We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Lodge in the Vale

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Lodge in the Vale
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 245: English reviews
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Yearly we travel for 2 weeks of hiking in the Lake District. This year we hiked the Wainwright Memorial Walk and one of the night's stay was scheduled for St. John's in the Vale. We chose The Lodge and had a great experience. All communications were very pleasant and promptly replied to. We were warmly greeted. All liked our rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BuccaneerDave
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you for this wonderful review BuccaneerDave, It's great to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us so much! It sounds like you've made the most of your visit to the Lakes too. Thank you for all your kind comments on our breakfast, rooms and our team. Unfortunately there is no other path to the King's Head apart from...

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely place - still fairly new, functional and clean. Yes the rooms are small but there's ample room for two. And it's in a beautiful location so thE time spent indoors should be minimal, surely? Staff were excellent and very friendly - particularly Todor at breakfast. Rooms are very quiet and open out to great views and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antony B
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Hello Antony, It sounds like you've had a great stay, thank you for your kind comments on our rooms, staff and cafe! We hope you've enjoyed the rest of your visit to the lakes just as much and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Lovely place for a few nights away. Great location in the middle of some lovely walks and a short drive to Keswick. Staff were friendly and generally had a lovely stay. Breakfast was nice enough, lovely bread in particular. We had a little issue with our room but the reception staff dealt with the issue professionally and we were also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly B
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you Holly! We're so pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again in the future!

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Visited the lodge earlier this week with my boyfriend. Lovely clean and cosy room, thought I would have had to have brought my huge dressing gown but the heating in the room made it all very cosy! Beds were extremely comfy and we even slept in both days and missed breakfast, haha didn't want to even get up it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachael M
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you for this great review Rachael, We're very glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope the rest of your visit in the Lakes was just as good. Our reception desk is manned from 8am till 9:30pm, and if we're not there, we're in the cafe, so we're never far away :) Thank you...

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel is nice and clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast is quite disappointing, I understand that the hotel doesn't have kitchen facilities, but a better variety of food would be an improvement, particularly considering that people want to eat plenty before heading out for walks etc. The room was basic, clean and functional....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty D
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Hello Kirsty, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I'm glad to hear you have found our Lodge to be clean and welcoming! Thank you for your kind comments on our rooms and staff, that's much appreciated. We are very clear in all our marketing materials that we serve continental breakfast only, unfortunately we do not have a kitchen...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Stayed for 1 night on our way to the highlands, room was on the small side, but clean, tidy, well kept, rooms were pretty quiet, no restaurant but had breakfast in the coffee shop. They suggest a pub just down the road for Dinner which was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you Mark! It's great to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and your dinner at the King's Head! Hope you had a safe trip to the highlands.

Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights to break up our journey. We chose it online going by the photos & the price. If you like fussy, frilly & flowery, then this is not the place for you. However if, like us, you like modern & minimalistic, then you can't go wrong with this place. Set in a beautiful part of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mo A
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you for this amazing review! We're so glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us, it looks like you have made the most of your visit in the Lakes. Thank you for your kind comments, what you have described is everything we'd like to think we are: a modern, clean, comfortable B&B! If you ever wish to...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016

This is a hidden gem – located around 5 miles outside Keswick, it is a small but modern hotel with excellent facilities. With only 14 rooms but lots of on site parking, you never feel crowded. Breakfast was continental with a good choice of items available. There is no dining room but the coffee shop is a great place to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan B
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you very much Susan, Reading your lovely comments absolutely made our day! I'm happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and I hope the rest of your time in the area was just as good. We (and the chocolate labrador Yogi) look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed overnight on the way to Scotland Lovely modern small hotel Rooms very warm and designed beautifully with wood fittings Breakfast was very nice and lovely staff Very easy to find . Well sign posted Very clean .. Even the towels were displayed lovely We highly recommend Katy and tomer Israel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katytomer
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you very much Katy, We're so glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your kind comments, we really hope you have enjoyed the rest of your stay in the area and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Reviewed 25 September 2016

This is a great hotel for those who like life a bit quieter. Situated just off a busy road you can't even hear any of the traffic driving past even with the window open. Room was nice and clean, the shower was brilliant. Good choice from the continental breakfast. Maybe a little too expensive for what it was, but then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam H
Alicja Z, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review Liam! I'm so glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with, I hope the rest of your holiday in the Lakes was just as nice. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirlmere
1.7 km away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
163 reviews
6.6 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
10.0 km away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
471 reviews
22.6 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.4 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about The Lodge in the Vale

Address: | St John’s in the Vale, Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Thirlmere
Price Range: ₹ 4,155 - ₹ 9,263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge in the Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Lodge in the Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge In The Vale Hotel Thirlmere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lodge in the Vale staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
Greater London, United Kingdom
Padiham, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Lodge in the Vale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor rooms have great views!”
 of 5 bubbles 797SusanB, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Think Bijou and calm and you'll love it!”
  • Wake up to this
 of 5 bubbles karlmusic2016, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The front of the hotel is on a road. When cars pass it is quite loud.”
 of 5 bubbles AddisonThomas1980, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Best views a ground floor room as upstairs is dormer so window high up”
 of 5 bubbles carolj239, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No walking leaflets in hotel. I would NOT recommend this B&B! Some members of staff could do with a crash course on public relations!”
 of 5 bubbles sefscott, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay