We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all B&B in Hope

Cheshire Cheese Inn

243 reviews
Save
Traveller (57)
Dining (26)
Room & Suite (13)
Similar Hotels
See all Hope Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good20%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“cheshire cheese”(43 reviews)
“the pub”(63 reviews)
“peak district”(27 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
All hotel details
Similar Hotels
See all Hope Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (243)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
163
50
20
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
163
50
20
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscheshire cheesethe pubpeak districtkidney puddingfolk musicvenison haunchpork bellyexcellent beerseasonal vegetablesgreat foodopen firesscampifarmers blondeboth nightswarm welcomefriday eveningate here
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 240 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

A proper traditional country pub wth excellent pies! Really reasonable prices for the size of portions you get, and it's completely dog friendly! Lovely pre or post walk, and about a 20 minute walk from the train station. Definitely worth a visit!

Thank Bekki G
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We enjoyed a very nice pub lunch here with friends. It’s so cosy, a proper traditional English pub with log fires! The landlord was very friendly and helpful, and they have a nice range of local real ales. Will definitely come back.

Thank helidjha
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Three of us had the soufflé starter which had salad with it but no dressing. They didn't even have olive oil! The main courses, fish and beef, were both poor. The former over cooked, the latter tasteless and stringy. The service was fine, the beer...More

Thank Happy_traveller726
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Friendly service Reasonable choice of beers Sensible portion sizes Value for money However - Hot food should be served on hot plates. My main and dessert were on cold plates which spoil any hot meal. Pork belly with no crispy skin at all, it wasjust...More

Thank bewrayer
Response from Rachel B, Marketing at Cheshire Cheese InnResponded 11 December 2017

Hi there Thanks for your feedback which I will pass on to the kitchen. Normally our plates are hot when required, so that's unusual. Sorry you weren't 100% happy with your visit. Rachel

Reviewed 20 November 2017

Visited here at 1230 on a Sunday and were very lucky to get a table.Almost everything reserved which is surely a good sign of quality.Poor landlord was having to turn customers away.We had two roast dinners which were excellent and very filling.This pub is highly...More

1  Thank Anselmo4217
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345648
Similar Hotels
See all Hope Hotels
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 83 - US$ 111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 83 - US$ 111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (57)
Dining (26)
Room & Suite (13)
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Bathroom (7)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
stevepatty53
18 September 2015|
Answer
Response from FlyingScotPaisley | Reviewed this property |
The only way to find that out is to contact the property directly to check availability. I stayed at the Samuel Fox Country Inn and can recommend that for food, comfort and excellent staff.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Room 1 is nice, but a family room."
Read review
"The staff are really friendly and have a variety of rooms catering for varying demands (i.e. cost, size, etc.)"
Read review
"a very old building, there are uneven stairs and floors, that is part of its charm."
Read review
"Book the four poster room"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite