We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel Ikeja

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Protea Hotel Ikeja
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel Ikeja
See the most recent reviews
Showing 146: English reviews
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Have stayed at many African hotels in this group over the years - they have evidently recently "sold out" to Marriott. Consistency seems to be the word here - even with the new unit just opening alongside the existing premises. Do not agree with another reviewer that the noise around the hotel is as problematic as indicated in that review....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Muzungu007
PH-Ikeja, General Manager at Protea Hotel Ikeja, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a GUEST review and your additional comments after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Ikeja .Your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities. Your feedback regarding the ground floor toilets by no means reflects the high standard of...

Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

The room cleanliness is excellent. Food consistently out of this world !! Staff professional . Management always makes me feel like home. The gym is well equipped . Very strong presence of security so it makes me feel so safe . 24 hours room service and nothing is too much for them to do . I would highly recommend the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Albert R
PH-Ikeja, General Manager at Protea Hotel Ikeja, responded to this review

Dear Guest, GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotel Ikeja is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete a GUEST review during your stay with us. We were delighted to receive your commendations...

Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

This is the only decent hotel near the International airport and on the mainland. About 10 mins from the airport but pray that you don't encounter traffic or else it could turn in to a hour long ride. Decent rooms. Not too spacious and not too small either. But, the hotel is clean and well maintained compared majority of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevepatta
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Extremely rude waiters, i askes for a bit of lemon juice with my drink and was given lemon slices instead, to squeeze ! ... Got a bottle of soda with rust on the neck of the bottle from the metal cap and waiter refused to change it and instead suggested to wipe it with a paper tissue!! Very noisy old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nahla H
PH-Ikeja, General Manager at Protea Hotel Ikeja, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are in receipt of your GUEST review regarding your stay with us at the Protea Hotel Ikeja . Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, thus assisting us in continually improving our standards. We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the disappointment you experienced due to the service as well as...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 30 November 2016

My husband and I stayed at Protea on Isaac John St. from 11/25 - 11/28 2016 (Rm309) and the service was amazing. My husband and I travel a lot, but we honestly didn't expect to have this level or service, cleanliness of the staff and an overall world-class ambiance. We had shopped around for other hotels, but i was convinced...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank olayb17
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 26 November 2016

I've stayed several nights on a couple of recent occasions while on business in Lagos. When the basics are right in a hotel, what I look for next is a bit of buzz. Even if a hotel does not always get the basics right for some reason, it's nice to be able to give the management the opportunity to fix...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry M
abuja
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

My first stay at this hotel was privately in 2007 I believe, and later on business in 2013. On both occasions I found the property above par. The service was great and the ambience well worth the price (which wasn't cheap). Managed at the time by the Protea Group great attention was paid to detail. The buffet meals always had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank portly_monk
PH-Ikeja, General Manager at Protea Hotel Ikeja, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with us at Protea Hotel Ikeja is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review about your stay with us, and to assure you...

Reviewed 1 November 2016

The hotel has very nice and comfortable standard sized rooms, it has a wide range of food options on the breakfast menu. Very friendly and respectful staff. Great and relaxing ambience overall with ample parking space.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meezboss
PH-Ikeja, General Manager at Protea Hotel Ikeja, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your words of appreciation on your review with TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Protea Hotel Ikeja .We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us....

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I'm crew for a very well known airline and I stay here rather often. I do feel myself as a rather hotel conniousseur!!!! The rooms are lovely, the beds are amazing, the showers (and baths) are some of the best that I've experienced and the staff are 'top notch'. If you ever find yourself in Ikeja, Lagos... I would definately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stevie099
PH-Ikeja, General Manager at Protea Hotel Ikeja, responded to this review

Dear Steve. Thank you for your words of appreciation about your recent stay at Protea Hotel Ikeja. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

I had a great stay at the Protea Hotel - will definitely book to stay here again. The service here was excellent and wifi was reliable. A wide selection of food and a good location. The only downside is the aircon was difficult to control so quite cold at times.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ihe368
PH-Ikeja, General Manager at Protea Hotel Ikeja, responded to this review

Good Day, GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete a tripadvisor during your stay with us, and to assure you that your comments are being...

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ikeja
0.5 km away
Shoregate Hotels
Shoregate Hotels
#2 of 14 in Ikeja
22 reviews
0.1 km away
Renaissance Lagos Ikeja Hotel
0.3 km away
Sheraton Lagos Hotel
Sheraton Lagos Hotel
#14 of 131 in Lagos
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Ikeja Select
19.1 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
4.5 km away
Ibis Lagos Airport
Ibis Lagos Airport
#29 of 131 in Lagos
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The impressive Protea Hotel Ikeja, situated in the government residential area of Ikeja in Lagos, offers guests superb accommodation in a tranquil and safe environment. Get a taste of Nigerian cuisine and continental dishes at our restaurant, which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Feel free to relax next to the pool with one of our idyllic cocktails listening to soft sounds of our three story water feature and, with a 24 hour bar, relaxation has no time limit. Your room will be waiting for you along with the air-conditioning, en suite bathroom, flat screen TV, mini bar and lots more. For the young at heart we offer a fully equipped gymnasium as well as two treatment rooms for those who want to loosen the muscles after a long flight in a more relaxed environment. If shopping is on the cards, visit the Ikeja Shopping Mall, which is a mere 15 minutes from the hotel and will satisfy all of your shopping needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Ikeja

Address: 42 Isacc John St., Ikeja 100271, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Ikeja
Price Range: ₹ 9,490 - ₹ 30,170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Ikeja 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com and Expedia so you can book your Protea Hotel Ikeja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel Ikeja staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Ikeja staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a renovated room”
 of 5 bubbles JLiss, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Odd Numbererd rooms face the pool -so away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles Stevie099, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“inner rooms facing inwards towards the pool .”
 of 5 bubbles merioh, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“best views from most rooms to the pool side , level 2 or 3”
 of 5 bubbles albertr295, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“room 226 pool facing rooms level 2”
  • VIEW OUT OF MY ROOM
 of 5 bubbles farinham2016, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5