We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,025 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,002: English reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Unfortunately, as some people have also commented, the hotel is stuck in a time warp. It needs a serious update before people stop going there completely. The staff on reception need to put the customer first, and not finish their own conversations before dealing with the customer. It actually felt very awkward waiting to check in, as though we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cheshire764, I appreciate the time you have taken to add your feedback and please accept my apologies for the your experience failing to meet your expectations. Your comments on the quality of service are taken very seriously and will be used as constructive criticism to focus and improve the consistency of our customer care. Kind regards Gordon Stewart

Reviewed 18 February 2016

I stayed here for 2 nights on business, on checking in I was directed to the room on the 2nd floor which was very out of the way of the lifts and quite a walk down a narrow coridooor. On arriving the room was absolutely freezing, knowing someone was checking in I would think the rooms would have been pre-warmed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dan M, please accept my apologies for our hotel and food quality falling short of your expectations. This is not typical of the standards we strive to achieve and surpass. Kind regards Gordon Stewart

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Just returned early (a first for me!) from my holiday. I booked four standard, classic, rooms for a visit to York, to last four nights, but I only stayed for 3. This encompassed adults and children. The hotel itself is lovely looking Georgian manor, conveniently located just outside of the main City and easily reached by car. There is ample...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Irfan W
Durham
Reviewed 15 February 2016

This was not our first visit and the service and food was just as good. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are warm and comfortable. One small criticism was the code of dress of some in the dining room. Woolly hats, shorts with T shirts, and jogging bottoms are just not acceptable. I think patrons should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tworovers
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tworovers, thank you for adding your positive feedback and your comments on the dress code have been acknowledged. Kind regards Gordon Stewart

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2016

My husband booked this hotel as a surprise for our 30th wedding anniversary. VERY disappointing. The hotel room we stayed in smelt damp and musty,bedside cabinet had veneer hanging off of it. The receptionist staff were ignorant,only the girl who checked us in and a young girl on the Tuesday evening of our stay spoke to us, even thought we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen L, thank you for your feedback and I am very disappointed to read that your stay did not meet your expectations, please accept my apologies. I do appreciate all feedback and it is always used constructively. Kind regards Gordon Stewart

Reviewed 9 February 2016

I booked this hotel thinking it was a spa resort. However we found out that the "spa" is the health club down 5min drive the road. With children learning to swim in the main pool - not exactly the quiet tranquil spa i imagined. Also as the spa was a health club you have to bring own towels obviously something...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helenoneill27
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helenoneill27, thank you for adding your feedback. I am concerned where the perception of being a spa hotel has come from and I would appreciate if you can inform me where you have read this so I can investigate further, my email address is gm.mercureyork@jupiterhotels.co.uk. Kind regards Gordon Stewart

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2016

I like this hotel and always stay here when I am in York on business. The rooms are quite spread out but I always ask for one near the lift. I was so pleased it was lovely and warm, nice and clean, as always. The restaurant has changed its menu and its just as good as before. I would highly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise44_65
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louise44_65, thank you for adding your review and for choosing us when you have a need to come to York. It is very pleasing to read that we are achieving a consistency of standards which brings back to us; look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Gordon

Herts
Reviewed 6 February 2016

Stayed one night for a very short weekend break in York. Booked in October for the first weekend in December and it was the only 4 star hotel in York that had a room left. We had a special suite with 4-poster bed, roll top bath and a separate sitting room. The room was fab!. The staff were helpful but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yorksgolfer
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Yorksgolfer, thank you for your feedback and I appreciate the specific points you have made. Training has been ongoing with our new team members and their systems and product knowledge has significantly increased. On a more positive note thank you for your kind comments on your room and the helpfulness of our staff. Kind regards Gordon Stewart

St Davids, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2016

The external environment was beautiful and the service and staff were excellent. However the room, particularly the bathroom, was very shabby. I also paid £20 for a dog, but for what? There were no facilities made available, such as water bowl or food.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane B, thank you for taking the time to add your feedback and very pleasing to read your comments on our staff and the service provided. However, I am very sorry that your room and bathroom did not meet your expectations. I do acknowledge your comments on facilities for your dog and this is being looked into in greater...

West Midlands
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

I had booked a one night stay as part of a weekend away for a birthday treat. When we had arrived, we thought the place looked lovely. The reception has a lovely decor, and the staff were very friendly. I had booked us on for an upgraded room, and we were based in the old manor part of the hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauz182
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lauz182, thank you for taking the time to add your feedback and I am most pleased that we played our part in your birthday treat; hopefully this can become an annual trip, if not even more regular? Kind regards Gordon Stewart

286 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (178)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (83)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (80)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Standard Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
6.2 km away
York Marriott Hotel
5.6 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,032 reviews
6.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3.6 km away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 3 in Clifton
1,026 reviews
4.7 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Price Range: ₹ 4,742 - ₹ 12,345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Had a room on ground floor overlooking car park and near to main entrance but no problems with noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Newtons, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“back of the hotel over looking the garden area”
 of 5 bubbles harrymitchell1, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try for a room away from the rear of this Hotel I am sure they will be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles scotcop28, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Use the internet booking sites as mentioned.”
 of 5 bubbles jknaggs, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take your own pillow”
 of 5 bubbles madnaduk, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5