We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Emerald Cove

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Emerald Cove
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Emerald Cove
See the most recent reviews
Showing 46: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 24 May 2016

We were lucky enough, to get unit 7 which is right next to the beach access gate. As it is off-season we were the only guests. The unit was clean and reasonably well stocked with utensils, and a small braai. We were unaware of the fact that no towels or teacloths were provided, it was the first time this has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 691annd
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and we are glad you enjoyed your quiet stay. I do apologise for the lack of towels and dishcloths, we do not normally supply these and you were informed of this on your confirmation, but we would have happily supplied them had you asked.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2016

We received a very warm welcome from the hosts, and the accommodation is right next to the beach and within walking distance of a couple of nice restaurants and bars. The bed is comfortable and there is secure parking at the front of the property. However, the chalets are a little tired and the communal areas in particular could do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cactus73
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed, and wished you had drawn our attention to the oven and ants so we could have dealt with those problems while you were here, the broken oven was only a trip switch ! I do apologise for the lack of towels and dishcloths, we do not normally supply these and our guests are duly...

Reviewed 1 February 2016

Fully equipped self catering cottages, overlooking lovely pool with a gate at the top of the property that opens out to a stunning beach. Perfectly situated with a shopping mall nearby and a dive centre across the road. Great security and a perfect holiday place I would highly recommend. The hosts are so helpful and friendly. You leave and want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Divejb
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you found our location so great and we would love to welcome you back when you plan that next trip.

Eastham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

We have just returned from our 4th stay at Emerald Cove and it was hard to leave to go home. While we grew up in SA and know that the best holiday beaches in SA are on the south coast of Natal, we travel all the way from the UK to enjoy the pleasure and we always feel very welcomed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for ending our year on a high note with such a nice review. We love having you and your lovely family here and look forward to having you back again one day.

Reviewed 22 November 2015

Judy stayed up late to graciously welcome me from my flight, which was much appreciated. I also found out that she had upgraded to me to a much larger cottage closer to the wifi as I was staying for three weeks. This was much appreciated, thank you Judy, it made the evenings much more enjoyable! The cottages are really fantastic,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. You were a lovely guest and always appreciative of any small thing we could do to make your stay more comfortable. Thank you also for the photos which show off the chalet so nicely with that lens.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 9 November 2015

We were so blessed to have had a free upgrade to such a stunning chalet! It was on the second floor and it was so beautiful! It was my mum in laws 60th birthday so we wanted to do something really nice, but still affordable. My mum in law couldnt stop saying how much she loves the place when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yan0la
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review, sorry about the power going off, yes it was a problem with the entire area.

Limpopo Province, South Africa
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Good facilities on site , close to the beach , great for families and couples looking for a break without a hassle . good restaurants close to the Venue Clean rooms. beach within walking distance and close for Children

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikeowen462
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay.

Rustenburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Went there in August 2015; had such a great time that we had to go again in September. The unit where we stayed was very clean and neat, the bonus being that is was very private. It is literally only a few steps from the sea and you can hear the calming sound of the sea all day and night....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aletta26
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a nice review, we like it when our guests enjoy being beside the sea.

Gauteng
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Home away from home. Friendly and warm welcome and departure. Loved the animals and the beach being so close by. Lovely restaurants in the area to visit with good food. Thank you Judy for a wonderful stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane23Gauteng
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 12 June 2015 via mobile

We are really impressed. Loved to stay here with Judy (our shelly beach mum). Rooms are super clean, Judy is helpful beyond believe and value for money unbeatable. Came to shelly beach to dive protea banks which we did with kym at aqua planet. Emerald cove is conveniently located just across the street with direct access to the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChickenPie1985
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and got to dive Protea.

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelly Beach
2.9 km away
Shore Breakers
Shore Breakers
#3 of 4 in Shelly Beach
4 reviews
1.9 km away
Driftsands Holiday Flats
0.9 km away
Tahiti Sands
Tahiti Sands
#4 of 8 in Shelly Beach
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Beachcomber Bay
Beachcomber Bay
#2 of 24 in Margate
132 reviews
1.9 km away
Sea 'N Sky
Sea 'N Sky
#5 of 7 in Uvongo
13 reviews
13.7 km away
Umthunzi Hotel & Conference
Umthunzi Hotel & Conference
#1 of 3 in Port Shepstone
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beachfront, self-catering thatched chalets. On the shores of the warm Indian Ocean Emerald Cove is the perfect place to enjoy the pleasures of a beach holiday and explore the KwaZulu Natal South Coast. Swimming Pool, direct beach access, AA Highly recommended, and walking distance to restaurants and shops. Attractions of the area include: Oribi Gorge, whale and dolphin watching, 7 world class golf courses, many beautiful beaches, nature walks and hiking trails, and crocodile farm. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Emerald Cove

Address: 1286 Marine Road | Shelly Beach, Shelly Beach 4265, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Shelly Beach
Price Range: ₹ 2,813 - ₹ 4,550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Emerald Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Emerald Cove staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for unit no 1 if you have a pet”
187susanh, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Every unit is good”
, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Unit 7, access to beach, sound of the sea, no cars a plus.”
691annd, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“There is a wifi hotspot”
Divejb, 31 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the room with wifi.”
thomasbG5638QY, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates