We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Senda Monteverde Hotel

250M Norte del BCR en Cerro Plano, 60109 Costa Rica
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (509)
Room & Suite (133)
Dining (50)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 29 hotels in Monteverde
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2023 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
You want to zipline through the Cloud Forest where ziplining was born. Hike on hanging bridges to see tree-top wildlife found nowhere else in the world. Climb inside a majestic hollow tree that’s thousands of years old. After all, you’ve only got a few days to spare. Every day counts. Senda Monteverde Hotel in Monteverde, Costa Rica is the cozy mountain lodge you’ve been searching for. You’ll find all the best essentials you’d expect from a five star luxury hotel. Enjoy easy access to every Monteverde adventure you can think of. Not to mention complimentary hiking access to the neighboring Aguti Wildlife Reserve, all year round. Senda Monteverde is a proud member of the award-winning Cayuga Collection.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Wifi
Yoga room
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Walking tours
Full body massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
First aid kit
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

250M Norte del BCR en Cerro Plano, 60109 Costa Rica
Senda Monteverde Hotel
423Reviews5Q+A87Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 369
  • 30
  • 17
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Eurofolk wrote a review 12 Apr
Herent, Belgium477 contributions275 helpful votes
+1
A great place in a superb setting. Excellent accommodation, with a spectacular view, friendly staff, good food…what’s not to like? A longish drive 3-4 hours from San José (we booked a transfer from SJO that we found on line (The Baqueano) , welcomed by Carmen who checked us in. The room had coffee and tea-making facilities, free local and international calls and complementary drinks in the fridge. One of the reasons for choosing Senda was the extensive landscaping and “curation” of the grounds to maximise animal and bird activity, with their own trails in their property and special free access to a neighbouring private Aguti reserve. However, even on the grounds you see a wide variety of bird and wildlife. We did two activities while there with Joseph, who was a gifted and patient guide. On the day after arrival we took 5:30 to 13:00 private tour, mainly focused on birds. this involved 75 minutes before breakfast in the grounds, then the cloud forest followed by Curi Cancha reserve. The second day was also focused on birds, but in a lower part of the valley - Finca San Luis. On both days, Joseph, was fun, helpful and really informative. Overall, a great place to stay with helpful staff and good food. We would thoroughly recommend it for a visit to Monteverde.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Restaurant can be cold a night as doors to terrace often open, bring a jumper or scarf to dinner.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
mandypeks wrote a review Mar 2024
Chicago, Illinois7 contributions
I can't say enough wonderful things about our 4 days at Senda. The property is beautiful (plantains and bananas were growing in front of our room and the property is a 5 minute walk to the Aguti Wildlife Reserve - you are truly IN the cloud forest), the rooms were stunning, and the food was absolutely amazing. Not only was everything delicious (it was!!), but I have a LOT of food allergies and intolerances and not only did I feel safe, I truly enjoyed every single meal. Huge kudos to the chef and all of the waitstaff who went above and beyond. (Thank you all - I appreciated everything you did so much!) We also took a tortilla making class with the chef which was so fun — we went with our teenaged kids and that class was one of the highlights of our entire week in Costa Rica. We can't wait to make them at home and bring a bit of Senda home with us. We all felt so at home there — if you are even thinking of coming to Senda, do it!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: It was a quick 10 minute walk to town for dinner. You can walk home (which we did), but you could...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service, Owner at Senda Monteverde Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your visit and taking the time to leave us this review. We are happy to hear that we were not only able to accommodate for your food allergies but also make the experience enjoyable. Send us a picture when you make the tortillas back home in Chicago. Greetings from all of us in the cloud forest of Monteverde.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Grumpyoldman wrote a review Mar 2024
London, UK110 contributions92 helpful votes
We stayed here for 2 nights and wished we had stayed longer. We loved Monteverde and thought the Senda was one of the best hotels we've ever stayed at. The grounds and bungalow accommodation are beautifully laid out and, although the hotel is within walking distance of the town, we were happy to spend our time when not on excursions exploring the grounds and the adjacent nature reserve. Our accommodation was spacious, comfortable and exceptionally well equipped (even free beer and wine in the fridge) and we loved the veranda where we could sit and watch the wildlife in total privacy. We ate all our meals in the hotel and, although the choice of food and drink was quite limited and expensive, the quality was excellent. The reception staff were great and the restaurant service was generally very good apart from a couple of glitches related to table reservations (you need to reserve for all meals including breakfast). The only thing which we felt was a bit lacking was a comfortable seating area where you could enjoy a pre-dinner drink without sitting up at the bar in the middle of the restaurant. Cheap it is isn't but sometimes true value is worth the price.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service, Owner at Senda Monteverde Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your visit. So many guests book for only two nights and wish they had stayed longer. We apologize for the glitches in reservations. The last days were very busy and we were struggling to keep up with demand. But things will slow over the next weeks and that should make the reservations process for meals easier also. Please come back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ellen v wrote a review Mar 2024
150 Great Wolf Drive5 contributions1 helpful vote
We are a family of three and were welcomed to Senda with our choice of drinks which was hot mint tea with honey. Perfect after a long drive from Guanacaste. The staff are very attentive, genuinely friendly and accommodating. The setting is beautiful and quiet. No piped music from speakers hiding behind bushes that you see at many resorts. It was blissfully calm and quiet. Each cabin or bungalow is nestled in natural settings and you don't hear or see other guests from your suite or room. The breakfast menu is delicious and has something for everyone. I especially loved the granola and fruit bowl. My son and husband liked the cooked egg breakfasts. The dinners in El Sapo are delicious with locally sourced ingredients. But we tried different restaurants in town and at nearby hotels for variety. You can easily get a taxi to take you here and there and they all take US dollars. The bellmen are wonderful. Carlos was so sweet with two young boys who were visiting from PA. He made them feel so at home and they loved "helping" him on the golf cart. Jazdanny was always at the ready to take me or my husband to or from the front desk to our room. Once he even escorted my husband and I through trails nearby to get to a nearby hotel restaurant for dinner. You really get the sense that they all care about your experience there. Definitely recommend going to the Aguti Wildlife Reserve and Sanctuary adjacent to Senda. Lovely trails and newly opened wildlife sanctuary with sloths and a tapir and jaguars (to come). The front desk staff, Carmen, Laura, Vanessa, Tatiana and others were all friendly and great problem solvers and patient with tired travelers like we were. You get the sense they enjoy their work. We highly recommend staying at Senda Monteverde and we hope to return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book early so you get the room and length of time you want and won't have to change rooms. Be...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service, Owner at Senda Monteverde Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for this wonderful and complete review. We are sure it will be very helpful for travelers who are planning a vacation in Monteverde. We appreciate all the nice comments about our team members. Remembering all their names means a lot to them. Please come back soon and also take a look at Senda's Sister Hotels of the Cayuga Collection in Costa Rica, Nicaragua and Panama.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Christie L wrote a review Mar 2024
5 contributions
This hotel is really original! I’m the middle of Monteverde, and just near Aguti reserve. As a guest you get free access to this reserved. There are also tons of birds and short trials along the property. The rooms are small cottages and with rustic charm. The hotel service is great - they have turn down service and come by with warm water bottles to warm the beds. They have complimentary beer, wine and iced tea/water in the mini bar. There is a ton of wildlife and they have a central fire pit where the kids can make s’mores at night. It’s so secluded that at nights the room is pitch dark. It is humid here so nights can be cooler but they provide extra blankets and space heaters for the rooms. We will be doing a night walking tour and also complimentary ceviche class on site. A really unique stay and only 10Min walk to town center.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Cool in the early morning and evenings. Humid, be sure to bring a rain jacket and some pants
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service, Owner at Senda Monteverde Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to write this review. Thank you for mentioning our great location close to town, but just across a hanging bridge from the Aguti Reserve. Please come back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul F wrote a review Mar 2024
United States8 contributions3 helpful votes
This resort is tucked away in the forest on the outskirts of Monteverde. We shared a duplex cabin with a couple we travel with. The cabin was comfortable and very quaint. We could sit on the front porch and listen to the sounds of the forest. The resort has nice walking trails throughout and is connected to the Aguti Wildlife Reserve. We enjoyed walking through the reserve as well. We found it helpful to make reservations for breakfast and dinner. We found the food to be very good. We had our lunches and some dinners off property. The staff throughout the resort were very friendly and helpful. We came back one afternoon to find water running off the roof of our cabin. There was no hot water. Within 10 minutes, someone was checking on the problem. Within 30 minutes, it was resolved, and we had hot water again. Great service! We awoke each morning at 6AM to men talking and using blowers on the grounds . There is a bit of traffic noise as you are on the edge of the town. But you can easily walk to town because you are so close. Probably difficult to walk back due to steep hills. It was a $4-$6 cab ride back. We enjoyed out stay!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service, Owner at Senda Monteverde Hotel
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Paul, thank you for taking the time to send in this review. We appreciate all the nice feedback and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry about the 6 am noise and will make sure that our gardening team is more considerate in the future. Please come back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Molly S wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions
Cozy, clean, beautiful cottages!!! Close to everything. Gorgeous landscape!! Amazing wildlife!! The entire staff from front desk, housekeeping, restaurant, bell hop, security were TOP NOTCH!! We Truly Loved it!!! We will be back!! We wouldn’t stay anywhere else. The attention to each guest makes you feel at home. They learn your name and truly care for you. They all made our stay so much fun!! The best experience ever!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service, Owner at Senda Monteverde Hotel
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for your visit to Senda. We are glad that you feel you chose the best place in Monteverde. Thank you. And comments about our service and staff are our favorites. As you mentioned, we truly care and want to make sure that each and every one of our guests has the best experience. We are service. Please come back soon. To Senda or one of its sister hotels of the Cayuga Collection in Costa Rica, Nicaragua and Panama.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tia C wrote a review Mar 2024
West Olive, Michigan145 contributions56 helpful votes
+1
Wow wow wow did we love our stay at Senda! We were a party of six (grandparents around 60y, parents just over 30y and two littles 5 and 4.) The property is amazing with trails around the hotel and private access into the Aguti Reserve. Ask about how to get to the reserve before you head out -- it can be a little confusing until you find it. Our rooms (two junior suites) were spacious and comfortable with large windows). Tours for Selvatura Adventure Park and others pick you up at the front of the hotel. Breakfast (like dinner and lunch) are ordered off the menu (not buffet) so be sure to make reservations when you arrive if not before. We had the same table for each meal which was nice. Service was excellent, food was delicious. Carmen and Vanessa were super helpful with our many questions before and during our stay. They offer activities like bracelet making and cocktail making -- it was one-on-on for those by chance so we had a very personal experience. Capuchin monkeys also visited our "front yard" during our stay which they said was unusual but we also saw them about a mile into the reserve. Many birds, aguti, and families of coati passed by our windows as well. The hotel (for us it was Carmen) will organize your tours, make restaurant reservations, and help with transportation...they even ordered pizzas to be delivered upon our return from a night walk at our request. The only thing missing for us was a pool or even hot tub, but that's just because we had littles along. We will treasure our memories from Senda. Be sure to follow them on instagram to get you excited about your stay there once you book!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you have questions, just ask! Senda worked magic for us. :)
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service, Owner at Senda Monteverde Hotel
Responded 6 Mar 2024
Thank you for your visit and the great comments. We loved having your extended family with us at Senda. We agree that Senda is a great place for a multigenerational vacation and are so glad to hear that everybody enjoyed themselves. Take a look at Senda's Sister Hotels of the Cayuga Collection in Costa Rica, Nicaragua and Panama. They might be other great options for another trip. Greetings from sunny Monteverde.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Safariholic wrote a review Feb 2024
Horsham, United Kingdom2000 contributions564 helpful votes
Drove all the way up here ('were driven' to be more accurate) from Manuel Antonio (Pacific coast) & what a drive it was - long - yes – but such scenery, lush greenery, vistas, birds, wildlife – really added to the whole experience – travel is NOT ONLY about the destination – the journey matters too. Then, there was their view. I forget how high it was, but one could see a long way. We arrived in clear blue sky sunshine & left in same, but the middle day was not so good – socked-jn by thick cloud. No one’s fault, but disappointing. We came primarily for a change of scenery, to see a different area of the Country and for the Birds – Tick, even if one Day was a right-off through Cloud. Hotel was fine – comfortable but miniscule Cabins – we are not big people nor had loads of luggage & it was cosy. Delightful grounds with lots of Birds. Food good, simple and unfussy. Service similar, but lacking in experience and confidence, at times. Same Comment about Reception. Nice, genuine, pleasant staff with hearts in the right place, so simple remedy. Birders – Book a Professional Guide ahead of time. The supply is NOT inexhaustible. Just my opinion/suggestion.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service, Owner at Senda Monteverde Hotel
Responded 6 Mar 2024
Thank you for coming up to the cloud forest of Monteverde and staying with us at Senda. We agree that the journey is part of the experience. Thanks for saying this. And thanks for the honest straight forward feedback. I would recommend you look at a Premuim Suite for your next stay that is quite big and has spectacular views. We will continue to train our young local staff and make sure that they gain experience and confidence. In the meantime we appreciate your comment about genuinety and "hearts in the right place". Please come back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CSbrighton wrote a review Feb 2024
23 contributions17 helpful votes
Simply perfect in every way. We stayed at Senda during our honeymoon around Costa Rica and could have happily there the whole time! It is a wonderful place to stay for so many reasons. The hotel itself is amazing. We loved our lodge and walking around the garden amongst the coatis, agoutis and hummingbirds. There is everything you could possibly need (and more) in the room. The staff is outstanding. Professional, friendly, helpful and exceeded our expectations several times. The food is so good! We have food intolerances which the staff remembered and the chef was more than happy to make some changes for us. The location is great. It feels secluded yet it’s within walking distances from many restaurants and the Butterfly Garden. Our favourite hotel in Costa Rica!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Definitely go on the trails around the hotel!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service, Owner at Senda Monteverde Hotel
Responded 25 Feb 2024
Thank you for making Senda part of your honeymoon trip to Costa Rica. We are glad to hear that we were your favorite hotel in Costa Rica. Thanks for all the praise on the food, service, and staff. We agree that Senda has a great location within a very natural and quiet setting, yet close to everything you want to experience in and around Monteverde. Please come back for an anniversary soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Monteverde area.
PRICE RANGE
₹24,164 - ₹34,615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasMonteverde
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SENDA MONTEVERDE HOTEL - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Senda Monteverde Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Senda Monteverde Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Senda Monteverde Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a view of a nearby landmark, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Senda Monteverde Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Senda Monteverde Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Senda Monteverde Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include San Lucas Treetop Dining Experience, El Sapo Restaurant & Bar, and Restaurante Don Luis.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Senda Monteverde Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to yoga classes during their stay.
Does Senda Monteverde Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Senda Monteverde Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Senda Monteverde Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is Senda Monteverde Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.