We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hadrian Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 212: English reviews
Start your review of Hadrian Hotel
 Click to rate
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The roast meat we had today was beef and pork. Both tender, which for me is the biggest obstacle! It came with 2 Yorkshire puddings and a nice selection of vegetables. Extra gravy was also available.The service is alway friendly. The food at the Hadrian has always been good. The menu has changed since I saw it last year. There...

Thank YolandaBage
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at Hadrian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear YolandaBage, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of The Hadrian, it is always good to hear people have enjoyed their visit to us. We have noted your point about the pie and shall see what we can add for our Summer menu and yes, you will be pleased to know the new loos...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

We planned this visit with the dog, we weren't expecting the best hotel to be honest. The night before we received an email saying that they were undergoing work, there was a 48hour cancellation policy, so we wouldn't have been able to cancel anyway. We drove up on the morning, went for a walk on hadrians wall so we're a...

Thank Kate F
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at Hadrian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate F, Please do accept our apologies, this is not good enough. We have recently taken on the pub and as such, we do have some teething problems and thank you for bringing this to our attention - we shall do better and again, please accept our apologies. Best wishes, The Hadrian

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

With new chef and owners we tried Sunday lunch. Great food, big dish of fresh veg and excellent value roast beef. Also great cheslese soufflé. Defo worth a visit. Not posh but getting better. Thanks very much.

Thank mpjbells
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at Hadrian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mpjbells, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of The Hadrian, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your Sunday lunch - lots of work going on at the pub so we hope you'll come and see the progress some time soon! Best wishes from The Hadrian

Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Having visited quite a few times in the past I was looking forward to another trip earlier this month. However I was disappointed to see the menu had changed. Previously I had always had a coronation chicken sandwich and chips and was always so impressed with the quantity and quality of the food. I found the new menu much more...

Thank lisadorritt
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at Hadrian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisadorritt, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The Hadrian, we are sorry it couldn't be more positive. Our new menu is a reflection of seasonal, local produce and we take pride in the sourcing, preparing and serving of it. Having acquired the pub at the start of November we did feel some changes were...

Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

After visiting the hotel for years as we loved the home cooked meals, portion sizes and the friendly atmosphere we were so disappointed when we went up last week. The menu had changed and the choice was poor, the prices have been hiked up also. Staff didn't seem to have a clue what they were doing. We were ignored for...

1Thank nicandchar
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at Hadrian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nicandchar, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The Hadrian, we are sorry it couldn't be a more positive one. We recently took the pub over and it has been something of a whirlwind, rather hitting the ground running in the run-up to Christmas. Our staff are always happy to help, though a change or...

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

We met family here to exchange Christmas presents and have Sunday lunch. We had a friendly welcome and the service was really good. All 4 adults chose Sunday roasts, 3 beef and 1 turkey. All hot and fresh with decent accompaniments. At first thought veg portions brought might be small, but not at all they were deceptive. We all finished...

Thank Barbara F
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at Hadrian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barbara F, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review of The Hadrian and also for choosing us as the venue for such an important pre-Christmas event! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. We have lots planned for The Hadrian in 2017 so we do hope we get the...

Wall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

I live in the village and was very sad to see the former landlord leave recently although he still remains in the village happily. We went to try the new menu earlier this week after having been given a tasting by the new manager/executive chef on Friday evening. I had whipped goats cheese with textures of beetroot and my husband...

2Thank Izzyk
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at Hadrian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Izzyk, Wow, praise indeed! Many thanks for leaving such an excellent review of The Hadrian! We are thrilled to hear you and your husband enjoyed your meal with us, goats cheese and all, and thank you also for your tips left for fellow travellers and diners. We shall look forward to seeing you again in future so you can...

Reviewed 31 October 2016

We enjoyed our stay but found not having an ensuite very awkward however the beds were comfortable and we had a lovely view. Good breakfasts but disappointed with the dinner menu. Easy parking and convenient venue.

Thank Trish M
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at Hadrian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trish M, Many thanks for leaving a review of The Hadrian, the hotel has now changed hands and we have changed the ensuite facilities and the menu so hope we might get the chance to welcome you back. Best wishes from The Hadrian

Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Staying nearby for three days walking we used this hotel to grab something to eat at the end of our day. Good choice on the standard menu and a specials board that changed during our visits. Food was tasty and good value exactly what you need after a hike. Safe were great, nice warm welcomes and took time to chat...

Thank Si W
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Four of us stayed here while walking Hadrians Wall. It was the worst accommodation of all our overnight stays; a large crack in our bedroom wall, mould around the bath seal, faulty plumbing, broken toilet seat, etc, etc. The staff were miserable and the food was average. Not recommended.

Thank Tony J

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (31)
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Dining (6)
View from Room (1)
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
1.8 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
647 reviews
5.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Beaumont Hotel
10.3 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.6 km away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#29 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
924 reviews
34.3 km away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
767 reviews
16.4 km away
The Twice Brewed Inn
The Twice Brewed Inn
#14 of 63 in Hexham
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hadrian Hotel

Address: Front Street, Wall, Hexham NE46 4EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Wall
Price Range: ₹ 5,227 - ₹ 6,453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hadrian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Hadrian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadrian Hotel Hexham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hadrian Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hadrian Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quieter rooms are to the rear”
 of 5 bubbles Teesdalepark, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“enjoy the food as its the best bit by miles”
 of 5 bubbles davidN2740TS, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I believe some rooms are en-suite, I would recommend getting one of those it you choose to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 839IanO, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“room V111 had the views but is twin beds and bath & toilet along corridor”
 of 5 bubbles NigelM140, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“go to another establishment”
 of 5 bubbles zogi10, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5