We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 97: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Myself and 4 collouges recently checked out sfter a 2 day stay. The hotel was a very pleasant cosy place to stay, the beds were comfy and the staf wrte friendly and welcoming. We dined here ln the two eveings and found the food the be well presented and a fare sized portion. Good trip

Helpful?
Thank Ben K
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We stayed for one night - the place is a little old and run down in places and needs some TLC and updating but it was clean and comfortable enough. Had a very good night's sleep in one of the annex rooms, one of the towels in the bathroom was threading around the edges so attention to detail is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Explorer2606
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Visited the restaurant for the pudding evening.. Young girl served us to start and was very friendly and chatty. No music for atmosphere. Main course was average. A variety of puddings avaliable to accomidate most preferences. Friend caught her glass causing it to smash meaning a full glass of wine all over her and the table.. Staff saw from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank CRN21
MillhouseSharnbrook, General Manager at Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Firstly. Thank you for your review, it's great to get feedback whether it's positive or negative. I was one of the members of staff stood at the bar when your glass smashed however at time neither of us noticed. If I was in a restaurant and I knocked over a glass of wine I wouldn't have sat and waited for... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed for a long weekend for our anniversary, upon check in we could tell it wasn't a chain hotel but wanted something with character. Beautiful views surround the hotel which were nice to see. We checked in and the very helpful young man at the desk took us to our room. Where as requested they had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016

My family and I stopped here for one night as we was attending family party, checked in and the room was fine but our family members said there rooms was scruffy and stained sheets. The staff are young and no man management skills. Went to the bar and was disappointed on the selection on beers , 1 draft larger ,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sinkey S
MillhouseSharnbrook, General Manager at Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's always great to get feedback whether positive or negative. I'll first respond to the first comment. Only one room came to us and complained about the sheets, to which two members of staff changed all the bedding and I gave the room complimentary because apparently it "wasn't"... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Reception staff were friendly and helpful the bar staff in the marquee however were slow muddled and not very on the ball. I waited for over 15 mins to be served as both the staff kept serving other people who arrived at the bar after me. I gave up in the end and went to the main bar in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark N
Ampthill
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Went for dinner. Unable to book our usual restaurant at short notice we were able to get into the Mill. Have not been for many years and probably won't be back again for many years. Had the salmon for main which although was nice it was the tail and not a cutlet. My husband had the steak which was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grandsons3
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We went for a track day at Bedford Autodrome so staid here for just one night. The hotel itself was fine but the meal we had was at best a 5/10 I would however stop here again but I would eat elsewhere

Helpful?
Thank Nigel T
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Very poor level of cleanliness throughout. Rooms out dated / bathrooms a disgrace. Tip ... Spend some of the over priced room rate on updating the place... Oh ... Was it really worth the effort bolting this TV to the wall ?? Staff pleasant

Helpful?
Thank Fraser P
MillhouseSharnbrook, General Manager at Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it's always great to get feedback whether it's positive or negative. Nothing a bulldozer wouldn't cure? I feel that's abit extreme and probably quite expensive and time consuming in the long run. I apologise you felt that we had a poor level of cleanliness, I'll take your feed back on... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Absolutely shocking. Wouldnt wish this place on my worst enemy. On arrival i had to clean my own toilet. The bed had already been slept in. Spider infested room. My workmate had the room next door his was not different apart from nobody had used his toilet. To be fair. The steak evening meal was delicious but thats where my... More 

Helpful?
Thank dezzidee
MillhouseSharnbrook, General Manager at Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it's always great to get feedback whether it's positive or negative. Trip advisor took our original response down as we feel sometimes certain reviews are fabricated or blown out of bigger proportion than they originally were. All we will say is your room hadn't been slept in, you were offered... More 

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharnbrook
1.6 km away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
296 reviews
7.1 km away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
298 reviews
10.3 km away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 17 in Bedford
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#3 of 17 in Bedford
591 reviews
9.2 km away
Verve Hotel
Verve Hotel
#16 of 17 in Bedford
27 reviews
15.5 km away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We believe we have something special for everyone here; dining in the conservatories overlooking the river or our more formal dining room; a permanent marquee for up to 120 people for weddings and functions; 9 beautifully appointed bedrooms and informal business meeting facilities. The Millhouse Hotel has 9 en-suite bedrooms all furnished to a high standard. The hotel offers single, double, twin and disabled rooms all with free broadband access, telephone, TV (digital freeview available in superior rooms), trouser press, hairdryer, fluffy towels from the heated towel rail and a good selection of tea and coffee. Guests can also enjoy complimentary toiletries in all rooms. The hotel is in an idyllic location yet just off the A6, 7 miles north of Bedford and central to Northampton, Milton Keynes, Oxford and Cambridge. Click here for our contact details. All guests can be assured of the best in choice and quality for food and wine when dining at the Millhouse. All of our dishes are created by our Chef, Matt Henman and his team, using fresh locally sourced seasonal ingredients wherever possible. He comments below on his culinary ethos: ‘I pride myself on using local produce and you can’t really get fresher or more local than Abrahams Farm Shop next door, free range venison from Harrold and P.E Burley & Son in Turvey providing our prime beef, pork, lamb, chicken and duck. I have kept prices down without compromising on quality of produce and the fresh flavours used in my dishes.’ Chef Matt. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant

Address: Stoke Mill Mill Road, Sharnbrook, Bedford MK44 1NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford > Sharnbrook
Price Range: ₹ 5,950 - ₹ 7,865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Coventry, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 3 . Do not have the outside rooms”
 of 5 bubbles sinkeys, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room two is recommened so i am told by an insider :-)”
 of 5 bubbles chrisl403, 19 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Room 1 has a nice view over the river”
 of 5 bubbles 811rickn, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Don't book a room outside of the main building, noise from the very close flour mill . Though don't know what the inside rooms are like.”
 of 5 bubbles Tappy19, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Any room, mine was number 2 and had views of the river”
 of 5 bubbles gerrycook05, 21 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay