We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchor Inn Hotel

Save
Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (2)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good48%
  • Average20%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“whitefish”(6 reviews)
“cold beer”(2 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Anchor Inn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
14
29
13
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
14
29
13
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhitefishmanitoulin islandcold beerno big dealburgerthere is no air conditioningoutdoor decklake huronboardwalk
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2015

This hotel was built in 1888 and the owner has spent a lot of money updating the rooms. Loved my stay here as I was staying in a piece of history. Impressed that the owner still remembered my name an hour after he checked me...More

Thank kiwicanadian
Reviewed 7 October 2015

We stayed here one night on our way to Sault Ste Marie. it's a bit of a climb up to the third floor rooms with no elevator. Clean and comfortable room. The Whitefish was disappointing - seemed to be a frozen portion.

Thank DAB67
Reviewed 9 September 2015 via mobile

Least expensive room i stayed in on a cross canada trip. Room was dated but clean and comfortable. Had a coffee machine in the room, fridge, microwave and good sized flatscreen tv. Staff were friendly and the food at the bar was good. A pleasant...More

Thank Mike P
Response from Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn HotelResponded 9 September 2015

Hello Mike: It was good to meet you last night and thanks for taking the time to post a review. Your comments about your cross Canada motorbike ride and having us be the least expensive hotel room in Canada is kinda gratifying. I didn't know...More

Reviewed 30 August 2015

It was clean but needs Reno's in rooms but we were on the 3rd floor and stairs only so keep that in mind and also the bar is opened till 2am but we didn't hear the bar from the 3rd floor. The food downstairs was...More

Thank David D
Reviewed 27 August 2015

We just returned from a 2 night visit to the Anchor Inn. It was a last minute get away that proved to be lovely! We were very fortunate to acquire lodging! The rooms are definitely "simple' but clean and comfortable. Perhaps in time, the details...More

Thank aaltje888
Response from Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn HotelResponded 9 September 2015

Hello and thank you for your kind comments. Yes our rates are very fair. We keep our rates low because we like being full most nights, and we find that people that stay with us often do as you two did .... and join us...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Details
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (2)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Anchor Inn Hotel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Some rooms are located over the bar, and you are forewarned about noise. We were there on a Tuesday night..."
Read review
"Most rooms are great but over looking the water"
Read review
"Apt. 4, 3rd floor, great views up and down Water Street and over the water - perfect spot!"
Read review
"3rd floor rooms are quieter - all explained on their website."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing