We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Russell
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 149: English reviews
Start your review of The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Good place to stay. Not the most modern rooms but very clean and maintained. Staff are excellent. Very accommodating and helpful. Breakfast in a very nice restaurant with super nice staff. Five dollar off coupon at check in beats a continental breakfast hands down. Would highly recommend staying here. Rates are very reasonable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
Fort Frances, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

So glad we decided to stop at the Russell Inn. Arrived on a Sunday, which entitled us to a special discount. The room was spacious, the queen beds were excellent quality and bedding was Very good, comfortable, clean and cosy. The Inn has a restaurant that is Pizza Hut and regular menu. There is a pool with a water slide....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank McIrvine
yelomelo16, General Manager at The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a 5 star review on trip advisor. We really do appreciate all your kind comments. I have informed all our departments of your review. We look forward to you staying with us again and thank you.

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Drove to Manitoba for the first time. Russell was a place we stopped at because of wintery road conditions. All rooms were booked due to a conference and so they gave me a decent price on their suite with hot tub. Assissipi ski resot is approx 15 minutes away and my son (5) enjoyed his time there. We had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zef R
yelomelo16, General Manager at The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind review. We appreciate your comments and I have passed them onto all of the departments. We look forward to you staying with us again. Thank you

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Room was very clean, staff was friendly. Trundle beds were a nice touch. We were given an updated room, which was also a nice touch. Only two criticisms: Room was so hot, air was on full, but it's winter and just blowing room temperature air. Bigger criticism, the hotel is filled with inconsiderate patrons who don't control their screaming children,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EllieGrapesoda
yelomelo16, General Manager at The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments and I have passed them onto all of the departments. We look forward to you staying with us again. Thank you

Saskatchewan
Reviewed 24 January 2017

This is an adequate hotel for the area. It is quite large and so there are some areas that are newer than others. Our room was very small but certainly clean. The windows have been replaced which is was a big plus particularly since one bed is almost right up against the window. The heat was a big issue as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SKLocoGringo
yelomelo16, General Manager at The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind review. We appreciate your comments and I have passed them onto all of the departments. We look forward to you staying with us again. Thank you

Selkirk, Canada
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

This motel is nice on the outside. We paid extra for a two room suite as we have two kids and was surprised at how outdated and a bit grungy the room was for $170 a night. I don't need a fancy room but please don't charge fancy prices for a very mediocre room. You know what I love though?...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kris H
yelomelo16, General Manager at The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We most sincerely apologize that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. Your review shall be discussed at our next managers meeting. We do appreciate hearing from our customers so we can make improvements. Thank you

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Possibly the worst experience I have ever had at any hotel. I Don't blame them, they have absolutely no competition as they are the closest hotel by far to asessippi. Bob the security guard we needed to deal with, was absolutely rediculous, and clearly bored from staring at a screen all day long. We are not roudy people, yet he...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nolan P
yelomelo16, General Manager at The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your response!!! We most sincerely apologize that your stay with us was not up to your expectations and we will be following up with our managers. Thank you

Red Deer, AB
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Large hotel. Upgraded to a suite-$69.00 a night. Most 'off-putting' thing was that the entire outside of the hotel, including our outside door, was covered with tent caterpillars. Not the hotel's fault but you had to be careful going in and out. Food in the restaurant for supper was not great. Breakfast was very slow as there was a convention...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travellers5710
yelomelo16, General Manager at The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. We appreciate hearing both great comments, as well as improvements that we can make. We truly appreciate hearing from our customers. The feedback we get from you provides us to make changes when necessary and improve our customer service. We take hospitality very seriously. Thank you

Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

The lounge staff at Kristies pub is extemely friendly and welcoming I highly recommend going there instead of the dining room (it's the same menu anyways), the servers in the dining room are rude and clearly have absolutely no hospitality experience, the cooks could probably use a couple cooking classes too, OR at least lower the prices so it's more...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank audiluver87
yelomelo16, General Manager at The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. We appreciate hearing both great comments, as well as improvements that we can make. We truly appreciate hearing from our customers. The feedback we get from you provides us to make changes when necessary and improve our customer service. We take hospitality very seriously. We are extremely concerned and...

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 19 December 2016

From booking the room with Rheanne to check out, the experience was fantastic. I visited the hotel for 3 nights while on business in the area and was provided with a warm welcome at every instance. Additionally the hotel staff always used my name which we no longer get at high end hotels. I had forgotten my extension cord to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 1Where_To_Next
yelomelo16, General Manager at The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I shall pass on your compliments to the other departments, and we look forward to you staying with us again. Thank you.

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Urban amenities wrapped in rural hospitality! The Russell Inn features 96 rooms and suites, a pool and waterslide, family restaurant and Kristie's Neighbourhood Pub. Other conveniences include a C-Store on property as well as Subway, Pizza Hut & Tim Hortons. The Russell Inn is located only 15 minutes from Asessippi Ski Resort and is the perfect place for your rural get-away! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 83 Hwy 16, Russell, Manitoba R0J 1W0, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Russell
Number of rooms: 97
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is a motel type building with access to room without entering motel lobby.”
McIrvine, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for their suite with hot tub!”
zefr, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in one of their several suites that are very reasonably priced and quite roomy.”
Grammyplamla, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room not facing the highway. The back side of the hotel is quiet from traffick.”
DGD1953, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“There are different wings and room types (see review) . Ask for rooms that meet your preference.”
Sasktraveller97, 4 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5