We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Beit al Ras, Zanzibar City 4087 Tanzania
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$88
View deal
Expedia.com
$88
View deal
Trip.com
$74
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/22
Hotels.com$88
Travelocity
Priceline$90
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (279)
Room & Suite (103)
Dining (29)

About

#30 of 77 hotels in Zanzibar City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The hotel has a total of 32 elegantly designed rooms accommodating its guests in well decorated spacious rooms and lounges with ocean view and city view. It is 11 km away from the airport, approximately 20 minutes. The Dhow Restaurant – serving all types of varieties from different cuisines located on the 5th floor of the building.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
189Reviews18Q+A35Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 73
  • 57
  • 25
  • 17
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Craig H wrote a review Oct 2022
Alexandria, Virginia52 contributions33 helpful votes
You need to look for Feelbetter at check in, Mr. Juma as manager, and Dian and Desi at the spa. Incredible customer service and a pristine property. Would definitely recommend and will stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: All rooms are completely soundproofed
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rita C wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Visited this nice hotel during Easter. right from.the moment I sent them an email to inquire about accommodation at the hotel, I got a.resposnse from an employee and the manager. They were very helpful. the room I requested for is exactly what we got. They organised a car to pick us up from the ferry. unfortunately our ferry was late but the driver was very courteous. he kept in touch with us even as we were still travelling on the Ocean. we found him waiting patiently. we got to the hotel and the staff were very welcoming . They welcomed us with a nice delicious glass of Juice. The manager Mr Sudhir was on hand to welcome us. we wanted a late lunch. we ordered something that was not on their menu but they went out of their way to provide it and indeed.they provided it with a smile. the meals are tasty. The manager is hands on. He is doing an amazing Job with this hotel. The room.was beautiful and clean and spacious. I would recommend Golden Tulip Resort zanzibar. Yes I would be back
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudhir Kathait, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded 10 May 2022
Dear W9687LHritac, Thank you for your feedback. It is heart-warming to read about your experience with us and we were able to make your stay enjoyable. We take pride in taking care of our guests and are pleased. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Regards Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort Team,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
adewale s wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
From the day i checked in, i started experiencing issues... first the internet was not working, then the hot water was anything but hot, eventually the water stops. I reported the water issue, it seemed it was fixed but then it stopped again. My partner had to go to take her shower at another hotel where her family was lodged.I asked the manager for a refund equivalent to one day of the 3 days (we paid 180$+ per day) and he only offered a cab drive. There are way better hotels where you will have a better experience for the same amount spent. Best western is easily a better hotel in the same price range. My family stayed in that hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudhir Kathait, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded 9 Feb 2022
Dear adewales, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience and we work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and in your case, you stayed with us for three nights without any complaints, and on your departure day due to an airlock in the water pump which was fixed immediately, you had an inconvenience for which the Manager has apologized and offered a drop-off (complimentary) and you departed after few hours in the same car to the airport. The Manager offered you the best possible compensation though you tried to threaten that if not given a refund you will write the worst possible review of the Hotel. Regards Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Abhi0711 wrote a review Jan 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates350 contributions48 helpful votes
+1
The Hotel is located up north of Stone Town city, approx 6-7 kms. The property is beach facing towards the West Coast, so a perfect place to see the Sunset. Rooms are spacious, with ample sunlight and you can enjoy the sunset right from your window in the living room provided you book the sea facing room. Evening BBQ is really nice and worth the spend. Staff hospitality is at its best , especially the lady at the reception and Hotel Manager - Sudhir. Room amenities are good, have a small kitchen for self cooking too and beds are very comfortable. Only concern is to have transportation for visiting nearby places, but that you can take number from local taxi drivers and bargain, never had any problem in getting taxi from and to the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: If you are looking for reasonable hotel near Stone Town, this is the right place to be. But go...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudhir Kathait, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded 29 Jan 2022
Dear Abhijit W, Thank you for your feedback. It is great and heart-warming to read about your experience with us and we are pleased we were able to make your stay enjoyable. It makes all our hard work and effort worthwhile. We take pride in taking care of our guests and are pleased. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Regards Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort Team,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dinarzad Hassan wrote a review Dec 2021
Mombasa, Kenya4 contributions
Not worth the price at all. I would say its overpriced for high rates. A 5 star hotel in Mombasa is way much in services and cheaper as well. We asked for a Honeymoon Decorum for a day but were told to wait since the room is undergoing cleaning. Came back to a normal room. The restaurant is just overpriced too, we ordered for a mojito but we got dried mint leaves inside it which was not even worthy to have.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudhir Kathait, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded 2 Mar 2022
Dear dinarzadh, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience and we work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If given a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Regards Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marjolein L wrote a review Dec 2021
3 contributions
Nice hotel with beautiful location. Friendly staffs, we love our stay and will definitely come back again. The food was nice, clean room, we highly recommend the place. They had very friendly staffs, always smilling
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudhir Kathait, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded 27 Dec 2021
Dear marjoleinl293, Thank you very much for your feedback. It was indeed a pleasure having you to stay with us at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort. We are happy to know that your expectations were highly met and our staff went above and beyond to give you the best experience. I will surely pass on your feedback to the team. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gilbert.K wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions
My spouse and I had an amazing time in Zanzibar thanks to Golden Tulip resort. We checked in early and the hotel staff took it upon themselves to beautifully decorate our room(401) to celebrate our Honeymoon. Even after we requested for an upgrade to a suite because the travel company had messed up our booking, Hotel staff were exceedingly accomodating and went out of their way to take us from (the already decorated room) into a breathtaking top floor ocean-facing apartment suite (410)! All in less than 15 minutes, this amidst their busy schedule and a full hotel. Everything we asked for, was always handled swiftly and in an individualistic way yet the hotel was full of many other guests -staff are very proffesional. The only thing my spouse pointed out was the lack of a dressing mirror in our suite -which was not a massive issue beacuse there were creative alternatives. In the end, after our checkout, as we boringly waited for our airport transport for 4 hours in the hotel lobby, another staff (management, i think), went out of his way to keep checking on us and was so generous to offer a refreshing cup of coffee that kept us alert for our trip -this was such a kind and timely guesture. We will never forget this hotel, and the marvelous Zanzibar experience that followed, I strongly recomend you check the awesome services at this hotel for yourself if you are ever in Zanzibar, we are not staying anywhere else but Golden Tulip Resort whenever we return. Kazi nzuri Golden Tulip Resort! Gilbert.K
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to a sea-facing suite, its a few dollars added cost.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudhir Kathait, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded 27 Dec 2021
Dear LocationExplorer, Thank you very much for the review. It was indeed a pleasure having you to stay with us at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort. We as a team are happy to know that your expectations were highly met and that our staff and management went above and beyond to give you the best experience. The feedback will surely be passed on to the team. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Husna M wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Really beautiful hotel with Nice facilitys. The service was great everyone was so Nice and welcoming. The food was delicius. Their samosa and coconut chutney was something from another World. Never had such delicius chutney. We couldnt get enough of the food. A special Thanks to the staff for taking so good Care of us and being so polite. We Will defintly come back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudhir Kathait, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded 25 Aug 2021
Dear Husna M, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and your expectations were highly met. I will surely pass on your feedback to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
George L wrote a review Aug 2021
5 contributions
The staff at hotel were excellent. We made good friends with restaurant people. The food was great. We stayed there in a sea facing two bedroom apartment for two weeks. Great value for money. I can suggest that the hotel might improve a bit on the breakfast. There are many non-Muslim guests, so real bacon and maybe some alcoholic beverages can lead to more and longer stays.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudhir Kathait, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded 12 Aug 2021
Dear georgeIF5097CV, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that we were able to make your stay enjoyable. It makes all our hard work and effort worthwhile. We take pride in taking care of our guests and we are very pleased that your expectations were met. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards, Golden Tulip Zanzibar resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
conan j wrote a review Jul 2021
Germany18 contributions18 helpful votes
One of the great exeperience in Zanzibar. Best place, great service, very friendly staff. Food was delicious loved it. The room lovely comfortable and clean, Good security, internet.Good hotel with everything you need.its a wonderful place to visit, highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudhir Kathait, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded 16 Jul 2021
Dear cononjordan, Thank you for your kind review and for choosing to stay with us. We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and your expectations were highly met. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$88 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandZanzibar City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GOLDEN TULIP ZANZIBAR RESORT (Zanzibar City) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort?
Nearby attractions include Aromas of Zanzibar (5.9 km), Cheetah's Rock (5.9 km), and Tangawizi Spice Farm (4.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tangawizi Bistro Zanzibar, Puzzle Coffee Shop, and Taarab Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Christ Church Cathedral (5.9 km), Mkunazini, Urban West, Zanzibar (6.0 km), and House of Wonders (Beit-el-Ajaib) (5.7 km).
Does Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.