We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aquapackers

Show Prices
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abel Tasman National Park
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Aquapackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 89: English reviews
Start your review of Aquapackers
 Click to rate
Calgary
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a great stay here. Great value for money as dinner, bed and breakfast were all supplied. We even enjoyed a swim from the boat. The bed was comfortable and showers warm. There was lots of delicious food for dinner and breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnmJ2594PN
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is fantastic. From arriving on the boat to the breakfast as we were leaving, everything was amazing. This literally made our Abel Tasman trip. Jane & Wade were amazing with us and the hospitality was the best. Tea, coffee, warm showers, comfy bed, huge dinner with plenty of choice and a magnificent breakfast the following day. They both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
Management response:

Thank you for your kind review.

yorkshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Jane and Mark were brilliant hosts and we were made so welcome in their home. We were told before our visit to expect the food to be amazing, and it didn't disappoint. Jane's home made bread was the best thing I ate all trip. The tea and coffee on tap was heaven sent. I had such a good nights sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jt87
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Definitely the most fun, quirky place we have stayed. The hosts are so welcoming and quickly create an inclusive, friendly atmosphere amongst all the guests. Positives: Excellent food and plentiful with lots of choice both at dinner and breakfast. Fresh bedding with comfortable mattresses. Good, hot shower. Unlimited free tea, coffee, hot chocolate available day & night The hosts encourage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephirey
Management response:

Thank you for your review we are very flattered.

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night on Aquapackers boat. Jane and Mark were fantastic hosts picking us up from the beach at 4pm after our kayak trek, offered tea and an immediate swim off the boat followed by a hot shower. Boat is basic but functional. We slept in the bunks just below deck that are cramped but comfortable though you do share...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MHIChris
Management response:

Thank you for your honest and flattering review.

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 18 March 2017

It really is a great experience staying at the Aquapackers. The hosts pick you up at the beach and welcome you on board of their very comfortable houseboat. You can have as much tea and coffee as you wish for and there are two hot showers, one inside and another one on the outer deck. It is great taking a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JV_Travelling
Management response:

Thank you for your review we are new at this and will keep trying to improve.

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Wasn't sure what to expect. Everything exceeded my expectations. It's a lovely boat run by an amazing couple. The food was awesome, great swimming and the dorm rooms were great. It was a nice opportunity to meet people and the couple running it were helpful in every way. I had this recommended to me and in turn I can't recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ash_Katchem
Management response:

Thank you for your honest and very nice comments

Whanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 March 2017

My girlfriend and I spent a night in the Aquabackpackers after a all day kayaking on the Abel Tasman National Park, and it was just amazing! We really appreciated to have a hot shower and a delicious barbecue at night, and meet some nice groups. If you want, you can also jump from the top of the boat, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alexismarcienne
Management response:

We thank you for you review and hope the rest of your travels are safe and enjoyable

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Friendly hosts, very good food and definitely a special and recommendable accommodation for staying in abel Tasman Nationalpark.. We stayed there as part of our three day kajaking tour, and we had a very good time..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elke M
Management response:

Thank you very much for your review.

Rotorua
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed on the boat for one night while doing a three-day walk through the Abel Tasman National Park. Didn't really know what to expect and it was great! We had our own room which was very clean and comfortable and a shared bathroom which got a bit busy in the morning but no real problem. Took in a bottle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MillyRotorua
Management response:

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, Thank you.

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abel Tasman National Park
10.3 km away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
348 reviews
19.9 km away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
259 reviews
10.6 km away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
The Barn
The Barn
#2 of 4 in Marahau
45 reviews
8.8 km away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
184 reviews
13.3 km away
Fraser Highlands Retreat
Fraser Highlands Retreat
#1 of 9 in Abel Tasman National Park
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Aquapackers

Address: The Anchorage Bay, Abel Tasman National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Abel Tasman National Park
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aquapackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room that fits the number of travellers in your group. Best room was the double off the kitchen.”
Stephirey, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“for a couple I'd recommend the stand-alone rooms, but the bunk rooms are still comfy for a family/larger group”
BurntK, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you can afford it the twin or 4 bed cabins are more spacious”
davidwY8092SV, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Dorm rooms for budget travellers, double rooms for a (romantic) room with some more privacy.”
jo_lles928, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were in a 4 person bunk room, there were other room options for couples, etc.”
Alisonxxx, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5