We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

608 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 418: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

On our arrival there was a severe storm and heavy rain, and this went on for three days. Our room was okay, but we asked for insect spray, because lots of sandflies! Rest of the celaning was okay, difficult with all the wet weather. Because no airco or heating is was very cold in the room and everything got moist!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick v
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr Patrick, Thank you for your review. Its very nice of you to get out and enjoy Monteverde, even despite of the weather. The location of Monteverde makes it very windy sometimes and we were affected, just as the rest of the country, by a cold front that lasted for almost 5 days, yet the beauty of Monteverde is...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were only in Monteverde for one day but we had a great stay. The front desk arranged two separate tours for us. Hot tub was nice. Restaurant was convenient and delicious for breakfast and dinner. We even took advantage of the movies available at the front desk to watch something before bed. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Happy 2017!!! Dear Trip Advisor User, Thank you very much for your comments, we spent long weeks and worked very hard during the last days of 2016 in order to provide our guests with better accommodations, better service, a more complete hotel etc. We know we had hard times putting all together before high season, we even had to endure...

USA
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was booked by my travel agent so I did not know what to expect. I am very experienced traveler, and understand that standards from country to country may differ, but I was really underwhelmed from the time we arrived to the parking lot through our visit. The front desk is literally an office- much like you would see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UsaSeasoned_traveler
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Seasoned Traveler: Thank you very much for your comments, we spent long weeks and worked very hard during the last days of 2016 in order to provide our guests with better accommodations, better service, a more complete hotel etc. We know we had hard times putting all together before high season, we even had to endure remodeling works...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms that smell fungus, defect toilet and no hot water in the shower. Poor a la carte Breakfast and all that comes with high prices and a four star rating!? We have been around to quite a number of hotels in Costa Rica and the standard is usually ok. But not at this place, avoid it until it shapes up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joachim W
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr/ Mrs W, we are very sorry your experience was not satisfactory, we did agree on providing you with a compensation: discount on your rate. We do not hesitate to compensate, or even refund guests and help them find a more suitable hotel when it applies, that is: when they are not pleased with our facilities and decide they...

Calgary, AB
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There was nothing really terrible about this hotel, however nothing really good either. The room was clean and we weren't bothered by the construction noise, however it was also dark and depressing. The tree outside the patio window made the room even darker. The balcony fit 2 chairs (barely) but the view was of the top of surrounding roofs, old...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ldarcy
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr/Mrs IDarcy. As the hotel manager and the person responsible for responding to comments, reviews and feedback on Trip Advisor and other travel blogs, let me tell you that finding another hotel or providing a full refund is something we may or may not use as our last resource, nevertheless we wish to state and make sure our potential...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

In my opinion, this is a nice hotel that is sort of pretending to be super boutique chic. The room and bathroom were a great size, bed was huge and very comfy. No air con, but ceiling fan was fine. They were working on a new building so it was pretty noisy during the day, the jacuzzi didn't seem to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S C
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr / Mrs SC. Thank you very much for your comments, you are right about your perception, we have tried to accommodate a more boutique type clientele, yet, we know we do much better with mid-range families and couples, travelling to Monteverde for the beauties of the area: the Cloud Forest, and also people who are willing to explore...

Newburyport, Massachusetts
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Hmmm-been thinking about this review for days. I will qualify this by saying the sun did not come out the entire time we were here and that may have contributed to the general overall glumness of this place. I will also say that this was the least friendly place we stayed at out of 4 stops in CR. Staff not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lisac1962
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Lisa, Thank you for your review, during the last three months, oct, nov, and mostly all dec, we had constructions works going on and there was a lot of running around. Nevertheless, this shouldn’t affect the way our personnel treated our guests, thank you for letting us know, we´ll use your comments to reinforce our standard. You have...

East Sussex, UK
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Disappointing stay No wow factor here. Very dated rooms. Bathrooms need updating as cracks in porcelain so not very hygienic. Whole guest area Looks grubby. Pool was too cold to use jacuzzi nice. Service in restaurant was poor. Breakfast inadequate. No lift. Close to some shops but you don't go to Monteverde for the shopping experience.No where to sit to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lyke2snype
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr / Mrs Snype. Did you approach front desk personnel or management during your stay to express your discontent about our service ?? If so, was my response rude or unsatisfactory? Did you talk to either of the receptionists about this? I'm sure either one of them would have address your situation properly, specially since they are very good...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

The hotel was lovely nestled in the mountain side full of treasures the garden and hot tub are the highlights the food was great and the room was basic and clean it even had a balcony. This place has so many special features you must see for yourself we would defiantly stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weavemaster1
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr / Mrs Weavemaster: Thank you very much for your very nice review. We work hard to present a nice, comfortable and well located facility. Our team tries its best to deliver the best service. And we have put a lot of thought on details, special areas, amenities, etc. Our food, pool, Jacuzzi, gardens, music, renovations, rooms, etc are...

Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

We had different ugly bugs in our room. We ask them to clean it again but the next day the room was again filled with bugs. This was the only hotel in costa rica where we had bugs. No aircon...at night icecold, during the day to hot. Everything felt dirty.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrea H
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Andrea. Greetings from Monteverde. I'm sorry you experienced some bugs when you stayed with us. I wonder if we offered an Up Grade to our deluxe Air conditioned rooms, we do have two rooms that are the first two rooms in Monteverde with A/C. Monteverde is supposed to have a cool nice temperature, specially considering the cold temperatures...

309 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (275)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.2 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
982 reviews
1.0 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.7 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 23 in Monteverde
632 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 23 in Monteverde
1,194 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel's analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Address: | Santa Elena Centro, Frente Al Centro Comercial Plaza Monteverde, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Price Range: ₹ 7,488 - ₹ 15,725 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poco a
Poco a Monteverde
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Woodbridge, Canada

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a quiet room, sometimes you hear your neighbours!”
 of 5 bubbles 307patrickv, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Find one in a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles ldarcy, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for one that doesn't have a tree obscuring the light”
 of 5 bubbles lisac1962, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“My best tip would be choose another place to stay”
 of 5 bubbles lyke2snype, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are spread out in various buildings.”
 of 5 bubbles Joet6192, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay