We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howards Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Howards Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

369 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 357: English reviews
Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Room was clean and reasonably spacious, but unfortunately the pillows had a very old musty smell (actually, they stank..) and very flat. Delightful friendly checkin staff that were very helpful. Beds were not the most comfortable. Basic room. No coffee facilities or fridge in room. No fan or a/c but a cute little heater for cooler nights.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harlegirl
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your thorough comments and our service and facilities. Unfortunately from your review we can't identify which room you were in but there is no excuse for a smelly pillow and nothing worse than a flat one. We haven't found any smelly ones but have replaced a few flat ones since you mentioned it. Our rooms do not have...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great value stay for 9 people for 2 nights. We stayed in a loft room for 9 people and had our own kitchen and dining facilities right outside the room which was handy. The reason we stayed here was to do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing and Howards lodge had transport, breakfast and lunch options to make it easy. Nice lounge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhiliJSoul
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Great to hear it all went well and you were able to make the most of our national park and our facilities. Thanks for taking the time to post a review and we appreciate your positive feed-back.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms, Kitchens are clean and tidy, Staff's are friendly . There is a spa pool so we enjoyed. In 500 meters have gas station, fore square and there is a pub so went there for hangout and the hotel price are affordable. Nice location .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank souvikj999
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 2 nights with the Tongariro Alpine Crossing package - definitely convenient so you can enjoy your day stress free. Clean and tidy, happy to store your luggage for free when you check out. National Park village is very limited for dining options so be prepared. There is about 3 places to eat and one grocery store not far away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dommo2015
Brisbane
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Howard's is a good value home away from home. It has nice common areas for lounging; a well equipped guest kitchen; and the beds were comfortable. Rooms are basic and not equipped with motel amenities - this is a place for mingling. Rita was so helpful, even in the face of our fairly disorganised and indecisive group. We managed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saska2nian
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Don't worry, dis-organised and indecisive is our specialty. Sounds like we all got where we needed to be in the end AND the weather played ball. Thanks for your review and hope to you again soon.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked in for our anniversary with the Crossing Deluxe package, which is a fanatic deal (no one's fault the crossing was cancelled due to bad weather) as it includes accommodation, breakfast, transport to and from crossing and packed lunch. The rooms are basic but spotlessly clean, the cleanest I have seen in any hotel yet. The environment is great,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marcus J
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for saying such nice things about our lodge and our staff. We do try and make it a special visit and it's nice to hear we get it right and our guests notice.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Whilst the accommodations can be basic, there are amenities galore. You can cook for yourself in the kitchen, there's a large lounge with a fireplace and a neat BBQ area which makes a great space for a meal. Rooms are clean and tidy with heating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin D
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Basic room, friendly hosts. Very convenient package for the Tangariro Crossing (2 nights, early breakfast, packed lunch, arranged transportation). Internet could be more generously sized 100MB only gets you so far). Excellent advice for a scenic route along the Whanganui River on the way back to Wellington.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olivier B
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Glad you found the time to take the scenic route from here to Wellington. I just did it today myself and it really is something else. Really stepping back into another time !

Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Booked a double room, shared facilities with Crossing Package. Really enjoyed the stay and the trek. Rooms are basic but tidy and have everything you need. The facilities are clean and kitchen spacious. The staff is friendly and very helpful. You can even rent some gear for Sking or Tramping at the Lodge. The location is very handy (to bars,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dustin700
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for submitting a review of our hotel. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We were having some average weather here for a while but that seems to be all soretd now and the crossing is full on.

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

$90 a night for a room with a double bed. Shared bathroom and kitchen. Walls were paper thin, no sleep in due to cleaner knocking and walking in (not her fault but she just followed the bit of paper given to her ) but other than that, it's tidy and if you're looking for budget accommodation in National Park, it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank faipula77

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
12.7 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,315 reviews
12.9 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
389 reviews
25.6 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
429 reviews
0.3 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
206 reviews
0.5 km away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#3 of 9 in National Park Village
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover the secrets of the volcanic plateau. Walk the legendary Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Bike the popular 42 Traverse track. Canoe the wilderness of the Whanganui River. Ski the slopes of Mt Ruapehu. Howard's Lodge is the ultimate start for all outdoor adventure in Tongariro National Park, Ruapehu Skifields and Whanganui National Park. The lodge offers a broad variety of accommodation ranging from budget rooms to en-suite rooms. Daily transport to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing and the 42 Traverse Mountain bike track, Rental of ski equipment, tramping boots and walking poles and mountain bikes. Enjoy a fantastic summer experience or an exhilarating winter getaway; we have just what you need. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howards Mountain Lodge

Address: 43-45 Carroll Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Price Range: ₹ 3,723 - ₹ 4,805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howards Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Howards Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howards Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Loft rooms are great for bigger groups own a budget”
 of 5 bubbles PhiliJSoul, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Second floor in main building, mountain view!”
 of 5 bubbles marcusJ965, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed over a quiet period, I would bring ear plugs during busy season as the outside doors were hard to shut quietly :)”
 of 5 bubbles mrskask, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“find another location”
 of 5 bubbles ttlavender2014, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Quad had 2 bunk beds, perfect for friends to share”
 of 5 bubbles 294courtneyf, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay