We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stone Fountain Motel

Traveller (9)
Room & Suite (8)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Small, family-owned and operated 9-room motel. Open all year. Free breakfast included from May long weekend until Thanksgiving weekend. Situated on almost 7 acres of peaceful country property. Clean, comfortable rooms with satellite TV, fridge, microwave, wi-fi, air conditioning. All rooms are non-smoking.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Budget
57Reviews
14Photos
2Q+A
16Room tips

Reviews

Traveller rating
  • 36
  • 13
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+4
Our family of 4, plus our dog, stayed two nights on Family Day Weekend and we loved it. We've stayed at other motels in the area and could not compare them to the Stone Fountain. We were greeted by Devon at the front desk, who was very friendly and knowledgeable. She gave us
Read more
Response from stonefountain5876, Owner at Stone Fountain Motel
Responded 9 Mar 2018
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Stone Fountain Motel. It is very much appreciated that you have taken the time and effort to inform other travellers of the details of the room, and surrounding property. We're happy that Devyn was helpful to you, too. The beautiful Kawartha Lakes area has much to offer visitors and we hope that you and your family will come back and be our guests again in the future. Once again, thanks for your review and wishing you happy travels.
Read more
My boyfriend and I are musicians and we have stayed in a lot of hotels and motels when playing out of town gigs. We have stayed in many motels that are in terrible shape and in fact usually cringe the told our accommodations are in a motel. But we were pleasantly surprised when
Read more
Response from stonefountain5876, Owner at Stone Fountain Motel
Responded 14 Sep 2017
Mandi and Neal, Thank you so much for your very kind review! It was a pleasure to meet both of you, and we're so glad you had a comfortable stay here. We very much appreciate it when our guests take the time and effort to leave a fair and objective review of our motel. It's nice to know that there are still people like you who appreciate an old-fashioned accommodation that prides itself on service to our customers. We're very glad that we were able to make your stay a good one, and we hope that if you're ever in the area again, you will stay with us. Thanks again, and we wish you happy travels. Susan and Bob
Read more
This motel in the 60's or early 70's was probably an excellent value accommodation. It's clean, with no smells. Excellent water, and heater/air conditioning are definite pluses. Now it's not worth a room rate in excess of $100/night. Water pressure is very low, making showers
Read more
Response from stonefountain5876, Owner at Stone Fountain Motel
Responded 14 Sep 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our motel. We're sorry to hear that you were not completely happy with your stay. Our rates are consistent with the area and the season. We are competitive with those of other accommodations in the Kawarthas in the summer, and feel we give good value for the price. Our jam packets are purchased at the beginning of each season, and I doubt they have a best before date. I'm sorry if you disagree, but have to say that in 21 years, we have never heard this particular complaint before. Thanks again for your input, and we certainly wish you the best in your future travels.
Read more
From the moment you pull into the driveway, you can tell this place needs a lot of work. The rooms are cramped, smelly, and in desperate need of updating, the sink drain smelled like beer. The beds were very softly sprung offering little if any support. While I can understand it
Read more
Response from stonefountain5876, Owner at Stone Fountain Motel
Responded 1 Sep 2017
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations and that you were so unhappy with your stay here. We realize that we can't please everybody, but if we had been rude to you or disturbed your stay in some way, we could understand you leaving negative comments. As that was not the case, it's upsetting that you felt it necessary to post such remarks about our property. We are a small, family-run motel and have always done our best to ensure our guests feel welcome and comfortable. As you can see, we get many positive comments about our property and have many customers who return every year. We feel our prices are competitive for the area and the season, and we offer a nice continental breakfast included with the rates. Should you visit the Kawartha Lakes region again, we do hope you are successful in finding a place that is better suited to you and your family.
Read more
Nice, quiet serene property at the back with private deck. Everything has been thought of in the room and the breakfast area nicely setup with all around finishing touches! My first time staying there and I would definitely go back again.
Read more
Response from stonefountain5876, Owner at Stone Fountain Motel
Responded 30 Aug 2017
Hi Lorraine and thank you for your wonderful review of our motel! This really helps us continue to build our reputation and also assists other travellers when they are looking for a place to stay. We appreciate it very much. It was very nice to meet you, and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay here. We'll look forward to seeing you again if you're ever in the area.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & Suite
External view of Stone Fountain Motel
View of one room at Stone Fountain Motel
View of the private deck out back
Kitchenette amenities
Kitchenette
PreviousNext
12
Stone Fountain Motel in Fenelon Falls, ON Phone: 705-454-2167 Fax: 705-454-0505 Hope this information helps.
0 votes
Hello Allan, Thanks for your interest in our property. You do not mention a date that you would be needing a room, but I will say that right now, we have one large room with two double beds and one smaller room with two twin beds. Rates are $85 and $72, respectively. We do not include breakfast in the winter months, but would be happy to recommend several restaurants in the area that serve a very good breakfast. If you decide to book, please remind me to give you their names. Thanks.
0 votes
"It's pet friendly"
"Don't think one room is any better than another!"
"Any room will do......there are only about 10"
"All rooms have decks out the back."
"Rooms 1 and 2 are larger with a nice ittle private patio with a barbeque"
PreviousNext
1234
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioKawartha LakesFenelon Falls
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing