We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Riviera Guesthouse and Spa

02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
La Riviera Guesthouse and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 29: English reviews
Start your review of La Riviera Guesthouse and Spa
 Click to rate
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We stayed for two nights at La Riviera, when you arrive and see the beautiful french styled garden you know the rooms are going to be gorgeous. Our room was just that, albeit we did have problems with the water (there was none), so we moved room and then the TV did not work so we moved rooms again, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellehi
izelle82, Owner at La Riviera Guesthouse and Spa, responded to this review

You guys were absolutely amazing. So nice to have you there for 2 days. Sorry for all the hiccups. Although we had to move you around a few times you were so amazing about the whole thing. Love to have you again. Such a pleasure.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 23 December 2016

This is our second stay at La Riviera, having stayed over on our road trip to the Eastern Cape last year as well. It did not disappoint. The rooms are well appointed and the attention to detail (tea and coffee with home baked rusks and nougat) as well as spacious and welcoming. The hostesses are always very accommodating and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Warwickvb v
Nelspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 21 December 2016

We were welcomed by our hostess and shown to our spacious room with 2 large glass doors opening onto the veranda with a view of a small pond. We were pleasantly surprised by the exquisite design and high quality of everything in the room which had a very comfortable bathroom with a shower and an old-fashioned bath. The quality of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HenkJ717
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

As we had got out of our car, we were warmly greeted & welcomed & shown to our room. We arrived at about 6:30pm & as they don't have dinner, we were offered their snack tray which was brought to our room. The tray came filled with all sorts of delicious foods - quiches, chicken wings, an array of cheeses,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen F
Port Alfred, South Africa
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Cannot justify in words the wonderful overnight stay we had at La Rivieria. All the rooms were fully booked out but we were lucky enough to be accommodated in a most exquisite two bedroomed self-contained cottage overlooking a beautiful dam. Luxury at it's very best. We only stayed the night but my wife and I could easily have stayed for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gavinken
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We loved our stay here. A squeaky clean, stylish establishment. Beautiful rooms; spacious and light. Breakfast was superb and served in a coffee/gift shop to die for. This is worth a visit and an excellent stop en route to the Garden Route

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nets1234
Amman, Jordan
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

What a find! Total attention to detail, super clean, friendly service in this beautiful French paradise. Fully stocked kitchen in the cottage, both bedrooms on-suite and very comfortable and beautiful furniture. Beautiful river views and very quiet. Definitely highly recommended if you are visiting Aliwal or pass by.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Esme L
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Service is good and place wonderful. I think breakfast place can be better cause is a bit far from the rooms. On rainy days it can be a real problem. Rooms are clean and the surroundings very tidy. It's worth to be visited again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caleb M
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2016

The rooms are really stunning with stylish furnishing. Coffee and tea with sherry and nougat too! The bathrooms are well designed. The breakfast was delicious served as a buffet with eggs to your choice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian G
Pretoria
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We were 4 family's staying at the guesthouse! The rooms and the chalet were absolutely beautiful! Special care were taken of all our needs! The chalet was fitted with everything needed by our 2 families with young children. We felt "at home" and specially treated by the staff and owner! The breakfasts was lovely, tasteful and the stables atmosphere enhanced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EStruwig

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aliwal North hotels
2.5 km away
Conville Farm B&B
Conville Farm B&B
#4 of 14 in Aliwal North
20 reviews
1.0 km away
The Nest Bed & Breakfast
The Nest Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 14 in Aliwal North
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near La Riviera Guesthouse and Spa

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about La Riviera Guesthouse and Spa

Address: | Uitspanning farm, Aliwal North 9750, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Aliwal North
Price Range: ₹ 5,502 - ₹ 13,429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Riviera Guesthouse and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Riviera Guesthouse and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Riviera Guesthouse and Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from La Riviera Guesthouse and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room is perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles Ellehi, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All of the rooms are wonderful but for a great veranda overlooking the pond choose one of the first 3.”
 of 5 bubbles warwickvbv, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a cottage but the rooms were excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles gavinken, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms lovely”
 of 5 bubbles GillianG494, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The room next to the reception was great”
 of 5 bubbles AustinAloma, 8 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates