We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ardmore Guest Farm

Ardmore Guest Farm | Champagne Valley, Cathkin Park 3340, South Africa
Offers & Announcements
Month of Love Valentines
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Falcon Ridge Bird of Prey Centre
    6.7 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Pool
Reviewed 21 March 2016
Mrs
Home away from home, excellent service, good food, very nice... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ardmore Guest Farm
See the most recent reviews
Showing 151: English reviews
Kempton Park, South Africa
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

Home away from home, excellent service, good food, very nice rooms - spacious and clean - very friendly staff! Beautiful and well kept gardens! Really enjoyed our stay, will recommend to friends and clients!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Esme H
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Ardmore guest farm is in a magnificent setting with plenty of activities around the farm and within a short drive. The food was good and served cheerfully and efficiently. We enjoyed two excellent walks as recommended by staff. Our accommodation (Zebra - mountian-facing unit) was disappointing. The sitting area would benefit from some brighter furniture and curtaining. Only when the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ulendo2015
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 January 2016

This guest farm is spectacular and has great activities all around. The grounds are excellent with a pool, trampoline and tree swing for the kids. The main house hosts dinner and has the most well-stocked honesty bar I've ever seen with TV's, pool table, kid's room and more. My only complaint is that I wanted to go explore the area...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheChrisRay
Mike W, Manager at Ardmore Guest Farm, responded to this review

Hi Chris, Thanks for your review. It's good to know that you enjoyed both the location and our facilities. We certainly don't often have guests leaving the property at night, so please excuse our security guard's confusion. And we would happily have kept the bar open for you had we known you were short a beer or two - next...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

The views from Ardmore are simply spectacular. Coupled with a warm welcome, a relaxed atmosphere and comfortable accommodation, topped off with hearty, delicious country cooking - Ardmore is hard to beat for value. Do as much or as little as you want. Sit on the veranda and take in the splendour of the mountains or visit the many local attractions....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lus4reis
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2015

This was a return visit after 5 years - this time we brought friends. Very friendly and helpful staff who had helped make booking for Boys Choir etc in advance Dinners really good value in really nice dining room. We stayed in the two storey bungalows which are very spacious with lounge and terrace/balcony. Very clean and efficient although perhaps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edwin t
Hillcrest, South Africa
Reviewed 18 December 2015

We enjoyed our 3rd visit to the Farm. Prior visits were always in May(winter and log fires!) but this time it was in November (Summer) and thus very hot. Paul and his team have always made us feel very welcome . The only negative item for us was the 5 KM gravel road as I do not like driving on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John7072
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Reviewed 15 December 2015

We stayed here a few nights to attend the Drakensberg Boys Choir. The accomodations were three-star only. The bed was not comfortable at all. The meals were adequate, but nothing special. All in all we won't be returning. We will look for something with better.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cooperlynx
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2015

Stayed for three nights in November. Very good accommodation very conveniently located for the Drakensburg mountains. We were made to feel very welcome, all the staff were very friendly. Great views from our appartment balcony.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
Richards Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Our accommodation was spacious, clean and comfortable. We could see the mountains from the bedroom and lower verandah. We were able to park the car next to the cottage but there was no shade there. The kids loved the games on the terrace in the lodge: table football, pool and table tennis. They also enjoyed making friends with the dogs,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T6908QPsusanb
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 7 December 2015

The first time was in 1997. For the last 10 Years we have been there four times. Every time somthing changes. It is a beautiful place, nice hosts, excellent landscape. The rooms are beuatiful - some have jacuzzi! A good place to feed your heart and soul!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 80gabi

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cathkin Park
8.2 km away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
711 reviews
4.4 km away
The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
6.8 km away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
46 reviews
28.8 km away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
559 reviews
6.6 km away
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfas...
#1 of 2 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ardmore Guest Farm is situated in the heart of the scenic Champagne Valley in the central Drakensberg mountain range. Here you can enjoy stunning views of the three highest peaks in South Africa; Mafadi (highest peak at 3450m), Injisuti Dome (3410m) and the majestic Champagne Castle (3377m) which are all situated within the World Heritage site. We are surrounded by breathtaking views and fantastic opportunities for hiking and exploring the local area. We also have our won Ardmore Museum and art gallery, and the African Loom weaving centre for those who are interested in local crafts and artwork. We provide comfortable farm style accommodation, with dinner and breakfast included. We have a total of 18 units, situated either in a traditional thatch rondawel or in one of our beautiful mountain facing cottages or garden rooms. All rooms are en-suite with private fireplaces and free firewood. Wake up to a traditional farmhouse breakfast (full english) overlooking Ardmore's extensive gardens. Relax in our pub with a cold drink before joining us for a relaxed four course lantern lit dinner with complimentary wine served in our yellow wood dining room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ardmore Guest Farm

Address: Ardmore Guest Farm | Champagne Valley, Cathkin Park 3340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Cathkin Park
Price Range: ₹ 5,391 - ₹ 6,962 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ardmore Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore Guest Farm Hotel Winterton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ardmore Guest Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It would be best to view the rooms/cottages on their website as their is a good choice available to suit your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles 292daphnev, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The mountain view chalets”
 of 5 bubbles 724suzannel, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“See my comment on 'mountain facing chalet'”
 of 5 bubbles travellingjrr, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the Protea cottage. It had two rooms and two bathrooms, and a spacious lounge with a fire place.”
 of 5 bubbles angelique123105, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Mountain facing rooms are close enough to the dining room yet have magnificent views”
 of 5 bubbles 754sandyh, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5