We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
351 Main Street, Mattawa, Ontario P0H 1V0 Canada
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$114
Vio.com$114
Agoda.com$114
Tripadvisor$114
StayForLong
eDreams$114
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (2)

About

#1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mattawa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
History is right outside the door Welcome to Le Voyageur Inn nestled in Mattawa Voyageur Country Where the lazy Mattawa River meets with the mighty Ottawa River, you’ll find our historic Inn. The landmark building dates back to its original construction in 1881, and while the world around us changes quickly, our beautiful Inn remains steeped in Mattawa’s rich past While you are with us, we are committed to making your stay a truly memorable one, with clean cozy rooms, great rates and a dedicated customer service. Our dining lounge specializes in Authentic Thai cuisine as well as classic Canadian. Le Voyageur Inn is located on Main Street, downtown Mattawa walking distance to many facilities. You literally cannot miss us as we are mere seconds from Highway 17.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, French
129Reviews4Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 56
  • 47
  • 11
  • 6
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
CurrerE wrote a review Oct 2022
Ottawa131 contributions91 helpful votes
We booked one room with two king beds and one with one queen. The double king room was huge with the largest bathroom I’ve ever seen in a hotel. The hotel is very clean and service very friendly, and the restaurant has the best food in Mattawa. My father-in-law’s room had a river view and if we had more time I would have taken coffee on the second storey patio. The only weak part was the breakfast - a cold takeaway bag you’re given the night before with an unappealing breakfast sandwich, yogurt, frozen black bananas, and coffee you make yourself in the room. Otherwise, a great stay and we’d stay again and recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Eat out for breakfast!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from sudawan Butt, General Manager at Le Voyageur Inn
Responded 31 Oct 2022
Thank you for taking time to review us and we are glad to hear that you enjoy your stay. Unfortunately for the brekast, we are shorted of workers and not be able to make a buffet brealfast same as we used to do at this moment We hope we can get helper soon and see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jim M wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
Property's Favourite Review
After a month long fishing trip in the Quebec bush our dinner and stay at Le Voyageur Inn in Mattawa was much appreciated. We have stayed and eaten here numerous times and it is always excellent! Sudeowon and her husband (the owners) are friendly and efficient. The Thai food is very good and the rooms are very well kept. Thanks!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudawan Butt, Owner at Le Voyageur Inn
Responded 18 Sep 2022
Thank you for taking time to review us and see you again. Have a great winter.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
famtimeOntario wrote a review Oct 2022
North Bay, Canada41 contributions11 helpful votes
Great menu selection and the food was delicious. Just a short drive from North Bay and it was definitely worth it! Sudawan provided us with menu suggestions along with first rate service! We will be returning soon!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: The restauraunt has something for every taste on the menu!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mary L wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
Food delicious, service wonderful. Room was very clean. Bought our atv on the trailer and no problems with parking. Lots of hot water and great shower after our days out on the trails. We will be sure to come again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudawan Butt, Owner at Le Voyageur Inn
Responded 18 Sep 2022
Thank you for your review and see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John J wrote a review Sep 2022
16 contributions9 helpful votes
To be honest this place is an oasis based in a town you want to forget. Rooms are great. Service v good and restaurant very good Thai food is excellent though Friday the place gets busy as there is no where else to eat in this one horse town. Despite its monopoly it is very good
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Busy so be patient. Staff are wonderful
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudawan Butt, Owner at Le Voyageur Inn
Responded 18 Sep 2022
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoy your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
After 2 days of rain while camping at Samuel de Champlain we took the 17km trip to Le Voyageur for dinner. Make a reservation as they are only open for supper after 4:00. We were pleasantly surprised at the atmosphere as we walked in. It was very comfortable warm and inviting. The chairs were comfortable which was a bonus for my mom who suffers with rheumatoid arthritis. Now the good part, the food! It exceeded all of our expectations, all 6 of us! We all had something different and we were all thoroughly impressed! The main focus of the menu is Thai cuisine however there are plenty of other choices. My husband had the steak, it came out sizzling on a hot plate with fresh steamed veggies and French fries (or you could choose rice). It was a huge meal and he really enjoyed it. My son had fish and chips they looked awesome and he ate every bite of his fish. My dad had the chicken fettuccine, it looked amazing and he said it was! My mom, daughter and I all went for Thai and I will tel you it is the best Thai food I have had! The Tom Yum soup was superior to any I have had and I really like Tom Yum Soup! My mom had the mango salad , it was huge and very very good (I snuck a taste). We also had the Green Curry, perfect! Overall, I can’t say enough about how great our experience was! They aren’t quick but paced well enough to enjoy a dry atmosphere cooked by someone other than this camping mom! Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudawan Butt, General Manager at Le Voyageur Inn
Responded 13 Aug 2022
Thank you so much for your wonderful words! We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at our restaurant. We hope to see you again soon :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SecretsExpert wrote a review Aug 2022
Toronto, Canada7 contributions15 helpful votes
Tried to cancel our reservation due to one of our party coming down with a positive Covid result the morning of the reservation. The Front Desk staff member laughed when we indicated that we were canceling because of Covid illness and seemed very happy to tell us that we would be fully charged for the room on our credit card because of the late cancellation. My best advice is to avoid this particular motel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudawan Butt, Owner at Le Voyageur Inn
Responded 5 Aug 2022
Thank you for your review and we hope your party is getting better. You first called us on the same day of your arrival date to cancel without elaborating. We told you there would be charges due to the 48 hours cancellation policy, which led to you hanging up immediately without even giving us a chance to tell you that usually we will try to sell the room for the guest so that they will not be charged. If the room is sold then there would be no charge but you hung up immediately without giving us your name or reservation number! We then waited for a few hours and tried to call every guest checking in on that day to figure out who you were. Finally we found you called but was told on the phone that the cancellation reason is because someone had Covid followed by an abrupt hang up again without any elaboration (no proof of positive test result, etc.). Fortunately, we ended up being able to sell your room and never charged you for the cancellation policy but the staff member was hesitant to call you back as she felt she would be faced with another frustrating call.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ordongayisherfay wrote a review Apr 2022
Waterdown, Canada32 contributions34 helpful votes
Room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant was excellent - service and food. Tried the butter chicken and toffee pudding, excellent. Great service too. Like the secure entrance with the automated doors and card access entry. Wifi is fast and easy. Lastly, breakfast is convenient and well-organized. Thank you for a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudawan Butt, Owner at Le Voyageur Inn
Responded 16 Apr 2022
Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear that our hospitality reaches your satisfaction. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sandracE1270VV wrote a review Oct 2021
Dundas, Canada12 contributions5 helpful votes
Rated as a historic inn but we were given a motel unit beside the Inn. Unit was clean and somewhat updated but extremely small facing the car park. Upon check in I requested a wine glass not a plastic glass …. Denied. Coffee maker in room but no glass carafe. Tried twice, both shortly before and after 8 am for breakfast and coffee. No person and phone not answered.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Perhaps the inn has better rooms.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudawan Butt, General Manager at Le Voyageur Inn
Responded 18 Nov 2021
Hi Sandra Thank you for your review and sorry to hear that you were not enjoy your stay. The main building were fully booked on the night that you stayed with us and he parking front of your room is the private parking for your room only not for the public. Also due to covid-19 we only provide the paper cup for coffee and the plastic cup for drinks, not the real ones any more. We also provide complimentary breakfast for all guests the night before so they can have them in their own rooms in the morning. You might forgot to pick up yours. Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margaret Wharton wrote a review Sep 2021
Toronto1 contribution
V. comfortable, spacious, well-appointed and spotless 2-room suite. V. comfortable bed. V. decent, well-balanced breakfast included (to be consumed in room or as takeaway because of Covid. Friend and obliging staff. Excellent value for money. Good bar/Thai/general restaurant on premises.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Bay window suite on first floor - spacious, good work desk, pleasant view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudawan Butt, General Manager at Le Voyageur Inn
Responded 16 Sep 2021
Thank you so much for taking time to review us, we are happy to her that our inn and restaurant reaches your expectation. We hope to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$106 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioNortheastern OntarioMattawa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LE VOYAGEUR INN (Mattawa, Ontario) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Le Voyageur Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Le Voyageur Inn?
Nearby attractions include Samuel de Champlain Provincial Park (1.1 km), Antoine Mountain (6.2 km), and Mattawa Museum (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Le Voyageur Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Le Voyageur Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Le Voyageur Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Le Voyageur Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Le Voyageur Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Myrt's Restaurant, Le Voyageur Restaurant and Lounge, and Turcotte's Chip Stand.
Is Le Voyageur Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Mattawa.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Le Voyageur Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.