We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rijks Country House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rijks Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

289 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rijks Country House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 251: English reviews
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Have stayed at Rijks a couple of times in the past , great mountain views , quiet, safe beautiful gardens and Vineyard . The staff are friendly , there is a restaurant open 7 days a week for breakfast ,lunch & dinner .Menu doesn't change .Several cooked options for breakfast.Lovely wines. The accommodation is spacious , bathrooms tired -all in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PJLP
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear PJLP Thank you fo ryour review. It was lovely to have had you stay with us again. regards Trevor

Great Sutton
Reviewed 15 January 2017

My husband was working nearby and therefore I was staying there when he was at work, felt safe and was well looked after by the staff who couldn't do enough for you. Food was excellent and the accommodation was comfortable. Would recommend it for a quiet relaxing stay. p.s. the wine was also superb!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Norma C
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear Norma C Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you could relax and recharge. regards Trevor

Reviewed 14 January 2017

Had such divine bobotie spring rolls here that i had to order a dozyn frozen to bring home. Great experience although not much to do during the day. Service good. Everything very neat and the estate well maintained.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Merle N
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear Merle N Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so glad that we could assist with springrolls. regards Trevor

South Africa
Reviewed 10 January 2017

If tranquillity is what you are looking for this is the best getaway. Amazing accommodation enough space. Food and service wonderful. At home kind of feel coupled with class. Sterling service from all the staff. and a great massage experience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deon1Lenne2
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear Deon1Lenne2 Thank you for your review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay. regards Trevor

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The views from this hotel are truly beautiful - orchards, dams and the dramatic WItzenberg mountains in the background. And the swimming pool is tranquil, well equipped with soft cushioned recliners and umbrellas and pleasant to be at. But the hotel is certainly not a luxury hotel and overall was disappointing and often annoying. The rooms are dark and tacky...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Myra S S
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear Myra S S Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. regards Trevor

Helsinki
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The cellar, for wine testing close at 2PM, the check-in for the room not before 2PM ... We had to rush to test the wine, without eating before when it was very hot outside ... Not nice to envoy it. The room was ok except that we were able to smell, in the bathroom smell from the septic tank. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThierryIT
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear ThierryIT Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Rijk's Country House. I am sorry that the property did not meet you expectations. The wine cellar is a seperate entity to the hotel and unfortunately we do not have control over it, however we do offer a wine tasting experience at the hotel which is available...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed here for one night on 23 December with my parents and was blown away with the service,friendliness of staff ,food and accomodation. Will definately go back some time in the furture.The rooms were nice and cool and the view is spectacular.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glaudine2014
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear Glaudine2014 Thank you for your review. It was lovely to have had you stay with us and we look forward to both you and your parents returing. regards Trevor

Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We are from Cape Town and decided to visit Tulbagh for 2 nights just to get away from the hectic craziness in Cape Town. We were received warmly by the front of house Freida, who was welcoming and courteous. We did not expect much of the room as our plan was not spend too much time in the room since...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josephine B
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear Josephine B Thank you for such a beautiful review. Nothing prides me more than when a guest singles out a member of staff such as Frieda, as making their stay special. Our staff in general are the reason for so many people returning year after year. I am also glad to hear that the room surpassed your expectations. I...

Moshi, Tanzania
Reviewed 30 December 2016

This was our first visit to South Africa and friends who have stayed here before recommended it. We were not disappointed! The room was excellent, the view breathtaking, and the staff accommodating. Breakfast was very good, although the menu is a little confusing about what teas and coffees are included in the price of the buffet. We did not have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jly75zhs
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear jly75zhs Thank you for your review. It is such a pity that you did not experience all the Rijk's has to offer by not dining with us based on others opinions. But that's your choice! I have addressed the training issue with the spa, so upon your next stay, please enjoy treatments and let me know if there is...

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Rijks country house provided a beautiful retreat in the Tulbagh area. The rooms were very well appointed, well decorated and thoughtfully equipped. The bed was comfy and air conditioning kept the room cool. This boutique style hotel is nestled in a wine farm and provided awesome views of the cape mountains and a relaxing atmosphere. There was an extensive array...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear Kevin H I really appreciate feedback from guests as this is the only measure that we have as to getting things perfect here at Rijk's. I have addressed most of the issues with the staff already as well as the spa (which is outsourced) and can assure you that these minor incidents will not reoccur. Yes, the breakfast is...

174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (157)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
1.8 km away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
585 reviews
2.4 km away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
47 reviews
1.5 km away
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
0.6 km away
Villa Tarentaal
Villa Tarentaal
#2 of 19 in Tulbagh
268 reviews
2.3 km away
Wittedrift Manor House
Wittedrift Manor House
#5 of 18 in Tulbagh
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the beautiful Tulbagh valley, this exquisite four star country house offers travellers and day visitors an exceptional experience in both service and facilities with remarkable attention to detail and a graceful elegance. Rijk's Country House is situated on the eminent Rijk’s Wine farm, home to Rijk’s Private Cellar, five minutes from the centre of Tulbagh. High trees and an abundance of Iceberg roses welcome you onto the Estate from where you can see hills of vineyards set against the Obiqua and Winterhoek Mountains. Restored Cape Dutch style buildings are the frame-work within which you will experience classic furnishings and a warm and relaxed ambiance. Should you wish to sample or purchase wines from the Estate, enjoy the Polo wine bar and tasting room where visitors can sit around a large restored wooden table, or outside on the terrace with its incredible views of the valley. Otherwise, relax in the charming lounge where you will find a library of reading materials and a cosy fireplace. International and traditional cuisine coupled with impeccable service can be enjoyed in the hotel’s intimate restaurant, Que Sera, or at a high table in the private dining area, Mon Ami. Alternatively, the outside Iceberg terrace is the perfect place to relax whilst having a decadently large cup of coffee, a glass of wine or dining al-fresco overlooking the dam or under the stars. Luxury and Superior rooms and Family Cottages - evident of innovative design and stylish fittings – have their own private terrace overlooking a river - along which you will find a swimming pool, braai and lapa area, the French game of boules and hundreds of beautiful roses. In the evenings you can sit on your terrace and watch the sun set behind the surrounding mountains, leaving the vineyards and trees silhouetted by a brilliant pink and orange sky. Picnic on the banks of the river or enjoy a romantic walk through the vineyards and rose gardens. Explore the town with its quaint shops and restaurants, travel the surrounding wine routes, or – for the more adventurous – go hiking or horse-riding through the vineyards and up the mountains. An all-encompassing luxurious experience with a beautiful view out of every window, Rijk’s Country House is sure to leave you feeling rejuvenated, relaxed and like you have discovered a little piece of paradise. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rijks Country House

Address: Van der Stel Street Ext. | Winterhoek Road, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Price Range: ₹ 6,842 - ₹ 13,013 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rijks Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Rijks Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rijks Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the terraces have great views”
 of 5 bubbles PJLP, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We did not stay at the hotel, we were here to sample the wine.”
 of 5 bubbles wegetaround_42, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have lovely views.”
 of 5 bubbles AnophelesLondon, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All good. Leave time for the in-house tasting especially the Pinotage.”
 of 5 bubbles , 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Superior Rooms are perfect for any couple!”
 of 5 bubbles Stephan909, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5