We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Chinnakanal, Munnar 685612 India
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
$50
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/06/22
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams$85
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1119)
Room & Suite (174)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 29/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 29/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 21 in Chinnakanal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Sterling Munnar is nestled within undulating hills in the quiet village of Chinnakanal, some 18 kms from the hustle and bustle of Munnar town. The resort is located high above the Munnar town with splendid views of the Anaiyirangal Dam, tea gardens and surrounding forests.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Free breakfast
Badminton
Game room
Kids stay free
Children's playground
Car park
Internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Head massage
Steam room
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Doorperson
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi, Tamil
1341Reviews42Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 575
  • 473
  • 176
  • 61
  • 57
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Rishi K wrote a review Yesterday
Chennai (Madras), India11 contributions
Very limited activity in the resort. It didn’t do anything to please the guest and the wow factor was missing. Food was very ordinary and the same menu was repeated everyday. Clearly very understaffed and took a lot of time to deliver order. Would not recommend this to others. Even the amenities in the room were below par. The Mini fridge, locker and the TV was not working and had to request for a replacement.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Sohail S Shaikh wrote a review Nov 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
Writing this review after staying for 2 nights in this resort, it was really a amazing experience in Sterling Munnar because the location is far from main town so it's bit cold and between lush green tea plantation, the food and the entertainment arranged by the hotel every evening is really worth mentioning. Great, helping staff.. Good for couple as well as family because they have multiple indoor games and entertainment like DJ every evening so nobody can get bored. Keep up the good work Sterling Munnar. All the best.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sterling Holidays, Owner at Sterling Munnar
Responded 15 Nov 2021
Dear Sohail, Namaste! We thank you for your positive response of your vacation at Sterling Munnar. Our resort seeks to be the perfect fusion of nature and hospitality and we are glad that you enjoyed yourself to the fullest amidst the tranquillity of nature. Thank you so much for applauding the effort of our staff members to make you feel welcomed. It is a part of our endeavour to deliver only the best. We would love to host you again in our resorts located at exotic destinations pan-India. Sincerely, The Sterling Holidays Team
Read more
sajeevr wrote a review 20 May
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India2 contributions
Being a member of sterling family, I have visited this property several times. Very calm place to unwind from the madness of daily routine. This time I have visited with my entire office , around 25 people. Front office arranged our stay very nicely by accommodating us in nearby cottages. Efforts by Miss Anu at the front office is well appreciated. We mostly dine from the restaurant and food is extremely good. Chef Mr.Ratheesh is well mannered and a committed professional. He took extra effort in arranging menu and even put additional items on our request. As an appreciation we are posting a photo with him. Thanks to Mr. Shyam, Sterling Kodai, who refer us to Shri Shiju GM, Munnar. Date of Stay, from 23.03.2022 to 26.03.2022.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: try cottages than guest room, calm and surrounded by greenery
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sterling Holidays, Owner at Sterling Munnar
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Sajeev, Namaste! Thank you for holidaying with us once again at Sterling Munnar. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us at our scenic resort. Our Chef will be pleased knowing that you relished your dining experience to the maxim. Thank you for commending the humble efforts of our staff members to make you feel welcomed. Sincerely, The Sterling Holidays Team
Read more
Roshan K wrote a review 9 May
Chennai (Madras), India1 contribution
Sterling Munnar is a brilliant property in terms of location and space but there is a huge opportunity if the staff are cooperative and friendly. Except for the guy who manages the outdoor games everyone seem uninterested and tired especially the front counter ones. Noticed a tornoff towel in the bathroom with poor lighting too. Food quality and taste weee average so it is another area to focus. Rs.350 just to use the trampoline isn’t fair too but the garden area is awesome.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sterling Holidays, Owner at Sterling Munnar
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Roshan, Namaste! Thank you for holidaying at Sterling Munnar and sharing your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our location. We are grateful to you for highlighting the aspects that need our attention. Our management team has taken a note of the same to enhance the overall resort experience. We await the chance to host you again in our resorts located pan-India. Sincerely, The Sterling Holidays Team
Read more
Murshid wrote a review 8 May
4 contributions
Dear all, am really really disappointed with the service and response of supporting staff. Am staying here in the hotel on may 8th 2022 by booking through a online booking app. When we booked-we selected children reservations separately and added kids. But when we reached hotel they told us the childrens bookings are not valid and have to pay extra for all kids. Now we paid for kids and one of us is staying outside. The lady in the reception behaving very rude and told us they are not at all responsible and will not support. For a room which we paid RS/-5500+vat, we are getting worse service. If they are not supporting their online bookings how can they even take that bookings for their hotel also. Atleast a manners from staff is expected.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sterling Holidays, Owner at Sterling Munnar
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Murshid, Namaste! We are concerned to learn that you did not enjoy your experience at Sterling Munnar. We are extremely worried to know that your holiday did not go as planned due to the issues that you have mentioned in your feedback. We understand that our guests expect only the best from us and we are committed to ensure the same. Our management team has already started a process to investigate the matter. Sincerely, The Sterling Holidays Team
Read more
Soorya1969 wrote a review Apr 2022
Chennai (Madras), India2 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a fabulous stay for 3 days. Room service, cleanliness, food, house keeping, etc all were top notch. It is worth the money spent. My wife had birthday and they served cake for cutting by 11.45 pm in a short notice. My family enjoyed the stay thoroughly
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sterling Holidays, Owner at Sterling Munnar
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Soorya1969, Namaste! We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed yourself to the fullest at Sterling Munnar. Thank you for commending our rooms, cleanliness, and dining options. Our staff members will be pleased knowing that they added much joy to your wife's birthday. We hope you choose us as your holiday partner in the near future. Sincerely, The Sterling Holidays Team
Read more
dharananendra wrote a review Apr 2022
Bengaluru, India4 contributions3 helpful votes
Location of resort is beautiful, but the interiors and furnishings are not up to the mark. House keeping and room service were excellent. It an average resort not worth the price. The location and ambience was awesome
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sterling Holidays, Owner at Sterling Munnar
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Dharananendra, Namaste! We are delighted to know that you had a merry time at Sterling Munnar. Thank you for liking our scenic location and ambience. We have shared your suggestions with our management team. We look forward to pampering you again in the typical Sterling way! Sincerely, The Sterling Holidays Team
Read more
Vinayak wrote a review Apr 2022
Bengaluru, India5 contributions
I'm a sterling resorts member. The standards you usually see in other Sterling resorts properties wasn't seen here. There was a big drop in every aspect. The management/ staff needs a major reshuffle and they have plenty of things they can improve upon like quality and taste of food, hospitality/ customer service behaviour, willingness to help/ serve. The property is a little old and wasn't managed well, many things in the room weren't working, we had to get it fixed after multiple follow ups. I requested for RO water for my 3yr old kid to be filled in our 3ltr water can and the housekeeping filled tap water and mud residues were seen at the bottom of the can which proved it wasn't RO/ purified water. Their laziness put my kid at risk. Me and my son ate their lunch buffet on Friday and we both had a food infection. I have almost recovered now but my 3 yr old son is still suffering. It's because of their food being so bad in terms of taste and quality restaurants outside the resort are thriving. Some guests I interacted with shared similar concerns with food taste and quality. The front desk / reception don't ever greet customers with a smile or a welcome drink when you check in. They would hang up and out you on hold when you ask for any help. No one wears name batches. Simple requests had to be repeated multiple times, which was frustrating. I have given 5 star ratings to Sterling Waynad, Ooty and Yercaud for their warm hospitable service and professionalism. I can get into the minor details of how many misses were there and this review would be even longer. To summarise my 9 day stay at Sterling Munnar it was a major disappointment in every aspect. I just checked some reviews on Google and other travel websites many of them have had similar experiences. They really need to do some major changes to the staff at this property to maintain the standards that Sterling resorts usually provides.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sterling Holidays, Owner at Sterling Munnar
Responded 12 Apr 2022
Dear Vinayak, Namaste! We are grateful to you for holidaying at Sterling Munnar and sharing your candid feedback. We are extremely concerned to know of the aspects that you have highlighted. This is not how we want you to remember your experience with us. Our management team has been alerted of your feedback. They have already started a process to correct the deviations at the earliest. We would love to host you again in our resorts located at exotic destinations pan-India. Sincerely, The Sterling Holidays Team
Read more
Vipi wrote a review Mar 2022
Ernakulam District, India1 contribution1 helpful vote
The atmosphere is very beautiful as the resort is very in tune with nature. The staff are very cooperative and committed. The food served was very tasty and the restaurant was very clean. The activities arranged inside were quite impressive.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sterling Holidays, Owner at Sterling Munnar
Responded 3 Apr 2022
Dear Vipi, Namaste! We thank you for your positive response of your vacation at Sterling Munnar. Our resort seeks to be the perfect fusion of nature and hospitality and we are glad that you enjoyed yourself to the fullest amidst the tranquillity of nature. Thank you so much for applauding the effort of our staff members, dining otions, and activities. They are a part of our endeavour to deliver only the best. We would love to host you again in our resorts located at exotic destinations pan-India. Sincerely, The Sterling Holidays Team
Read more
AshishMalik wrote a review Mar 2022
Bahadurgarh, India30 contributions25 helpful votes
We never had intention to visit the Sterling Munnar Resort due to its location, but that itself became our lovely tourist spot. It's located in Chinnakanal around 30 min driver from Munnar city, but there are lot of shops around. On the way, we encountered good clouds and we walked across them to reach the resort. We had Kodai, Thekkady and Allepey in original itinerary and Munnar wasn't included because of our previous coverage on couple of times. We were given one complementary night in Munnar by CRS team as we booked 3 rooms for 6 nights. And this was the biggest resort of our trip, along with Allepey's Lake resort. Rooms were huge, clean and staff went extra mile to help customers. Food was having unlimited options with a north indian flavour. Inspite of being Fully booked, we got VIP treatment from Staff and that's what is needed once you are on vacation at distant places.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Classic rooms have good views as compared to premier/ studio rooms.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sterling Holidays, Owner at Sterling Munnar
Responded 30 Mar 2022
Dear Ashish, Namaste! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Sterling Munnar. Thank you for making the most out of our scenic location. We are glad that you enjoyed our highly rated rooms and mouth-watering north Indian dining options. Promising the best – always! Sincerely, The Sterling Holidays Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$44 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sterling resorts munnar hotel chinnakanal, sterling resort munnar, sterling hotel munnar
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
LOCATION
IndiaKeralaIdukki DistrictMunnarChinnakanal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
135
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sterling Munnar
Which popular attractions are close to Sterling Munnar?
Nearby attractions include Kolukkumalai Tea Estate (7.4 km), Anayirankal Dam Reservoir (4.9 km), and Lock Heart Gap (5.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sterling Munnar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Sterling Munnar?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Sterling Munnar?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Sterling Munnar?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sterling Munnar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sarath Inn, Bethel Varkis B & B, and Lotus Hotel & Resorts.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sterling Munnar?
Yes, guests have access to locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Sterling Munnar located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Chinnakanal.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sterling Munnar?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sterling Munnar offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sterling Munnar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Hindi, and Tamil.