We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Summit Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Summit Hotel
The Summit Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 273: English reviews
Buford, Georgia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Summit Hotel is a very good value. It is well located between Simpson Bay and Marigot so getting to really good food is only a short drive. There is also a French bakery a great little bbq bar and restaurant and a market within a 2 min walk. The grounds of the Summit are located in a quiet area...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arthur Stephen A
Potomac
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The property offers a wonderful step back in time to the island of decades ago. The individual buildings are nicely laid out with gorgeous landscaping. The room design is well thought out and nicely updated. From our porch we had a great view of the bay. All the staff provided the warmth and friendliness that you would want from St....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank williamharveyw
New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have been staying at the place for a few months and cleaning crew have stolen a few of my items from the room (that is besides crapy cleaning). When I have complained to the management nothing was done. They invade your privacy and later you find out that things are missing. Very unpleasant. I wound not recommend staying a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank doesitmatter121
New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

We just left the Summit after a four night stay and it was WONDERFUL! The staff was so welcoming and willing to do anything. It felt like going home to mom. In fact, the owner is very often seen and accessible. The hotel was a great value. The rooms were spacious, clean, and just renovated. The shower had great pressure....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron K
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ron K, Wow, thank you for posting such a wonderful review about the Summit on TripAdvisor! I really appreciate it. Thank you for your very nice comments about our staff too. Many of our staff have been with us, literally, for decades and they do, in fact, feel like they are welcoming you into their home when you stay...

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was extremely helpful answering all my questions. The room was spacious & clean. The bed was very comfortable (previous reviews had complained about the beds). Gave sleep quality 4 stars due to lack of a noise ordinance on the island. Overall a very good value.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurence T
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laurence T, Thank you very much for your wonderful review of the Summit on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your kind words about our staff too. They truly work hard to make every guest feel welcome and at home during their stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the spacious, clean room and the comfortable bed too. Thanks for mentioning...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The setting was beautiful and easy to access. Please do not be tricked into thinking your children could use the pull out couch as a bedding option. It is awful (we put the old, not-very-clean mattress on the floor and it was still very uncomfortable for the children). The pool area is so pretty, eating at Fat Tony's for dinner...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank COLORADOFAMILY33
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear COLORADOFAMILY33, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Summit on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to hear that you liked our beautiful setting, the pretty pool area and the convenience of Fat Tony's and Jules (the French bakery) right outside our front gate. These two places, along with almost a dozen others within a...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First upon check in the room had this odor kind of smelled like cat urine. The shower floor still had hair and debris from a previous stay. Mattress wasn't of good quality. Access panel in ceiling above shower fell in. However the employees were friendly and tried to help. Will not recommend staying here until the update resort

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MocteMa
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MocteMa, I am sorry to read of your experience when staying at the Summit recently. As you can tell from so many other traveler reviews on TripAdvisor that rave about the Summit, your experience was not typical for us at all and I apologize for the problems you encountered. I do wish you had reported the odor issue to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Quiet grounds, clean updated rooms, full kitchen, roll out bed, friendly staff, nice pool and free parking. No complaints. Highly recommended. My 5th visit to St. Maarten and this is the past place I have stayed at.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter D, Thank you very much for your short but sweet review of the Summit on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate it. I think you hit all the key points in your review that make the Summit such a special place to stay. Quiet grounds, clean and comfortable rooms, friendly staff and so forth. We look forward to welcoming you...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spacious room; very comfortable king size bed. All modernized amenities (bathroom, in-room kitchen, etc). Great view overlooking the pool and volleyball court. An awesome serene place to relax outside the bustling tourism district. Several bars, restaurants and even a casino is within walking distance.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alden S. B
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alden S. B, Thank you so much for posting such a nice review about the Summit on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate it. Calling us "an awesome serene place to relax" is such a perfect description that I just may use that phrase in our advertising going forward:) You really hit the nail on the head. Thanks of mentioning all...

Palos Hills, Illinois
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Twice a year visit is not enough, looking to extend my time at my home away from home. The Cupe Coy Low Land area and Simpson Bay Lagoon has everything I might need. My favorite beaches are within walking distance and most important, the people are great.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David G
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David G, Well, if twice a year is not enough, why not make it three times at least? We'd be happy to have you visit more often! Thanks for the great review about the Summit that you posted on TripAdvisor. I love that you, like so many of our guests, think of the Summit as their "home away from...

363 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Deluxe Water View Room (42)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Premium Water View Room (44)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)
Viewed
Two-Bedroom Villa (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
2.7 km away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
11.4 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 7 in Oyster Pond
700 reviews
1.7 km away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.2 km away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.4 km away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful, clean, quiet property with a spectacular view overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon. Close to the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife on the island but tucked away with lots of privacy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Summit Hotel

Address: Jordan Road # 42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Price Range: ₹ 7,374 - ₹ 18,502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Summit Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Summit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Summit Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Summit Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 2, 3 and 4 directly face the lagoon.”
 of 5 bubbles 831ronk, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Find one as close to waterfront as you can for the excellent view”
 of 5 bubbles jbmoore11, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an upper unit with a water view.”
 of 5 bubbles jamesdC1017TD, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for 2B for best view”
 of 5 bubbles 957angelicaw, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 6A had a great view and easy access to the parking lot.”
  • Lagoon view looking towards Sandy Ground and Marigot
 of 5 bubbles DannyL237, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay