Hotel La Omaja

Hotel La Omaja

Apto Postal 6, Merida, Isla de Ometepe 68144 Nicaragua
Waterfall Nearby La Omaja
Traveller (346)
View from La Omaja Restaurant & Bar
Dining (24)
View of Volcano Concepcion
Room & Suite (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 small hotel in Merida
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to the La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant on Ometepe. Situated in the foothills of the Volcano Maderas on the majestic island of Ometepe, La Omaja offers breathtaking views of Lake Nicaragua and the volcanoes Concepción and Maderas. Strategically located in the middle of the Maderas Nature Reserve, La Omaja enjoys easy access to the most intriguing attractions on this hidden Nicaraguan treasure. La Omaja's cabanas and full service bar and restaurant provide a comfortable, secure, and above all else, friendly environment from which to headquarter your stay on Ometepe. Whether you come to relax and enjoy a quiet, romantic getaway or are looking for more adventurous opportunities to hike, kayak, bike or horseback through the Maderas Nature Reserve, La Omaja provides the perfect setting for a memorable vacation. La Omaja is family operated and an active stakeholder in the local island community. Our specially trained staff and guides provide professional and friendly service.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Internet
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
344Reviews10Q+A42Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 254
  • 64
  • 16
  • 9
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
jeroen s wrote a review Jan 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
La Omaja has the best location on the island. The views are really amazing; a sunset with a vulcano as dramatic backdrop cannot be found in many places... The gardens are lush and beatiful as well and the cabana's perfectly placed to give you the most of the views and lots of privacy. Food is good too and the freshly made juices are a real treat and very affordable. You are pretty close to nature and expect a spider or two, but also expect howler monkey's visting up in the trees now and then! It's an easy walk to a lovely pier in the lake where you can watch the birdlife or the stars at night; this is not a swimmimg location, but that can be done nearby. Staff is helpfull in arranging all kinds of activities if you don't have your own transportation.
The pool is a bit smaller than it looks in the pictures but great to watch the sunset. There's excellent wifi at the restaurant, but not at the cabanas.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leen M wrote a review Aug 2023
Turnhout, Belgium
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a good stay at hotel La Omeja. We stayed in cabaña 2 (very spacious for 4 persons).

We saw 1 cockroach in the bathroom, but that's it bugswise. In the morning, we could hear howler monkeys really close.

Beautiful shower, only cold (fresh) water. For breakfast we could choose between a big pancake of gallo pinto with egg, crema and bread.

The view from the swimming pool is breathtaking, a big plus.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anthony wrote a review Dec 2021
Bellingham, Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a great place to stay. Comfortable lodgings. Wonderful food in the restaurant at reasonable prices and very nice people. I can't imagine a better sunset location on the island. We had a great time in Ometepe and this place had a lot to do with it. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: I would have ate hereore often in hindsight. Some of the best food on the island at really...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MsTravelSF wrote a review Dec 2014
San Francisco, California
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at La Omaja for 4 nights. If you plan on staying here, I would strongly suggest you understand the logistics of Isle de Ometepe; and furthermore, the difficulty and isolation of this particular location.

About Ometepe: the northern volcano island (Conception) is where the ferry terminals are located. Most of Conception island has roads. The southern volcano island (Maderas) is less populated and does not have roads built out to most of the towns; La Omaja included. I am an active person who wanted to partake in many activities on Ometepe, so I didn't like the lack of logistics at La Omaja. The roads stop and then a heavy duty 4x4 vehicle is required to get to La Omaja. It will take about 1 to 1.5 hours to get to the hotel from the ferry. The last 3 miles to La Omaja will take 30-40 minutes!! The roads are that bad.

If you stay at the hotel, you would have to retract back on those terrible roads to go on any adventures. These rides are expensive (in Nicaragua standards). La Omaja is really isolated and the roads are terrible, so there is a sense of being stuck at the hotel.

Other Notes: The pool is awesome and the staff was nice. I am not high maintenance, but prepare for the rooms to come with a host of bugs (termites, centipedes, mosquitoes, lizards, ants, and spiders). The rooms aren't sealed well, so basically bugs will be everywhere in the room and you may get eaten alive like I did.

Bottom line: If your ideal vacation is to relax by a pool, La Omaja would be a pretty, isolated location to enjoy. The staff is nice and the hotel looked better than many other spots on the Maderas side of Ometepe. However, if you plan on doing activities on Ometepe, I would recommend the centrally located Santo Domingo location.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Swonn wrote a review Feb 2016
Vancouver, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
La Omaja is a quant little hotel on Ometepe island and a good spot to call home for a couple of nights. The price is great value at $45USD/night for a double room. The whole place is absolutely SPOTLESS. Some of the rooms have a little scuffing around the edges, but they are so clean you could eat off the floor.

The Hotel:
The hotel is a collection of small concrete cabins flanking the pool and main house where the owners and their adorable son's live. The bar, restaurant and pool have incredible views overlooking Nicaragua lake; these include unreal sunsets and a fantastic view of Conception Volcano. It is truly picturesque. The jungle surrounds on all sides and its a very private and relaxing atmosphere overall. There is wildlife, but nothing to note; no bugs save for a few ants and lots of lizards. We saw no undesirable jungle life and at this time of year, not a single mosquito.

The grounds and common areas are very well kept and clean. The pool is smallish, but also clean and in full sun most of the day. It has a nice shallow shelf for little babies and a soaking jetted tub area. If you can handle the sun its really refreshing for a mid day cool off. Equally fabulous for a sunset cocktail.

Food:
The restaurant is pretty average. Decent food though nothing special. Prices are reasonable, beers are cold and cocktails are worth having more than one of. I should mention that if you don't have wheels of some sort the town is a ways off, so stop over on the way through to grab snacks and/or provisions. Once you're here you're limited to what the restaurant serves, which is not extensive but is tasty enough if you're hungry. There is water at the bar free of charge, so bring your water bottle to refill it.

Rooms:
We stayed in a double room, which is basically a double bed in a small room with a bathroom attached. The rooms are very basic with absolutely NO amenities. This is not a bad thing, just something to note if you're looking for a hotel that offers a little more "padding" around the edges. There are no hair dryers, no water in the room, no coffee maker, no barfridge... things like that. The bed is comfortable though, and we did sleep quite well. As mentioned previously, in my opinion the rooms are perfectly adequate if you are looking for something simple for a few days. Anything more than a few days and I think you'd bee looking for a little kitchen or something with a few basics to make drinks etc and keep things cool.
There is AC (noisy but working) and each cabin has a nice little private deck with a great view. Because the rooms are concrete and separate, sound transfer between rooms is basically non-existent. Wifi did not reach our room, but its free in the bar, pool and restaurant area.

Staff:
Are all very accommodating, friendly and speak great English. The service is at Nicaraguan speed, so remember to relax and if you have to ask for a drink a couple of times thats the way it goes. Enjoy the view and chill out while you wait.

All in all I think this is a great hotel and the price is about right for what you get. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to 'rough it' on Ometepe without having to give up too many amenities and still experience the rusticness of the true island style.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Room 8 is the farthest from the main house and has a very private view of the jungle and lake.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GeorgieJR wrote a review May 2014
Newquay, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a difficult review to write because there were a few elements of La Omaja that were great; the views from the restaurant were stunning, the pool refreshing and the horse riding to San Ramon arranged for us by Jamie was the highlight of our stay on Ometepe but my god, the room and food were awful. When we opened the door to cabana 8 after the crawl from the ferry to Omaja I could have cried. The bed sheets were murky, there were the remains of squashed bugs smeared across the walls and a very active ants nest in the sweltering bathroom. When you read that this place is isolated, take heed. You will eat 3 meals a day at the restaurant for the duration of your stay and I'm afraid that we found the menu limited and food of poor quality. La Omaja has the views and location to be a great spot for people who want to be isolated and perhaps aren't terribly interested in seeing too much of the island but with room and food as it was, I really couldn't recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LaOmaja, Owner at Hotel La Omaja
Responded 6 Jun 2014
Thank you Georgie for taking the time to write a review. We at La Omaja pride ourselves on service and we both might have benefitted if you had indicated to me during one of our conversations that your room was not satisfactory, we could have made some effort to better accommodate you. I note that the other hotels you stayed at during you trip to Nicaragua where $150+ a night, so the comparison to our $45 a night room isn't very fair to us, I don't think. To those of you reading this, understand we are an adventure lodge and not a luxury resort or spa, so if that is what you are looking for Ometepe might not be the place for you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GettingStamped wrote a review Aug 2013
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 4 nights here and loved it! The rooms had ice cold AC and HOT HOT showers!! The infinity pool was just what I needed to cool off! They also have a hot tub too. The food was VERY reasonable priced considering the location, and the drinks too. 30C for a beer or rum & coke is great I think. We ate most our meals at the hotel. We hike to the waterfalls, it was 5 hours in total walking from the hotel and back. I would stay here ago for sure without a question!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LaOmaja, Owner at Hotel La Omaja
Responded 4 Dec 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us, we are glad you enjoyed yourselves and appreciate the kind review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BDulle wrote a review Oct 2012
Saskatoon, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
we stayed here in nov 2011 and it was the best place i have ever been in my life. the island is beautiful and la omaja is even nicer fruit trees and flowers everywere. rooms are great couldnt ask for more good beds ac hot shower and a great view from your porch with hammock and chairs. ok so praise to jamie the owner when we stayed here thier was 7 of us a 50 ish couple a 25ish couple with a 7 yearold daughter and 2 25ish guys. jamie took us around the island in his own truck drank moonshine with us at the moonshine lady took his family out with us to eye of the water and the beach visited with us and would spend the evening with us. thank you jammie roxanna and kids for making this such a great place to visit. cant wait to see you in january and try out the new pool
Read more
Date of stay: November 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LaOmaja, Owner at Hotel La Omaja
Responded 27 Nov 2012
I adamantly deny having every drank the moonshine (wink wink)!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ebrock33 wrote a review Oct 2012
Omaha
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent nearly two weeks in Nicaragua in August. We arrived in Managua and traveled to Granada for a day, to Isla de Ometepe, and to the Pacific side at Monteliemar before going back to Managua. We spent to majority of our trip on Isla de Ometepe and stayed the entire time at La Omaja. I had been to Isla de Ometepe about eight years ago but this time I travelled with my wife and three children. The entire trip could not be coined any better than simply an adventure; and centered on it all was La Omaja and its owner Jamie and his wife Roxanna. The hotel is situated on the volcano Maderas hillside several hundred feet above the shore of Lake Nicaragua so the views are gorgeous, particularly at sunset. Our cabana at La Omaja was spacious, with Spanish tiled floors and a covered porch where we could watch the sunsets. The rooms were cleaned every day and perhaps most important, the cabana’s were air conditioned and had hot showers (which after a day of the heat and humidity, were incredibly welcoming).

Jamie and Roxanna were great hosts. Jamie is bilingual so for those who don’t speak Spanish, it really helps to have someone who knows the area and the culture to help out. During our stay they organized day trips to hike to the largest waterfall on the island, kayak the river, and swim at Ojo de Agua, a local spring. Jamie even got a German gent (Harry I believe) who offers horseback riding on the island, to bring a gentle old pony to the hotel and give my kids riding lessons.

The hotel is quiet, with flowering bushes and fruit trees throughout. The open air restaurant/bar is cool and comfortable with a breeze that seems to come off the volcano. They have several local ladies that are around to prepare meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food (particularly the chicken tacos and everything breakfast) were some of the best food I had in Nicaragua. The menu was kind of a mix of local flair and some good classics like spaghetti. One day they made us ham and cheese sandwiches to take with us when we swam at a nearby beach. Perhaps it was because we had been out of the States for a week or so by now, but it was one of the best ham and cheese sandwiches I have ever had.

Some of my favorite moments of our trip were simply sitting in the open air restaurant/bar and having a cerveza, sitting in a hammock and watching my kids play on the hotel grounds with Jamie and Roxanna’s kids, who happen to be similar in age to my own. Our experience in Nicaragua and on Isla de Ometepe was nothing short of wonderful. When we were leaving they were just starting to dig a swimming pool, so we’ll have that to look forward to when my family and I go back to Nicaragua.

You have to keep in mind that you are in Nicaragua. Nothing happens fast, the people are really neat and eager to help you. If you want to be connected via e-mail and what not, it’s difficult. The power goes out unexpectedly. Embrace the unexpected and you will have a great time. I would recommend you stop at La Omaja and see Jamie and his family. They’ll make your stay worthwhile.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LaOmaja, Owner at Hotel La Omaja
Responded 27 Nov 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and certainly hope you will make it back and check out the pool.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mylesfire wrote a review Mar 2009
Austin, Texas
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
my wife and i stayed two nights at la omaja with mixed feelings. one problem i think is that it is so far from the ports. it took more than 90 minutes when we first arrived on ometepe from rivas to get there. and took closer to 2 hours when we returned because our vehicle had to be repaired midway from the terrible road. and the road is quite bad.

another aspect of la omaja is that there is really NADA nearby. i think (but am not sure) if we had stayed at villa paraiso or some other place we passed on the road there would have been some other choices for food or small bodegas or even people to watch and smile. some stimulation. but this place is really isolated. however that is an appeal for some folk. sitting at the open air reception/dining area and looking out on to the lake and enjoying the quietude. the view is really great. I do not know the other spots on the island to compare.

La Omaha has 5 cabanas and the main building which are all elevated high above the road and the edge of the lake, so there is a nice view through the tree tops of the lake. but because of that, the lake is a 10 minute walk down, and there is no beach, just a scrappy looking dock with a pig going through the sand for food. the lodges on the road along the way to la omaja were at lake level and had great looking beaches and amazing sized waves. (some people say the lakeside lodges are buggy but we experienced strong winds when we passed them.) la omaja had no beach, no sand. it was quite uninviting and we didn't even go in the water.

the food was hit and miss. tacos with chicken was really very tasty with a nice sauce inside. the pancakes and bacon were good. but some other dishes were horrible. on the hole, i am not impressed with the food in Nicaragua so expectations have to be tempered, anyway. and it was more expensive than on the mainland for food. That may be consistent with other hotels on Ometepe.

all the major tours are offered thru la omaja including horseback riding and kayaking. they discouraged us from doing the volcano climb (5 hours up and 4 hours down) which is probably right! they offered several variations of horseback tours. if you are inclined, you can keep busy.

the owner is a very easy going american fellow named Jaime who was generous with personal history and observations of nicaragua as an extranjero who married a local gal and started a family. he has two very sweet dogs on the property with wonderful light eyes.

jaime drove us to the waterfall entrance (at no charge). The waterfall is relatively close by and one advantage to being at la omaja. it is worthwhile hike. As a bonus, we got to meet the owner of the property, mr. rene molina. quite a character.

We stayed in cabana #5 which was fine, actually quite large, and cleaned with an antiseptic detergent daily. it was missing light bulbs in the fixture and on the ceiling above the shower and had one unworking electric outlet. referring to an earlier post, one has to wonder how many months or years the toilet paper holder originally fell off and has yet to be repaired. when we asked for a way to hook up the electric fan because the outlet by the bed was busted, they came back within 30 minutes with a power strip and an extension cord, so that problem was quickly fixed. the satellite tv worked worked some of the time (it was very windy).

unfortunately, Jaime, the owner at la omaja, left on our last day to take his american parents to managua airport. Understandable. he put a local gal in charge, but everything fell apart. she was unable to get us a taxi to the ferry or to give us the proper info for the larger, preferred ferries that day. That was very stressful for us, paid up and sitting there with our luggage packed and being told "no caminos." then her local boyfriends came over (because Jaime was absent), got rowdy and throw a pregnant cat against a wall in the hotel. i know there sometimes is indifference to animals in the developing world, but i don't want to see it on my holiday. Management should take care of that.

in the end, you have to decide what to expect for the price point of $45/night and what else is available on Ometepe. it wasn't terrible, but...
Read more
Date of stay: February 2009
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LaOmaja, Owner at Hotel La Omaja
Responded 29 Aug 2012
We are remote, there is not doubt about it, but that is part of the charm. Also we are not a beach hotel, while there is a very nice volcanic sand beach within a 10 minute walk, I think most people get their "beach time" while at San Juan del Sur or the Corn Islands. The Island is more about nature, and in that respect we are smack dab in the middle of it. There is the waterfall, the volcano hike, kayaking in the river Istian, horseback riding through the jungle, petroglyphs, biking and just strolling through town. Also over the course of the last few years, there has been a number of new restaurants and hostels pop up in our area so there are more options for getting out and about if you feel the need. As I mentioned in response to other posts, our cooks have continually matured and bettered themselves and I can honestly say that living here on the island for over 10 years, there isn't any place here that makes me want to go out and eat over the food I have prepared in our own kitchen in terms of price, consistency and quality, with the exception of the Buon Sabor pizza place in Moyogalpa, the guy makes a good pie. The gal mentioned has since been let go. I am an animal lover, as you mention I have 2 dogs and the cat you mentioned is mine as well.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Patty J
Benedita, Portugal104 contributions27 helpful votes
My suggestion Katy S, do like Michele C mentioned. The Omaja team is great and the hotel is far away from the "confusion" and incredible! I really enjoyed it.
Answer from lulubear1000
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi, We paid $30 for the taxi ride (to and from) Ojo de Agua and paid the entrance fee in cordobas separately when we got there (approx $3 per person). We spent approx 3 hours there swimming , had lunch and our driver was waiting to take us back. On the way back we had also arranged for him to stop at Playa Santo Domingo ...again we spend 2-3 hours at the beach and he was waiting to take us back to the hotel. Very flexible and hotel will go out of their way to help! Most of the activity prices ranged from $30-50 usd.
Brittany T asked a question Apr 2017
36 contributions5 helpful votes
How long of a drive is this from Moyogalpa?
Answer from harryhusker
omaha18 contributions2 helpful votes
if you know where you are going it is just over an hours drive.
Answer from LaOmaja
Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua2 contributions
Have since been in contact with you. Sometimes emails get caught up in junk filters or typos on the address. We can also be reached on Facebook
Answer from Cabra
London, United Kingdom239 contributions130 helpful votes
Hi, I see that the hotel answered your question. We did a walk to the falls & the hotel dropped us off & collected us for free. They also dropped us off & collected us when we did the guided kayaking. My husband would have been ok on a scooter - I wouldn't but then I have only been on one a handful of times.
Anthony wrote a tip Dec 2021
Bellingham, Washington49 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would have ate hereore often in hindsight. Some of the best food on the island at really reasonable prices. Beer is pretty cheap too. "
Read full review
Ducks4MBR wrote a tip Mar 2018
17 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We were in the room below the pool area with a porch."
Read full review
bondzee16 wrote a tip Mar 2017
Orillia, Canada9 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms come with a great view."
Read full review
worktotravel14 wrote a tip Jan 2017
Trenton, New Jersey3,360 contributions304 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Any of the delux rooms have amazing views on the hill, overlooking Lake Cocibolca."
Read full review
Jon S wrote a tip Jan 2017
Thornhill, Canada16 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Turning on the air conditioning in the room keeps the lizards out"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Merida area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
la omaja hotel, la omaja resort
LOCATION
NicaraguaRivas DepartmentIsla de OmetepeMerida
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL LA OMAJA (Merida) - Hotel Reviews & Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel La Omaja
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel La Omaja?
Nearby attractions include Volcan Maderas (4.9 km), Cascada de San Ramon (4.0 km), and Playa Santa Cruz (6.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel La Omaja?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel La Omaja?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel La Omaja?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel La Omaja?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Campestre, Pizzeria Mediterranea Bar Ristorante, and El Pital Chocolate Paradise.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel La Omaja?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Hotel La Omaja?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel La Omaja have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.