn to cook with our chefs in our kitchen, Business Networking monthly Group and much more.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Vojan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?