We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel du Cheval Blanc

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hotel du Cheval Blanc
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 9: English reviews
paris
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Ok, my room was tiny and totally unremarkable. But it was hard not to be won over by the quirky charm of this old fashioned French family-run hotel. It's smack in the center of the town but just far enough from the main square to avoid the noise. The staff were very friendly. To save money I took the fixed-dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marcopolo1964
ubaye, Gérant at Hotel du Cheval Blanc, responded to this review

thank you

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Not luxuary by any means, but a very friendly hotel. Located on one of the scenic pedestrianised town centre streets, it's a short walk to lots of restaurants and bars. We had one of the family suites, which is basic, clean, and perfect for groups on a budget. There's storage for motobikes and bicycles, and parking for cars. The restauant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Itinerantflaneur
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Reached Barcelonnette while enroute from Geneva to Nice, had to stop there because it was getting dark and the road onwards was very mountainous. Asked around and an awesome lady named Joelle helped us find this hotel - it is run by the same family for 8 generations. Very clean and nice, though E60 bought us a room with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank upai
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Hotel was fairly basic in the usual French style. The positive was the very good breakfast (great if you are cycling or walking). Dinner was only so so - there are better options in the town. If you do stay here, avoid rooms 22 and 23 - they are on teh grouond floor and overlook a car park so privacy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim D
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Arrived with a group of 11 on a Hautes Alpes cycle ride. Hotel is perfectly located in a pedestrianised area of Barcelonnette, with tables and chairs outside it was a welcome place to sip a few beers after our 65 mile ride from Briancon over Col d'Izoard and Col du Vars. Evening meal was very good as was the service....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martin_pingel
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I booked this hotel in February for a stay in July 2012. upon my arrival tired after a long day I was told that the Hotel was full despite securing a booking with credit card. The owner had booked myself and five friends in for the following day. He did search for other Hotels but all full in immediate area...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AndyB3117
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Central location near main square with its many good restaurants. Parking difficult at front of hotel. Space at rear but need a street map to find it. Family owned for over 100 years. Very small reception accessible only by 18 steps up to it from entrance (no joke with a heavy suitcase). There is no lift in hotel. Rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rowbo764
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We were also a group of 4 classic cars from UK and we were made most welcome. After reading previous reviews, I was sceptical about booking, but we were well looked after, with use of a garage and an excellent restaurant. other guests were cyclist groups and they had big dinners at night and said the restaurant was excellent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oldcarman
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2011

The owners could not be more helpful or accommodating. We turned up in 4 classic cars and parking space was made for us (I think others might have been evicted for us!) It is a very old building - the front entrance is pedestrianised, so arriving by car, yo need to find the back entrance and first impressions are not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevinw1957

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelonnette
0.1 km away
Hotel de la placette
Hotel de la placette
#2 of 5 in Barcelonnette
97 reviews
0.1 km away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Barcelonnette
79 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Azteca
Hotel Azteca
#1 of 5 in Barcelonnette
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel La Grande Eperviere
Hotel La Grande Eperviere
#4 of 5 in Barcelonnette
60 reviews
6.7 km away
Hotel Restaurant Bel Air
Hotel Restaurant Bel Air
#3 of 3 in Jausiers
45 reviews
4.7 km away
Chalet Hotel Les Blancs
Chalet Hotel Les Blancs
#2 of 9 in Pra Loup
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to our logis where our family 4 generations for almost a century will take of you in this real diligences relais,copletely renewed.prtected parking,large closed garage for bikes,motos and cars...20 rooms,equippedwith double or twin beds,showers ,tv lcd,direct phone and wifi acess. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Cheval Blanc

Address: 12 rue Grenette, 04400 Barcelonnette, France
Region: France > Provence > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Barcelonnette
Price Range: ₹ 3,704 - ₹ 6,318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Cheval Blanc 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Cheval Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Cheval Blanc staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not 22 or 23”
 of 5 bubbles timd545, 29 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Book somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles AndyB3117, 29 Jul 2012 | Read review
“Room 4 on first floor had a wardrobe and some space in it. Avoid room 5. There are a lot of stairs so beware.”
 of 5 bubbles rowbo764, 2 Jul 2012 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay