We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank

TripAdvisorUS$ 113*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 113*
US$ 113*
US$ 113*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
See the most recent reviews
Showing 134: English reviews
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2015

Irene and Ewan and flat coated retrievers provided a warm Scottish welcome and made us feel entirely at home. They hosted us royally. The breakfasts were tasty and the epitome of healthy eating - Porridge then Herring, Mackerel or Salmon.( Not a cholesterol laden bacon, sausage & eggs). Bus services (No 49) excellent to the Edinburgh Royal Infirmary where our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 145JulieJ
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2014

Shame I couldn't go in the room when I arrived as it wasn't ready and that I only saw the breakfast menu after breakfast on my last morning. I'm sure the herring is nice but I didn't get to try it! Apart from that it was comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2014

The family and I had a relaxing time at Rathan's guesthouse. Our room was very clean and comfortable for two adults, two children and a small dog. The guesthouse was near the town centre and within a few minutes walk we had access to many restaurants, a grocery store, cash points, and the bus stop that takes you to Edinburgh....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keiraharford
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2014

Arrived here after traveling from Leicester on business and the landlord welcomed me, he was very nice and talkative. The room was lovely and just what I expected.. not too shabby but not too luxurious. As I did only pay £40 for the stay. There was no option for food when booking, but I'm glad that we didn't book this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly A
Mappleborough Green
Reviewed 9 November 2014

I stayed for one night prior to GBAS at Ingliston with one dog The room facilities were excellent with plenty of crate room and, despite being a country girl, the house is set far back from the road so traffic noise and street lights were not an issue for either of us. Mine hosts were charming as were their 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelcasrie
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2014

We enjoyed this stay very much. The bedroom was spacious and, thankfully, quiet. The beds were very comfy. Breakfast was delicious with hot chocolate and coconut snowballs for afters. It was a short walk from a bus stop into Edinburgh and the owner recommended two excellent restaurants for dinner. We would stay again and would recommend this to others.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cecilia12014
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2014

I stayed here with my husband for a work trip in July 2014. The room and facilities were excellent and comfy but I was shouted at for going through the wrong door (not obvious) and was told breakfast could only be at 8:30. When I said I had a meeting at 8.30, the owner suggested I change the meeting. He...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Daleswoman
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this review

Couple of points. On 1 October we changed our pricing to charge separately for bed and for breakfast. Now you would not be charged for a breakfast you did not have. House fire/2 parents in law hospitalised -smoke inhilation - need for immediate heart bypass op- Irene's parents homeless for 6 months- looking after dementia suffering dad-in law - who...

Papendrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 29 October 2014

People checking my review will notice that I mostly write positive reviews. If something is poor, I try to write it down as room for improvement. I seldom give a low rating. But I would lie to myself if I give an higher rating. We stayed several times in a B&B in the area of Dalkeith. One of the competitors...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pa3ddg
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this review

I am sorry we did not please. We really shall try to do better. On tips. I don't accept tips. It is pleasing when my excellent staff support is appreciated by a small tip. On internet charge....we have unlimited provision and spent £700 on room internet connection improvements so £1 charge seems reasonable. You are right about communication. I had...

Ocean View, Delaware
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Our stay at the Rathan House B & B was very enjoyable. Irenie and Ewan were excellent hosts. They were both very helpful. The house is located on the bus route into Edinburgh which made for easy access to all that Edinburgh has to offer. Thank you for a memorable visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gery and Trudy F
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 September 2014

Three kiwis on road trip had to visit Scotland and that means Edinburgh. Ideal place to stay....great experience and fantastic hosts. We stayed three nights and accommodation suited us perfectly...shared room was no problem...great Scottish breakfasts with so many options..so we tried most of them.. delightful host who was full of everything Scottish , and was so helpful on all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 416Mary

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalkeith
1.0 km away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
943 reviews
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
0.8 km away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalkeith
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,321 reviews
4.7 km away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
2.0 km away
The Sun Inn
The Sun Inn
#2 of 5 in Dalkeith
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BUS ( no. 3) to Edinburgh Royal Mile - 24 hra ( every 7 mins weekdays) from Rathan House driveway. Cost £1.50/ bus journey.Family Rooms - 2 doubles 3 twin 1 single 1 ( all ensuite)Airport ( 12 miles...95% dual carriageway) 16 minutesFamily holiday oriented upmarket Scottish Tourist Board quality rated 4 star guesthouse - with Parking in the Grounds - set in the leafy Eskbank conservation area with large sheltered peaceful 3/4 acres beautiful walled garden - with a croquet lawn. In an ideal location for park and ride to Edinburgh Scotland. . 7 all en-suite rooms with great memory foam medium firm mattresses. 1 very large and 1 smaller family room. 3 doubles and 1 twin . Near to Dalhousie Castle, Roslin Chapel, Dalkeith palace Adventure Playground and Country park & The Butterfly Farm. Well behaved dogs welcome. 13 Miles from Edinburgh Airport - along A720 (dual carriageway) making Dalkeith a great base for getting quickly to and from the airport for an Edinburgh fly/drive visit. It is also true that the road route into/out of Edinburgh is quicker than from any other direction. There are 6 restaurants/pubs within 2-5 min walk. 1 excellent - ITIHAAS - is 140 yds away. Bus runs every 10 mins to central Edinburgh from stop 30 meters from the driveway. Edinburgh Airport is a 14 minutes drive - 90% of which is dual carriageway...which makes Dalkeith a great base for Flydrive Edinburgh visits. Breakfasts:-Edwardian/ Highland in style - 10 cooked options including 5 seafood dishes - 3 courses - the opposite of an Ulster Fry. Signature dish - "Spealtragan" which few will have tasted. Curious? Let the fairy pipers DE-STRESS you at Rathan House in Eskbank! Dalkeith EH22 3BH ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank

Address: 45 Eskbank Road | Eskbank, Dalkeith EH22 3BH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Dalkeith
Price Range: ₹ 6,312 - ₹ 9,136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathan House - The Guesthouse At Eskbank United Kingdom/UK - Dalkeith
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wonderful, huge room that included a bunk bed for kids. It had doors that opened to a beautiful, large Scotland garden/backyard and patio!”
  • Huge room with Queen bed and bunk beds and access to backyard and patio!
britci, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are extremely clean and comfortable!”
772juanpablod, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“"Back bedroom overlooking the garden/ grounds as the sun rises"”
kittycoo65, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“It's good to have a view over the lovely and long back garden.”
SeanLang, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Garden view”
travellingperson2016, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 113* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 113
PricelineUS$ 113
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates