We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Palliamoola, Payyambalam Beach, Kannur 670008 India
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
Booking.com
StayForLong
FindHotel
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (19)
Pool & Beach (6)
Room & Suite (5)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 03/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sunfun Beach House
Updated 03/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 78 in Kannur
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Car hire
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
24Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 11
  • 6
  • 2
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Discover627654 wrote a review Dec 2021
2 contributions
The place looks a little worn down but offers most of what you would need for a beach-house stay. Great view of the beach, sands mere 20 steps away from the property, and a nice, quite, and calm beach for your pleasure. During my stay, there were hardly any people or crowd to worry about at the beach. Wake up, step into the beach, return to have a homemade breakfast. All works out great. Chandan, the caretaker, is great and super helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Offbeat traveller wrote a review Dec 2020
Bengaluru, India3 contributions
I loved our 2 days here. The beach house is just in front of the payyambalam beach. We were a group of 3 who were traveling for the 1st time since the covid lockdown. Easily accessible and shallow beach was the highlight. Host Vijay is helpful and arranged some bikes for us. All in all a good weekend holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
rguskr wrote a review Jan 2020
Bengaluru, India11 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed in Sunfun beach house for a night in January. Had booked studio room online for Rs 3000 per night. The rooms were very poorly maintained with rooms stinking of smoke, linen were very dirty and fittings like curtains were broken and shabbily maintained. They serve only vegetarian food, which was a surprise for a beach side facility and the food was very bad. The room was next to kitchen where they were playing loud music well in to the night. The location is fantastic. The beach is right across the property and the beach was very neat. There are a lot of better properties in the area, which I would recommend if you are traveling with your family. This is my third trip to kannur. The previous stays at Harris sea shell and Costa malabari were terrific and memorable. Sunfun beach house, unfortunately, was a terrible experience and I will never go back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunfun Beach House, Owner at Sunfun Beach House
Responded 2 Dec 2020
Dear sir, We appreciate your candid feedback. Let me start by apologising for the inconvenience caused. Your review is invaluable to us and we hope to fix every shortcomings pointed by you. Let me address them one by one 1. Rs 3000 Studio room- Dear sir, we are a property with 8 rooms. Unfortunately you had stayed in a room that is not our best. I will also agree that your room rate was high, but that was because you had travelled around the New year's, when the rates are inflated. But we have taken your feedback and renovated all our rooms during the pandemic. New paint, new curtains, new linen. We have especially worked on the room you have mentioned to make sure we avoid such complaints in the future. 2. Food- we understand your disappointment with our food. We have addressed that issue now. We have a fully functional food menu with local seafood delicacies and a variety of other dishes. Finally , I would like to thank you for the constructive feedback that you have given us. It has helped us to improve ourselves to serve you better. I would also like to add a word of appreciation for the way you have written a bad review for a hotel. Non abusive, subjective and constructive. We hope you will give us another opportunity and visit us again. hope to serve you better next time.
Read more
Arnab Das wrote a review Oct 2019
Dehradun, India26 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed here for two nights in one of the suites on first floor. The rooms are quite spacious. The staff is very helpful and always available. The rooms on first floor and above should be preferred for the view. They have a dining area in the balcony.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunfun Beach House, Owner at Sunfun Beach House
Responded 2 Dec 2020
Thanks for the beautiful review sir. Hope to see you soon
Read more
Boby kurian wrote a review Mar 2019
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates3 contributions
I stayed with my friend last 28 the it's a nice stay,staff is friendly specially thanks for mr.vijay he upgrade the room for us,it was very helpful,good view rooms,it's not a big property but there service awsome ,thank y do much for your hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunfun Beach House, Owner at Sunfun Beach House
Responded 2 Dec 2020
Thank you for your kind words. Hope to see you soon
Read more
Nils K wrote a review Mar 2019
Oslo, Norway12 contributions12 helpful votes
So hard to get to this place. Tuk-tuks don't know it and overcharge and arguing. Lots of trash everywhere on beach and road and hotel food was crap. Manager was a big-talker, and not-doer. Many promises. He gave me and g/f a headache. We hide when we see him. Headache. Had to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunfun Beach House, Owner at Sunfun Beach House
Responded 3 Dec 2020
Dear sir, we always try and help our guest. I apologise of I gave you a headache! The trash on the beach and the tuk tuk driver overcharging is not a issue related to my hotel. We have a new restaurant at our property now , so hopefully we can serve you better food next time. Having said that your language is not most desirable sir. You seem like a well traveled person but such foul language dosent is not appreciated.
Read more
H V N K wrote a review Feb 2019
Bengaluru, India20 contributions
Very well located. it is the place if you are looking for a relaxing stay near sea. friendly staff. Good basic amenities. Simple and tasty food. clean rooms and linen. Overall good place and value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
peter r wrote a review Jan 2019
Hanoi, Vietnam168 contributions44 helpful votes
The balcony view is spectacular. Miles from anywhere including restaurants. Need a car. The manager/owner was an annoying egotist. Other guests called him a shyster. Be careful, negotiate hard. In-house food is basic. Unreliable wifi. Electricity blackouts often. Shocking rubbish on the beach and road in front.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Mck-Act wrote a review Nov 2018
Bangalore11 contributions3 helpful votes
The place is clean and neat. Comfortable to stay with family. But the food service needs to be improved. Asking for service at the time of checkout, will lead to the service being ignored. The place is just opposite to the beach.. ideally located for beach lovers.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Tomas Kozohorsky wrote a review Nov 2018
Prague, Czech Republic24 contributions8 helpful votes
We really enjoyed our stay in Sunfun Beach House. This place is situated just few meters from the beautiful and clean beach. It is laidback and chilled place a bit far from Kannur but with motorbike it is not an issue. Vijay (owner) helped us to arrange on. They server very good breakfast. We stayed in Deluxe room with nice balcony facing the beach. Vijay is helpful and generous guy. He helped us to find a temple where we could see Theyyam ritual. We really recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$20 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaKeralaKannur DistrictKannur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunfun Beach House
Which popular attractions are close to Sunfun Beach House?
Nearby attractions include Fort St. Angelos (3.6 km), Payyambalam Beach (4.2 km), and Theyyam (3.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunfun Beach House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, airport transportation, and kids activities.
What food & drink options are available at Sunfun Beach House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Sunfun Beach House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hotel Odhens, Sahib's Grill Kitchen, and Raandhal.
Does Sunfun Beach House have airport transportation?
Yes, Sunfun Beach House offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Sunfun Beach House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort St. Angelos (3.6 km).