We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

493 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 487: English reviews
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The buffett food in the restaurant was terrible - uninspiring and luke warm. Ran out of ratatouille, fish was over cooked. Friends on our table said the gammon was very salty. The bar was understocked to the point of silly. No port and no American beer to mix with scotch. Surely these are pretty basic drinks to be able to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_P2468
SarahB190729, Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear Mike_P2468 I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience in our restaurant, during your recent stay. Thank you for providing us with your feedback, which has been passed onto my Head Chef and the Team. Please also accept my apologies that some of the bar drinks you requested were not available. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am a platinum elite member Despite checking a few minutes earlier on the app I was not upgraded to a executive room But then I never am in this hotel in the week What is the policy? The app shows rooms available to be booked, but out of date according to the receptionist Given an ordinary room Why was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank G4750HFRobert_A
SarahB190729, Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear G4750HFRobert_A Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were not allocated an upgraded room during your last stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield. My Team do aim to offer bedroom upgrades to our members where possible during check-in, and these are subject to availability. We have recently refurbished our hotel bedrooms, the majority of... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The whole place seems to be run down and scruffy. Good location just off the motorway but probably the worst Holiday Inn I have stopped in (and have stayed in a fair few). Breakfast not the best either with eggs looking anaemic and meat dripping in fat. Rooms dated and scruffy

Helpful?
1 Thank Pies1976
SarahB190729, Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear Pies1976 Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay at our hotel. Your feedback is appreciated and will be shared with the Team. More 

Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ideally situated just off the M1 Jct 40, first time here for a work trip and would definitely return. Dinner was very good, rooms were spacious and once I worked out how to turn the radiator on, room was very warm, it does have air con for the summer too. Bathroom was spotless with a very modern shower. We did... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex K
SarahB190729, Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear Alex K I am very pleased you had an enjoyable stay here at Wakefield and thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback which I will share with my Team. Please accept my sincere apologies that the tea & coffee sachets were not replenished in your room. Your comments have been passed onto my Housekeeping Manager accordingly. Should... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

booked 7 rooms with breakfast for an overnight company stay and the best I heard was average from my colleagues. The location just off the Motorway was excellent. It's very close to the National Coal Mine Museum which was fantastic

Helpful?
1 Thank russell m
SarahB190729, Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear russell m Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield. We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you and your colleagues to our hotel again soon. More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

From the outside it looks like it needs upgrading but interior is fine. Good standard room. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good location near M1 and Wakefield. WiFi was difficult to log on to but staff sorted quickly. If you have more than 2 devices let them know so they can give you additional access. Breakfast was a good selection.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
SarahB190729, Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear Alan C Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, your feedback is very much appreciated and will be shared with my Team. Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and we hope you will visit us again in the future. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hi, The staff is very polite and do their job, but the breakfast is very noise as usually groups travel and sleep 1 night in the hotel as it is very convenient in the M1. I recommend "Room only" to avoid any hassle.

Helpful?
1 Thank gemignani
SarahB190729, Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear gemignani Thank you for your review and for providing us with your feedback regarding breakfast. Your comments are important to us and will be shared with the Team. We hope you will choose to stay with us again. More 

lancashire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent place for a one night stay.The receptionist on arrival (didn't catch her name) was very quick and proffessional and really nice to chat to she even recommended places to eat apart from the hotel which we went to one of them (Silkwood farm) and it was also excellent. The room was spotless,bathroom very clean,good shower,tea coffee etc,only downside the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank blainscough
SarahB190729, Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear blainscough Thank you for your review and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here at Wakefield and thank you for commending my Receptionist for her customer care and service. Your comments are important to us and will be shared with the whole Team. Thank you for choosing to stay at our... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here as we had a wedding here and overall it was OK, food and drink a bit pricey but it's to be expected but as I work in the hospitality industry I know what's important and that's service and the team I encountered here are great so here it goes firstly I would like to say how fantastic... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
SarahB190729, Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear Chris W Thank you for your 5 Star review and for sharing your lovely comments following your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on our customer service and genuine hospitality here at the Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield and my Team aim to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. Your feedback is very much... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We decided to spend some time around Wakefield and West Yorkshire and chose the Holiday Inn at Ossett as I had stayed here before for business. Unfortunately the Satnav took us through the suburbs of Wakefield with its traffic and lots of traffic lights. Car parking is plentiful and the reception well signed. We had previously booked so checking in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dormouse39
SarahB190729, Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear Dormouse39 Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and will share your feedback with the Team. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again... More 

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ossett
0.2 km away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
179 reviews
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
3.8 km away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel
1.7 km away
The Mews Hotel
The Mews Hotel
#9 of 21 in Wakefield
126 reviews
7.9 km away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 enjoys an excellent location 9 miles south of Leeds City Centre. It is situated off Junction 40, M1 and only 2 Junctions away from M62 Motorway. It is a fantastic base for visiting locations such as Leeds, Sheffield, Bradford or York. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 104 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet Access in all the bedrooms and public areas, and also conference and banqueting facilities for up to 160 people. Our Hotel restaurant, lounge and bar offer tempting dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield has a range of purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances . The hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the National Coal Mining Museum in Wakefield, Xscape Snow Centre in Castleford, the Royal Armouries in Leeds, National Museum of Photography, Film & Television in Bradford, the Yorkshire Sculpture Park or even the Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, the hotel is just 15 minutes drive from the city of Leeds. *Terms and Conditions Apply. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40

Address: Queens Drive, Ossett, Wakefield WF5 9BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Ossett
Price Range: ₹ 4,106 - ₹ 7,612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Wakefield m1, Jct. 40 Hotel Wakefield
Wakefield Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
banchory
over a year ago
banchory
over a year ago
banchory
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Mike_P2468, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“every room seems quite,it is on a quiet road”
 of 5 bubbles blainscough, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The choice is yours; all very similar. Away from public rooms. (Wedding on but little noise).”
 of 5 bubbles Dormouse39, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No rooms have "views" and it's not on a main road.”
 of 5 bubbles MycroftAllan, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Any room not next to a party would be good.”
 of 5 bubbles garymA5495HS, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay