We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Raglan Farmstay

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raglan
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Raglan Farmstay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Raglan Farmstay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 48: English reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Although the farm stay has a beautifull website and they are still actively working to modify the property to a optimal accommodation, the stay was nothing we could have expected. The so called cabins are sheds not much bigger than a 2p bed, a chair and a cupboard. The host wasn't clear of what he expected and he certainly didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joostvb
RaglanFarmstay, Owner at Raglan Farmstay, responded to this review

Hi Joost Thank you for your review and I'm sad that you did not enjoy my place and tried to leave with out paying ! It is my job as a host to balance the requirements of all my guests and although the website clearly states we are not suitable for kids up at the main Farmstay, you did make...

Cambridge, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We had a night away in the double-bed chalet and enjoyed the modest & relaxed nature of the property. Chris made us feel very welcome, and it felt like being at a family bach. Great views, private chalet, help-yourself breakfast - we'll be back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
Christchurch
Reviewed 8 August 2013

With the pigs and chickens in the yard it was like a farm , more like a hobby farm. Many people come to NZ because you can buy some land and have a few animals and live the good life. And there were lots of travellers staying , some doing work like woofing , so they did our breakfast which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaystay
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My partner and I had driven from kerikeri and going by the shots taken, would have been very happy to arrive and relax, but unfortunately it missed the mark. The photos showed an enticing backdrop, warm rooms and a relaxed atmosphere, but these were cleverly shot, and for us, not what we expected. We were met by a girl named...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alf R
RaglanFarmstay, Owner at Raglan Farmstay, responded to this review

Hi Alf This is Chris the owner of the Farmstay, Im so sorry for the bad experience that you had, I would like to offer you a full refund and an extra credit of 2 nights stay usable any time from October 20th onwards as that is when I am back. I have since decided to temporarily close the B&B...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here during Easter 2013. During our first night I remember hearing Chris talk to an older couple and by the sounds of it I made the assumption that they were his parents. Turns out they were guests who had just stayed for a week. Chris treats you properly as a guest and as a friend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mako45
San Diego, California
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Mu husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. The owner was away traveling and the staff caring for the grounds were excellent hosts. They were fun to talk to and provided a great breakfast spread each morning. We stayed in the mountain suite, which has a gorgeous view. The room itself is rather small, but the view makes up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were disappointed by the noise, as this was not a traditional B&B but more a rowdy backpacker commune. We arrived here from Ohope beach and really wanted a quiet, relaxed stay before departing for Auckland. In the owner's absence the house was 'managed' by an unpaid staffer/volunteer who invited his friends over. As it was Saturday evening we thought...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ricardojerome
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed 17 April 2013

My husband, son and a friend all stayed with Chris at his B&B and loved our experience. We were only there for two night and I wish I could have stayed longer. Our son and his friend thought staying in the cabin just off the house was great. We also loved meeting the other visitors while enjoying a glass of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam G
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Travelling with two teenagers and a ten year old isn't all that easy. Staying with Chris was just ideal. Those that wanted to get out of bed, could do so, those that wanted to sleep could stay in bed. We had 1 cabin for mum and dad and the sleepout for the kids. Both were really comfortable and very clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 496MikeH496
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Raglan farmstay is many things ..relaxed, fun, chilled, stylish, intimate and welcoming! Although there are many options for accommodation in Raglan I now find myself turning into this familiar driveway every visit. It begins to feel like home very quickly. Chris is a wonderful host and what i love about this place is that although it is his home, Cris...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Saras H
RaglanFarmstay, Owner at Raglan Farmstay, responded to this review

Saras I have to say it you are one of the most lovely guests (am I allowed to say favorite ?) its been so nice to get to know you over the summer. It is really rewarding to have many guests returning this year, see you soon I hope :) regards Chris

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raglan
34.4 km away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 64 in Hamilton
140 reviews
1.1 km away
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast
1.1 km away
Raglan Sunset Motel
Raglan Sunset Motel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
1.8 km away
Raglan Palm Beach Motel
7.5 km away
Waoku Lodge
Waoku Lodge
#1 of 11 in Raglan
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Raglan Farmhouse offers unique accommodation in the relaxed environment of Te Whare Farm, within walking distance of Raglan township, directly in front of the 50km sign as you arrive. Amazing harbour views await you, where the massive out door living area gives you a picture perfect view of the sun setting across the estuary and behind Mt Karioi. Te Whare Farm is a tolerent and creative place, where we invite people from all walks of life to share and enjoy this piece of paradise with us, Sexism Racism or Homophobia will not be tolerated here ! There is space to retreat in our sheltered garden of old fruit trees or socialize with other guests in our family style living areas, where you can cook up a feed on the BBQ followed by a soak in the 8 person hot tub, all while watching the sun set. Raglan Farmstay is also available to be rented entirely for groups and private functions. Te Whare Farm is not really suitable for young children.Unless you have rented the entire location for the exclusive use of your group. However the Flax Cove Cottage is suitable for children if parents agree to full supervision and responsibility. None of our other rooms up at the main Farmhouse are suitable for young children. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Raglan Farmstay

Address: Te Whare Farm 39 Main Road, Raglan 3225, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Price Range: ₹ 1,921 - ₹ 5,763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Raglan Farmstay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Master bedroom Was awesome”
 of 5 bubbles efcj0hn, 9 Apr 2016 | Read review
“inside the main house is best, cabins are comfy though”
 of 5 bubbles 533davem, 14 Aug 2014 | Read review
“We stayed in the Master Bedroom, it was so beautiful and comfortable!”
 of 5 bubbles AilsaK88, 24 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Its definitely worth booking one of the two rooms in the main farmhouse. However we did have a look about at the other accommodation available. Yes, it may be more basic but it a homestay, not a hotel chain!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Madmax2013, 2 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Stay in the main house by all means”
 of 5 bubbles A5063MMjohnr, 1 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5