We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Country Cottage - a Tea Garden Resort

Save
Share
Chandpur Tea Estate, Palampur 176061 India
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (25)
Dining (4)
Room & Suite (4)

About

#5 of 39 Speciality lodging in Palampur
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Country Cottage is a Tea Garden Resort. Situated 5000 ft above sea level, at Palampur - (40 kms from Dharamsala, the present seat of His Holiness the Dali Lama) in the Lap of the Dhauladhar range in Himachal Pradesh in the Western Himalayas, India. We welcome our guests to independent cottages situated minutes away from a crystal clear water stream in a Tea Garden where the mountain melts into a valley.
Read more

Location

Full view
61Somewhat walkable
Grade: 61 out of 100
15Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
66Reviews2Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 38
  • 15
  • 4
  • 1
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
Popular mentions
Kirat N wrote a review Jul 2019
11 contributions16 helpful votes
If I remember correctly, we did mention that everything aside, rooms at the very least need to have a television,a refrigerator and 24-hour service, to which you replied that most of the visitors won't be able to afford increased tarrifs if you provide these facilities, and that only 2-3 rooms on an average are occupied on a daily basis, which is why you aren't able to afford dpuble-shift staff. This was honestly very inappropriate answer, because 4000-7000 per room is not cheap, and basic facilities such as these need to be provided. In a place such as Palampur, one generally comes to relax, and for that he/she definitely needs such basic amenities. We do understand that tea gardens cannot be in the city, but had you mentioned the distance of this place from Palampur city, we might had changed our minds. I am attaching the screenshot of the description that you have privided of your "resort".This "resort" does have a restaurant, but is open till 10.30 pm as far as I remember. On top of that, you need to let the staff know the previous day if you would like to have a meal, and even for that, they have a limited selection of dishes,and by limited, I mean 4-5 dishes for lunch/dinner and 2 for breakfast In your response you mentioned that we were informed "well in advance".I apologise, but well-in-advance would have been if all of this, and your concept of "restaurant" had been mentioned clearly in the description. Fridge is required for much more than overpriced col water, ice or overpriced cold drinks. In case anyone is travelling with a baby, and needs milk after 10.30ish,there is no single staff member on the resort premises. We ate because we simply had no other option. There is no restaurant/cafe/eatery near this resort, which is why we were not in a position to complain or to avoid eating. I apologize again, but everything is NOT clearly listed. Clearly listed would have meant mentioning that you don't have a night staff, you don't have a refrigerator in rooms, no TV, no shampoo- conditioner- dental kit- or any other toiletries, no restaurant, no professional management. I do understand that this is a family-run resort, but they can be professionally managed if someone wants to do so. I pity that you think that I cannot afford spending 4-5k per night,but at the same time, I would mention that 4-5k for SUCH A RESORT is a waste. This should be priced for around 1000-2000 at most. I hope anyone reading this review would be able to understand why my husband referred to this resort as a scam. And I am sure that the owner will try to defend his position using harsh words, but I won't be able to respond to his reply. But I still suggest anyone travelling to Palampur not to book this place if you want to have a comfortable stay. We were a group of 10 people, and not 1 of us enjoyed our stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Simmy wrote a review Jun 2019
Worldwide1 contribution2 helpful votes
No services at all No room service No restaurant - You have to tell atleast 8-10 hours in advance if you wish to have something to eat with very basic menu Rooms are full of bugs and mosquitoes No one is there after 9pm. Even You have open gates yourself if you are late. Over priced with low service quality.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Karan628, Owner at Country Cottage - a Tea Garden Resort
Responded 27 Jun 2019
Dear simmi maam, Thank you for your valuable review, We do not have a resturant and neither anywhere we have mentioned that we have a restaurant.You are always welcome to order snacks in the lounge or in your room. Meals are only served in the dining hall as per your order. During your stay here yoy have never complained of bugs and musquotes . Had you done so we would have taken care of the same. With regardsto the gates open they are for your convience. The staff is always awailable at least upto 9.30 PM which is a standard dinnertime. If you decide to stay away till 10.30. KItchen is closed and the staff is off duty. Unless you inform in advance. This is a family run place with proper timings. The same has been conveyed at the time of your arrival. If at all , Next time please request for your preferances in advance. Warm regards Karan Sarin 9816047047
Read more
Arun S wrote a review Jun 2019
Vancouver, Canada18 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
Please dont visit here. Trust me, other reviews are either paid or fake. We booked 4 cottages and it was biggest mistake ever. Cons- - its completely isolated in jungle away from everything. You have to go through military base and even google maps cant help you reaching there. - hygeine level is really low in rooms. Rooms are full of bugs and mosquitoes. - no cafe or restaurant inside this property. You have to pre book (very few like 3-4 items) everything well in advance. - There is NO room service. No room menu. No help in odd times. You can only contact thru mobile phones. - no play areas inside or near this property. No views of mountains or parks as it is in midst of jungle tea gardens. Literally nothing except dirty full of bug rooms. DIRTY, NEVER CLEANED AND FULL OF MOSQUITOES. - Its Far from Palampur (still can be ok if something else is good) - most importantly, no fridge, no tv, even no exhaust fan. Thank god, they have room and very basic washrooms. - On top of it, we tried breakfast which was exactly homemade with only 2 options i.e. bread omelette and aloo parantha which was liked by everyone as we missed home food. But when we get the bill for very basic breakfast we got shocked which was 3500/-. - It was like Haunted place. Couples or small families should NOT book this isolated property. Even hotel people should not take bookings for sake of humanity. - Everything is heavily priced and quality of service and food is exceptionally low. Pros - This property is in god gifted Himachal Pradesh. Thats it. OWNERS, PLEASE DO NOT SCAM INNOCENT PEOPLE. IT IS JUST WORTHLESS. IT IS SCAM
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Diana F wrote a review May 2019
1 contribution
A great vacation spot. The ambience and the decor is amazing. The place is very peaceful and surrounded by greenery all around. Great hospitality by Mr. Sarin. A must visit resort for a happy time. Had a great vacation there.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Karan628, Owner at Country Cottage - a Tea Garden Resort
Responded 5 Jul 2019
Dear Diana , Thank you for your valuable review. We look forward to your next visit. Warm regards Karan Sarin
Read more
Shivam B wrote a review May 2019
Hyderabad, India1 contribution
One of the best place to visit with your family if you're looking to spend quality time. A very peaceful and beautiful place. Extremely helpful and family like hosts. Loved the food. Reminded me of a tasty and sumptuous home cooked meal. Rooms are very neatly maintained. Had a great time!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Karan628, Owner at Country Cottage - a Tea Garden Resort
Responded 5 Jul 2019
Dear Shivam, Thanks a ton for your review. Looking forward to see you and your family again. Warm Regards Karan Sarin
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$ 91 - US$ 153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaHimachal PradeshKangra DistrictPalampur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Country Cottage - a Tea Garden Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Country Cottage - a Tea Garden Resort?
Nearby attractions include Palampur Tea Gardens (0.9 km) and Langha Mata Temple (0.5 km).
What are some restaurants close to Country Cottage - a Tea Garden Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cloud 7, The Lounge, and Skyroom Bar & Restro.
Is Country Cottage - a Tea Garden Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Palampur.