We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

YHA National Park

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
YHA National Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 81: English reviews
Start your review of YHA National Park
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2017

For a regular YHA customer, I was very much disappointed by my experience. I booked a private room with ensuite. This resulted in a room at the back of the hostel which needed blinds closed as it opened onto a campground and car park. The smell was of mothballs and airfreshner (not a pleasant combination), furniture ratty, bathroom although clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank aussiebeth
2Reception, Front Desk Agent at YHA National Park, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Although we wish you would have come to reception to talk to us about your issues - we could have changed your room to an upper floor room if you had given us the chance. As for the other points about the room, we checked for mold...

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

They have a shuttle the takes you to the crossing and back which is convenient. Plenty of space in the fridge. Short walk to the convenience store. The only thing that was annoying was that the wifi isn't free.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
Reviewed 27 December 2016

We stayed here as we were doing the Tongariro Alpine Crossing ($35 for the return shuttle trip but I believe thats the going rate for most accomodations/tour companies). Overall, the hostel is a tad dated, but it was comfortable for our two night stay. The kitchen is spacious, the bathrooms were clean and there is a lounge room- but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank olivia z
Rabat, Morocco
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

"Perfect for a rainy day!" - as advertised right in their website and flyer. My family of five jogged over in the rain for what we thought would be a morning of fun on the indoor climbing wall despite the dreary weather. Instead, the only two qualified instructors decided it was a perfect time to go shopping. What a bust....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MikeJ88
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

In comparison to the outrageous pricing on everything else in National Park, the YHA was very reasonable for the 4 of us to share a 4person dorm room with on suite bathroom. The rooms aren't super spacious, and are quite bare, but do the job well. Beds were comfortable, bedding provided was warm and clean. The kitchen is nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlinjenkins
Brigg, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Little has changed in 8 years when first visited. A general air of shabbiness reigns, it needs a makeover. Clearly little has been spent on the upkeep. It is, however quite friendly and the location is ideal for access to Tongariro National Park

 Report
Helpful?
Thank threebelltower
Reviewed 14 September 2016

2 large kitchens Family climbing wall for cold days great large rooms friendly staff. Very flexable have stayed many times this season. Warm rooms bedding provided option of your own bathroom. Shuttle service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Had a great time few years ago it was a good place to chill after a long day riding and if you still have the energy go for a climb ;) We ha d our own van so we drove up to the mountain ourselves, just be careful if it snows really hard as you will need your own snow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed just the one night. We booked a double ensuite room. It was suitable for what we needed. The amenities were well stocked and there was plenty of room for us to cook and dine. Was a lot of travellers of all ages there. Staff were informative and helpful. The price was reasonable. Would stay here again when we pass...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al_Colbs
Franz Josef, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 April 2016

When I first arrived there was a slight problem with my room but I asked to change rooms and was updated to a room with less beds and ensuite! Also one of the bunks had a double at the bottom and as I was first in the room I was able to nab the double. Yesss starfish! (Small luxuries!) So...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily G

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
12.3 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,419 reviews
12.4 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
400 reviews
25.3 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
460 reviews
0.3 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
226 reviews
0.5 km away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Magnificent view of volcanoes right from our doorstep. Closest hostel to start of TONGARIRO ALPINE CROSSING with own bus - $ 35 per person return. Most rooms with ensuite bathrooms, off-street parking, internet/Wi-Fi, DOC hut passes. INDOOR CLIMBING HALL 8m high, 55 top rope climbs, beginners - advanced. Transport to Tongariro Northern Circuit, 42 Traverse and other mountain bike trails, free pick up from Intercity bus stop and train station. Whanganui River trips. Bar/restaurant next door. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA National Park

Address: 4 Findlay Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Price Range: ₹ 1,805 - ₹ 2,540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your YHA National Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from YHA National Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Closer to base of Mt Ruapehu Whakapapa Ski Field”
 of 5 bubbles rachelhG707IS, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Should you acquire a private room, ask for the one in front, not the one at the back which shares wall with the TV room.”
 of 5 bubbles automidori, 27 Jul 2015 | Read review
“I booked my room on Travelbug. It was the cheapest way.”
 of 5 bubbles nickaliar1, 2 Jan 2015 | Read review
“If you like a room with a view ask for one facing the mountains!”
 of 5 bubbles 547clarem, 9 Dec 2014 | Read review
“I stayed in room 2, which holds 10 bunks for co-ed travellers. Good amount of storage, decent amount of power outlets to charge your electronics.”
 of 5 bubbles JulyChild, 12 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5