We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 138: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Somewhat shabby room. The owner was not present and had other hosts working who were not familiar with the area, so they did not offer much assistance. Our room was not cleaned or attended to after the first night. The price was too high for what was offered. Breakfast was okay, but not what prior reviews suggested. We did have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 3flower
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2016

The cabin we stayed in had all the basic amenities that you would need plus free wifi. There was a mix up with our reservation, it seems the person who booked it did not communicate properly to the on site staff. The mix up was sorted out with relatively little difficulty. The mattress was ok, I found it a little... More 

Helpful?
Thank mhmcd
Murwillumbah, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2016

It was very hard to find the Maven Gypsy as there was no road side sign and the street number was on the other side of the road, we were disappointed with the amenities, we think it needs a bit of an update especially at the price we paid. I didn't want a full breakfast and was made to uncomfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank jan52s
ClubIntrawest, Owner at The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages, responded to this review

Hi, and thank you for your response, I hope you had continued wonderful travels to meet your friends in the US. I am truly sorry if I (Marie) offended you when after the granola and fruit you requested toast only. We pride ourselves on a nourishing fresh ingredient breakfast but by no means should we insist that guests enjoy it,... More 

North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2015

A very old house, situated south of Smokey Head, and not an easy place from which to get dinner. Our room was large, curiously furnished with bits of odd antiques, but it was clean and comfortable. It was a bit spooky when we arrived at dusk and the house was all in silent darkness with a note on the door... More 

Helpful?
Thank sandjmat438
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2015

We had booked the Maven Gypsy based on reviews that were mostly quite positive. Our experience was different from the others, and left us disappointed. We had booked two cottages, for two couples. The cottages were clean and had most amenities including wifi. We had a good sleep. However, we were surprised to find that (perhaps on our particular day)... More 

Helpful?
Thank bennymarn
Hamilton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2015

My wife and I stayed for one night at the Maven Gypsy last Wednesday, September 23 -2015, very comfortable and inviting environment. Kevin was the consummate host, very friendly, easy going but very competent in cooking, cleaning and managing the property. A very hard working and conscientious young man who catered to our needs and knows the area very well.... More 

Helpful?
Thank blueberry_boy
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2015 via mobile

This place has a homey touch. It's not pretentious as some bed and breakfasts can be. Nice quilts on the beds and souvenirs from Mexico on the walls. The proprietors are easy to talk to. They were raising quail when we were there. Look for the path to the beach through the field across the road.

Helpful?
Thank GuatadeLapis
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights in late August 2015 and loved their hospitality. Kevin, the manager, was so helpful and we really enjoyed our breakfasts with a view. We arrived from a torrential downpour to a going-away party for the B&B owner. This is not the usual greeting but were we pleasantly surprised and were welcomed to the party.... More 

Helpful?
Thank AHTripper
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Our one-night stay here was fantastic. Our host was gracious and incredibly helpful, letting us make phone calls on her phone and giving us advice about booking a whale-watching tour. We had a single issue with some noise at night, and the problem was dealt with immediately and with great politeness. The breakfast was delicious and watching the hummingbirds whiz... More 

Helpful?
Thank ericelshtain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2015

We had a great stay at the Maven Gypsy, the room was quite comfortable and Kevins breakfasts were very good, make sure that you try his homemade juice. We were in room 3 at the head of the stairs over the kitchen, and waking up to the smell of a homemade breakfast was wonderful. Everyone here was incredibly warm and... More 

Helpful?
Thank ebradk

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wreck Cove
16.0 km away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
12.1 km away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
21.8 km away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
78 reviews
16.0 km away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
43.1 km away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Maven Gypsy B&B and Cottages (formerly Goodwill House) is situated in one of the most scenic areas in Canada. You will be surrounded by untouched, unspoiled wilderness with the ocean just a 5 min walk away. There are four quaint guestrooms in the main house and four detached, self catering cottages with mountain views. Your hosts, Cody and Shain are lifelong hospitality professionals who have traveled and worked all over the world and look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages

Address: 41682 Cabot Trail, Wreck Cove, Nova Scotia BOC 1HO, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Wreck Cove
Price Range: ₹ 6,025 - ₹ 6,178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It is obvious that a lot of work and thoughtfulness went into the unique decor of this inn and the cabins.”
 of 5 bubbles 493maribetha, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles LittleStevieB, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Perhaps eat dinner before arriving because restaurants are about 15-20 minute drive either way, nothing near by.”
 of 5 bubbles blueberry_boy, 27 Sep 2015 | Read review
“We loved Room#1 on 1st floor spacious with en suite.”
 of 5 bubbles EeyoreCA, 12 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Main floor room is big and bright. Only complaint is the shower head drips.”
 of 5 bubbles Brenda201560, 21 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay