We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bettystown
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 262: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Just perfect. A great choice for the family. Beautiful location a few feet from the sand and the sea. Liz and Roger's welcome and the team makes this a wonderful holiday. Would highly recommend to all. Thatcher's Rest is closest to the sea but they are all very comfortable. Beach towels are provided as well as buckets and spades for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kellie M
00353419828104, Owner at The Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Kellie, Thank you for you for taking the time to post that great review for us all here at The Cottages. Hope you are settled back in at home and having as good an autumn as we are here in Ireland. Looking forward to having you back with us sometime again. With warm regards Roger, Liz and all the...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just returned from an excellent week at the cottages. Roger, Liz and the team made us feel very welcome and couldn't do enough for us. Help was at hand when our car broke down and when I accidentally left my wedding ring behind, it was sent on to me by secure post, no fuss. Rose cottage was like a home...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glen c
00353419828104, Owner at The Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Glen, Happy your ring arrived, am sure you were both relieved to have it back safe and sound. Great you had a good holiday in Ireland and that you were so pleased with your stay at The Cottages. Thank you for posting such a glowing review, it's always good to have feed back from our guests it reassures us...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just returned from a lovely relaxing few days at garden cottage. We have stayed at the cottages 3 years ago and it was lovely to return to find everything was just as wonderful and peaceful as before. We were welcomed back like old friends and greeted by Mel with the homemade scones which are just what you need...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Littlejosh
00353419828104, Owner at The Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Little Josh, and Mum and Dad of course! Thank you for that great review! It's wonderful you had such a great holiday in Garden Cottage, we are looking forward to having you back again with us soon. With warm regards from Roger, Liz and all the Team.

Ferrara, Italy
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed there only for one week, but we will never forget the emotion of eating looking the sea. Cottage very nice and confortable. Sensation to be at home. Meal has been so kind with us. I hope from heart that we will come there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stefania35
00353419828104, Owner at The Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Stefania, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your holiday in Ireland. We are delighted that you felt so at home in Thatcher's Rest Cottage and had such a good time. We look forward to welcoming you all back some time in the future. Warm regards Roger, Liz and all the Team.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Our family of five stayed at the Cottages and think of it as one our most favorite trips ever! The photos do not do justice to the location right on the beach and the warm and elegantly decorated cottage... We were greeted by the owner with warm, homemade scones and tea! The location was a perfect oasis to return to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
00353419828104, Owner at The Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Colleen, Delighted that The Cottages ticked all the boxes for you and that you all made great memories in Ireland. Hope you are having a really good summer in Philly, looking forward to having you back with us next trip. Warm regards, Roger, Liz and All the Team

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The on-line pictures do not do justice to this gem. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay at the Thatcher's Rest cottage. The cottage was spotless and there was nothing we lacked. Every detail is thought of. We walked barefoot down to the beach, walked down the beach to nearby restaurants. Easy drive to Dublin and other local places of interest. Can't...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank pwrenn
00353419828104, Owner at The Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Patricia, Thanks for that excellent review we're delighted you had such a good time staying in Thatcher's Rest Cottage. Looking forward to having you back with us another time! It was great to meet you all, give our best to Dad Casey, Matthew, Delaney and Ryan. Hope you have a good rest of summer in Texas. All the best...

Austin
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Liz welcomed me with scones and hot tea as I arrived, the cottages were all I hoped they would be. A pleasurable cozy escape from my busy world. The ocean right outside my window, a white bench up on a hill of flowers overlooking the waves, I fell asleep sitting on the soft grass overlooking the ocean. Liz is brilliant...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BaryInspired
00353419828104, Owner at The Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Amanda, Thanks you for posting that great review! Delighted you have such great memories of your stay in The Apple Loft Cottage it's special for us and all the Team here at The Cottages to know that you had a great holiday. All the Best Roger and Liz.

Lebanon, New Hampshire
Reviewed 3 March 2014

What a wonderful stay. The cottages are so cute and cozy. The staff is more than helpful even giving you tips on what sites to see. The price is up there but worth it completely. You can walk right along the beach to Bettystown and pick up groceries for your stay. The Rose Cottage was perfect for the three of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Emily B
00353419828104, Owner at The Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Emily, Belated thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Rose Cottage, delighted you Girls and Mom had such a great time, hope you are all being Creative and having a great summer. Look forward to having you back with us again in the future. Warm regards Roger, Liz and All the Team!

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Seriously ....this is just an amazing cottage complex, an Oasis .... our cottage [Little Orchard] was lovely, high quality, spacious, clean, warm, well equipped. Stunning view to the sea. The location is incredible, a pass coded gate lets you straight out onto a practically deserted stretch of sand - many kilometres. You can walk up the beach to Bettystown and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SimonHagger
00353419828104, Owner at The Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Simon, Great review, Thank You! Wonderful that you had such a good Halloween break in Little Orchard Cottage. We loved your Pumpkin carving and your great photos, such a creative family!!!! See you again sometime we hope. All the best, Roger, Liz and all the Team.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was our second vista to the Cottages and it was even better than the first time (which was perfect). Beautiful cottages with everything you need for a wonderful stay. When we arrived there was hot tea and fresh scones waiting for us in the kitchen. The staff is lovely and very helpful and friendly. We were told about several...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jmarkent
00353419828104, Owner at The Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Julie, It was wonderful to meet you all and have your stay with us in Rose Cottage. You were great, you got to do so many of the excellent activities every day and what a bonus to back the winner of the Grand National at Fairy house on Easter Mondayl!!! Hope you are all settled back in at home,...

150 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bettystown
7.1 km away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
1,071 reviews
3.8 km away
The Glenside Hotel
The Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
221 reviews
6.2 km away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.5 km away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
33.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
1.5 km away
Tara House
Tara House
#1 of 2 in Laytown
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
5 Star Luxury Thatched Seaside Holiday Cottages on Ireland's East Coast. Private, gated, hamlet-like setting directly on 6 miles of sandy beach. Explore the mysterious and ancient beauty of the Boyne Valley with easy access to Dublin City. Dublin Airport is just 25 minutes away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cottages

Address: Coast Rd, Bettystown, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Bettystown
Price Range: ₹ 8,708 - ₹ 78,371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Cottages Hotel Bettystown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cottages staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cottages are right on the Beach, great for Kids”
 of 5 bubbles gordond52, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Fantastic accommodation ”
 of 5 bubbles K9486SZangelac, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Honeymoon Cottage is a cosy, 2-person cottage that caters to your every need!”
 of 5 bubbles ThOtte, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Perfectly sized room for a couple - felt like home!”
 of 5 bubbles 442brendan, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Since there's no table and chairs to eat, only the bar, I'd find it umcomfortable having meals in a group of more than 2 people.”
 of 5 bubbles 758janiner, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5