We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whala!Bocachica

Calle Abraham Nunez 4, Boca Chica 15700 Dominican Republic
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1133)
360
Panoramas (39)
Pool & Beach (428)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 all-inclusive in Boca Chica
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Modern 3 stars all-inclusive beach resort, providing excellent accommodations dispersed through spacious bright pastel colored buildings, that are nostalgic of a native old style fishermen's village nestled within lush tropical vegetation, surrounded by coconut and almonds trees that line the beach. Beachfront fresh water pool. Located right on the front line of Boca Chica Beach, Dominican Republic 15 minutes from Las Americas International Airport and 30 kilometers from Santo Domino city.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Entertainment staff
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Kids club
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Concierge
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
Languages Spoken
Spanish

Location

Calle Abraham Nunez 4, Boca Chica 15700 Dominican Republic
Whala!Bocachica
859Reviews155Q+A42Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 412
  • 173
  • 112
  • 59
  • 103
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Marie T wrote a review Mar 2024
Brookeborough1 contribution
Well I don't know where to start this place is not fit for purpose first time in Domican Republic and probably the last hotel is disgusting staff are horrible but one or two .Plugs hanging from walls leaking A/C says it is a resort but it's just a run down hotel love holidays should not have this place on there holiday list I could write an essay but just to let other travellers know stay well away .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diana Villanueva, Dueño at Whala!Bocachica
Responded 12 Mar 2024
Dear guest, Your recent experience at our hotel seems to have fallen below your expectations and for this, we express our sincere apologies. The conditions you have outlined are not representative of our commitment to providing a quality stay for our guests. Every member of our staff is highly valued and we aim to offer the best service possible. We are disheartened to hear that we did not meet these standards during your stay. The points you have raised about the physical condition of the hotel are concerning, as we uphold high standards in all our facilities. We understand your disappointment and we extend our apologies. Travel experiences should always be memorable for the right reasons and we regret that it was not the case for you. Regardless, your feedback is crucial in guiding our continuous efforts to improve. Best wishes, Diana
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kenneth M wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
I stayed there for one night in December 2023. The food definitely made me sick but that may be common when traveling and was the least of my problems as I discovered that my room was infested with fleas. I have never had any flea interactions and it turns out that I am incredibly allergic to flea saliva which resulted in a month of extreme discomfort, doctor visits, medication purchases, etc. I contacted the hotel for a refund but no response. Then I attempted to get a refund via the booking portal and no luck there as well.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amston Arias, Atención al cliente/recepción at Whala!Bocachica
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, I'm truly sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. Your comfort and satisfaction are our highest priorities, and it's disheartening to know that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. The issue you faced with your room is certainly not the standard of service our guests usually receive, and it's indeed unsettling to hear. I would like to assure you that we have strict protocols in place to ensure the cleanliness and hygiene of our rooms and facilities. Regarding the food, we take all measures to maintain high-quality standards and it's regrettable to hear that it didn't agree with you. I understand your frustration over the refund issue. Our team continuously strives to cater to all guest concerns in a timely manner. I'm sorry this wasn't the case for you. We value your feedback and will definitely use it to improve our services. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you better in the future. Guest service manager, whala!bocachica
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
penny wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
This is our second time in the Dominican Republic and we were aware of the reviews beforehand. The beach was great as it had a breakwater which kept the water calm. It stayed shallow for a while which made it enjoyable and easy. The pools were okay and kept relatively clean. There were many activities listed and the schedules were never followed or were the staff helpful in understanding them or were they ever marked as cancelled or rescheduled. They happened very seldom so I stopped bothering to look. Our first room had a leak from the AC so we were moved to another room which had had an even more serious leak over the entire bathroom ceiling. It was addressed and taken seriously but really spoke to the condition of the building. Several hidden costs to our stay. There was a cost for the safe and a cost and a fairly hefty deposit for the beach towels. One of the first questions we had for the front desk was booking a ride home and we were told we would need to take a taxi. The next person we spoke to said that we could come 48 hours before and call Sunwing to book and a third person told us we needed to book 24 hours ahead. There was no Sunwing rep at the hotel and the tours were subcontracted to another business. We really missed the support of having a rep there even if it was several times a week. We appreciated the service that Maria of the other tour agency provided but there were only three tours and the company only took pesos. We prefer to book after arrival and use our credit card and were left with very little spending money. Maria gave us directions to a local bank who, of course, charged more money for the exchange. The restaurant was a mess. Enough food but not a great variety and many *mystery dishes*. One staff member making omlettes seemed to (barely) tolerate me and my attempts at Spanish. He eventually became abrasive. Restaurant staff didnt seem to know how organization of a buffet worked, did not seem to have specific areas which caused a lot of confusion. Again, everyone had a different answer to any questions or had different opinions on whether we should be serving ourselves or waiting for something that was never going to come. Language and culture were definitely a challenge. I felt some hostility to my nationality, gender and language even though I consider myself friendly and polite. After 1.5 weeks of a 2 week stay I decided to quit trying to converse in Spanish after getting nowhere with my attempts. I noticed that the bar staff were becoming edgy with one female bartender aggressively telling me in Spanish that I had to order in Spanish. (It was a struggle to follow along but the message was obvious). She then left her spot and her coworker started in on me until I asked him (twice) calmly why he was speaking to me like that? He took a minute to process that and poured my drink. A week prior to that he was pouring a drink for me when I was using my beginner Spanish and he was using the same tone until I asked for the drink in English. I dont understand the reasons for the inconsistency, and the challenges with the languages but I cannot control that and will return to DR only if I learn how to speak Spanish fluently. I doubt thats the full answer but it might help. One last note is that we had two servers who were excellent with us. Consistent and they understood how table service worked (at least in Canadian culture). They were Bladimir and Maria and to them we are very grateful!!! We can appreciate how hard it must be to live in a country who is bombarded with tourists of all different languages and expectations. They rose above that and provided great service and made us laugh! Very much appreciated. So overall a lot of unexpected experiences but the beach and sun made it worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amston Arias, Atención al cliente/recepción at Whala!Bocachica
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear valued guest, We are truly grateful for your comprehensive feedback regarding your stay at Hotel whala!bocachica. We are delighted to learn that you found the beach enjoyable and our pools satisfactory. Moreover, it is wonderful to hear that Bladimir and Maria provided excellent service, as our staff strives to offer a top-notch experience to all our guests. However, we regret to hear about the challenges you faced during your stay. We understand the importance of clear communication in providing a seamless experience, and we apologize for any inconsistencies that may have caused confusion or frustration. While we cannot control the cultural and linguistic differences that naturally occur in an international setting, we are committed to fostering a warm and welcoming environment for all our guests. We appreciate your understanding and patience in this regard. Lastly, we would like to extend our deepest apologies for the issues experienced with your rooms. It is our aim to provide comfortable and hassle-free accommodation to all our guests, and we are sorry for falling short of our standard in this instance. We truly value your feedback as it helps us strive for improvement. We hope that you will consider visiting us again, and we will do our utmost to ensure that your next stay is more positive. Best regards, Guest service manager whala!bocachica
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
John P wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
whala!boca chica is horible never stay there. checked out after one night and they never refunded my money as they said they would, this place shoould be condemmed asap. even after changing two rooms, I travel a lot and have never seen a place like this.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ROSE B wrote a review Feb 2024
Santo Domingo Este, Dominican Republic4 contributions
+1
Wanted a quick getaway to get some sun and beach weather, away from the cold city NYC. Thought that WHALA! Boca chica would be a great choice and inexpensive. What a horrible experience , not worth the price I pay. When the porter took us to our room that was supposed be a partial ocean view. We complained and the porter answered was “What do you expect you’re in Boca chica” in other words don’t expect great service. The bar and snack bar by the beach, would run out of food early in the day. And don’t bother calling front desk , because no one ever answers the phone.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid going to Walla in Boca Chica. That will be my advice to future travelers.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amston Arias, Atención al cliente/recepción at Whala!Bocachica
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, I am disappointed to read about your recent experience at our hotel. Your comments do not reflect the high standards we aim to uphold in our establishment. I apologize if you felt the service was not up to par and you found the amenities lacking. The comments you mentioned regarding the room view and the service from our porter are certainly not acceptable and do not portray the dedication we have in providing a memorable experience for our guests. As for the incident at our snack bar, we always strive to ensure a plentiful supply throughout the day and I am sorry to hear that this was not your experience. As for your difficulty in reaching the front desk, I assure you that this is not a common occurrence and we will definitely review our procedures to ensure better guest communication. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide the exceptional experience that we strive to offer all our guests. Guest service manager, whala!bocachica
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sunsetsandra wrote a review Dec 2023
Carnforth, United Kingdom1 contribution
The rooms are very tired and dirty. I’ve complained today and so far nothings changed. The shower and taps have no pressure so it’s hard to get a shower. I’ve brought my disabled scooter and they knew and yet have given me a room with steps into it so the scooter has to be carried in and out. Not really happy with the service here at all. Booked through @loveholidays and wouldn’t again as it appears they only pay for the cheapest rooms not like the ones advertised
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jason D wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
Shockingly bad. Upon checking in, room had an inch deep of water in the bathroom. Brown Dirty water covered the entire bathroom sink. Two towels couldn’t clean it all up and they were the only towels in the room. Wet spot on the bed when we checked in. Place is filthy and disgusting. And service has done nothing when told about the issues. DO NOT stay here. It’s disgusting.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Just don’t stay here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
kezza wrote a review Nov 2023
England, United Kingdom1 contribution
+1
The hotel is extremely dated and staff not pleasant especially to the English. Make sure you check which airport you are flying to as if it states punta cana airport it is 2 hour transfer from the airport. They had us staying on the 4th floor over 150 steps and we struggle with arthritis in out knees and back, there is no lift available at all. The food is something else they serve banana with greenbeans in a sauce that is just one example. I never normally write anything but myself and hubby thought that this holiday was going to be amazing!! How wrong I/we were. We were advised not to go out of the hotel the streets that you step out into are rough and completely frowned upon. If you do choose this hotel please avoid taking children and if possible look at booking another hotel is strongly advised Kaz
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel, myself and husband were the only English ppl at the hotel and they really don't...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amston Arias, Atención al cliente/recepción at Whala!Bocachica
Responded 17 Nov 2023
Dear customer, we are very sorry for the dissatisfaction with the service provided by us, we will take your comments into account to continue improving
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kat E wrote a review Nov 2023
13 contributions5 helpful votes
Stay your A Double S outta here! That's the nicest way I could say it. Never again. Nevvvveeeerrrrr again. Um Ummmm. Nope. Door didn't lock. You have to pay for a lock on the safe. You might wanna get eat a hard boiled bag of sand before you eat the food. When I pulled up to the property I thought we had the wrong address. If "you get what you pay for" was a place this would be below that. Mosquitoes literally seem like they rented the room instead of humans. Security is non-existent. I could write alot more but this will do for now
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Scenic64261758854 wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Wow this is possibly the worst place ever . Just where do I begin .... Room horrific overlooking a dump full of bin bags and knackered cars and above the kitchen ....so stunk . Requested room change and yes they obliged and 2nd room was ok . The complex is tired needs a total revamp ....pools not the cleanest in all honesty. Food mediocre at best ....samey samey ...A la Carte on 2 nights out of 10 ...much better. Weekend starts with an influx of locals which is OK ....however means they can ignore the rest of the suffering guests whilst giving full attention to these. Zero to do at night ...unless you are aged 3 to 10 then all is cool. Boca Chica is like a ghetto which is a shame ...needs investment like quick style before nobody ever goes again. Beach lovely btw and that's it .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Amston Arias, Atención al cliente/recepción at Whala!Bocachica
Responded 17 Nov 2023
Dear customer, it is a shame that you did not like the service, I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future, we will take your comment to improve the service provided.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Boca Chica area.
PRICE RANGE
₹6,858 - ₹9,786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
don juan beach hotel boca chica, don juan beach resort, hotel don juan beach, don juan resort dominican republic, don juan hotel santo domingo
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Don Juan Beach Resort
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicSanto Domingo ProvinceBoca ChicaGazcue
NUMBER OF ROOMS
225
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WHALA!BOCACHICA (Boca Chica) - All-inclusive Resort Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Whala!Bocachica
Which popular attractions are close to Whala!Bocachica?
Nearby attractions include Boca Chica (0.5 km) and Amigos Night Life Boca Chica (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Whala!Bocachica?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Whala!Bocachica?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Whala!Bocachica?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Whala!Bocachica?
Conveniently located restaurants include Momo Paradise, Pequena Suiza, and Raceli Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Whala!Bocachica?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Whala!Bocachica offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a banquet room and conference facilities during their stay.
Does Whala!Bocachica have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.