We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Newton House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Newton House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

437 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Newton House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 437: English reviews
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016

The welcome was friendly, and the hotel was in a lovely location. Unfortunately afer a lovely motorbike ride to the hotel the weather went against us, and we were unable to explore the grounds or walks. This was ok as we thought we could relax in our room until dinner, unfortunately the room was very cold (room 11) . My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
newtonhouse2015, Manager at Newton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review. Very sorry the you found the room was not warm enough especially after travelling by bike in such terrible weather, in hine sight a portable heater should have been offered to you immediately at reception to which we apologise. We are glad enjoyed the rest of you visit and would like...

Towcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Great location for the local walks which is why we visited, and very obliging we booked through late rooms with a dog attending. This message never got to the hotel, but problem sorted quickly we even got the choice from two rooms. We had cows outside the window, which didn't cause us a problem but I can see that they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarcasticshorty
newtonhouse2015, Manager at Newton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review Newton House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, we have taken your comments on board regarding the breakfast and are looking to improve our options. We look forward to welcoming you and your pooch back soon.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Found all staff extremely friendly and helpful. Stayed for one night had a evening meal which was fine. Walks straight on to the Tissington trail which is ideal for dogs.Breakfast was hearty and nice staff yet again. Could eat in the bar area for dinner and breakfast with the dogs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
newtonhouse2015, Manager at Newton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Linda, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Went for the wowcher deal a one night stay with breakfast a two course meal and bottle of prossecco we checked into a room outside of the main building with the dog the room was a decent size and bed was very comfy .the meal was ok nothing special but pub food and the room was nice where we ate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daveDerbyUk
newtonhouse2015, Manager at Newton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review Newton House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2016

booked this hotel on a voucher as a stop over coming home from Wales it was a great choice the room was nice and warm in fact had to turn heating down it was very comfortable we had a nice meal and a drink in the bar good choice of drinks for a small bar owners were very amiable if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William B
newtonhouse2015, Manager at Newton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review Newton House. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2016

We stayed over the weekend on a Wowcher deal and it backs right onto the Tissington Trail so is perfect for a lovely walk into Ashbourne and surrounding walks, Dovedale etc. The room we had was clean and freshened up each day. The staff were helpful and the bar, dining room and facilities were good. The food was a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank domskidom
newtonhouse2015, Manager at Newton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review Newton House. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2016

We have just returned from an overnight stay on a wowcher deal. The hotel location is great couldn't be better for all the amazing local walks. Unfortuneately that is where the positivity ends. The room itself was very tired needing decorating, the shower leaked all over the floor and that was the best bit, the follwing morning the shower wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank shane-and-colette
newtonhouse2015, Manager at Newton House Hotel, responded to this review

Unfortunately the hotel ran out of our signature chocolate pudding during a busy Saturday night service. Some customers did not react very well to this at the time, nor it would seem afterwards.

Sowerby Bridge
Reviewed 18 February 2016

We stayed here on a Wowcher deal. As other reviewers have said, the 2 men running the place were very friendly and welcoming We were told on arrival that breakfast was a help yourself buffet of cereal and toast and that with some crumpets, fruit and yoghurts was what you got. A cooked breakfast was £5.00 per person extra. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank holidayaddict51
March, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016

I stayed here with my sisters for a birthday celebration on a wowcher deal - the staff were brilliant and very friendly - the barman was great fun and was extremely helpful - the surrounding scenery is beautiful - the Tissington Trail is a pleasant walk leading into Tissington itself with a lovely tearoom & some lovely little shops -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pat S
newtonhouse2015, Manager at Newton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review Newton House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Mayfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Spent 3 nights bed and breakfast here, super king bed very comfortable, bathroom very tiny with saniflo, so loo was noisy and shower hot but don't expect more that a dribble, the breakfast was disappointing, my husband had the English but only once, please do not serve tinned tomatoes its sacrilege when there are plenty of fresh available, the continental...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
newtonhouse2015, Manager at Newton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review Newton House. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, we have taken your comments on board regarding the breakfast and are looking to improve our options, We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Grange
3.5 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
22.5 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,338 reviews
7.4 km away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 km away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
942 reviews
7.5 km away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
305 reviews
34.9 km away
Risley Hall Hotel
Risley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Risley
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newton House is located in the glorious Peak District countryside, with our own direct access to The Tissington Trail. Ideal for walkers, cyclists, and other outdoor enthusiasts, we welcome singles, couples, families, and groups. With a large function room opening out onto our glorious gardens, Newton House is ideal for sole occupancy group hire and events. With easy access to all the prime Peak District attractions, our location is second to none, and an ideal base from which to tour the area. Free onsite parking for residents. Local bus service from door.Wi-Fi available in some areas,reading and information room onsite.Tariffs quoted include Bed & Breakfast per room, and evening meals for groups can be ordered by pre-arrangement. Under new management, we take customer service seriously, and will do our very best to ensure you have an enjoyable, relaxing stay, and will want to return again & again. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Newton House Hotel

Address: Newton House Buxton Road | Ashbourne, Newton Grange, Ashbourne DE6 1NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Newton Grange
Price Range: ₹ 3,919 - ₹ 9,089 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Newton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Newton House Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Gosport, United Kingdom
2 months ago
over a year ago
newark
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Newton House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A room at the back of the building would be much quiteter”
 of 5 bubbles haychcee23, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“didn't have a room”
 of 5 bubbles sall46, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Can be some road noise from a515”
 of 5 bubbles Waccy, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Can hear early morning traffic on the room we were in on the front of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles petero383, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“A room to the rear of the hotel away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles IMB100, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5