We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls

Booking.comUS$ 60*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
See the most recent reviews
Showing 159: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 November 2015

We stayed here on a really cold wet evening, after a day of extraordinarily high winds along the coastline, and this place was such a pleasant surprise when we were starting to wonder if we'd be able to find anywhere for the night. The young staff were very friendly, helpful and so enthusiastic about the place and its history. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marianne K
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

We found this to be one of the most expensive campsites we stayed in ($50 a night) but also the worst quality in terms of facilities - the toilets were unisex, old and there were only 3, and the laundry machines were outside. Annoyingly lots of people turned up after the office shut and disappeared early in the morning so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beckie E
ISPIDunedin, Manager at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. You made a few points that I would like to address in your review to help you and others understand our establishment more. We here at the Whistling Frog Cafe, Bar and Resort were established in 2004 with the theme of being an eco-friendly holiday park/ resort....

Sydney
Reviewed 12 October 2015

We had been to the beautiful McLean Falls and it was the end of the day and dark. We started to worry about where we would eat/sleep,as we didn't fancy a long drive. Then in the middle of nowhere we found this fabulous Holiday Park. We thought it would be fairly ordinary,but we were so surprised to get an almost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annarosabaker
ISPIDunedin, Manager at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us and share the great news with others. We do our best to go above and beyond for our guests and am glad we could accommodate you on every level. The chalets are our most recent addition to our resort, giving visitors a more luxurious and romantic experience....

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in a powered campervan site with 2 friends. We were checked-in by a polite and helpful American lady who went over all the great walks and sights in the local area with us as well as informing us about their bar/restaurant and happy hour (which we made the most of!), we also had free wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samotha94
ISPIDunedin, Manager at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about us at The Whistling Frog. It was great having you ladies stay with us and you made the most of all the facilities and services we have to offer. Wifi is one of those must haves when travelling and being such a hard thing to find (especially for free) can...

Wynyard, Australia
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We arrived late afternoon after a cold and long day and were greeted with a warm and friendly smile as well as a warm wood heater. We stayed here in a campervan and were advised of there happy hour and meal options at the Whistling frog cafe which part of the holiday park. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tredricho
ISPIDunedin, Manager at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for writing a review for us, we are so glad you could spend the night in our holiday park and take advantage of our great restaurant and happy hour specials! Convenience is key when it comes to travelling, that's why we are positioned in the heart of it all! We hope to have you join us again...

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 16 August 2015

Our stay was late July WINTER!!!! Room was cold, heating not sufficient for Winter in NZ. Shower didn't have hot water. Manager EXTREMELY RUDE. I quote "maybe its best you leave then" we just wanted to be warm! not too much to ask. We even got charged for leaving a day early. Care factor of Management is a huge big...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nicole D
ISPIDunedin, Manager at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Hello Nicole, I have been waiting for your review on Trip Advisor since threatening us with one a few weeks ago. We were very friendly and welcoming upon you and your husbands arrival, and asked you to notify us if there was anything we could do to make your stay more comfortable. Your heaters had been turned on the previous...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 July 2015

We stayed here for two nights recently in a campervan, the second night unplanned but we got snowed in. Can't comment on the rooms, but the bathroom facilities were clean, if basic, with unlimited hot showers. There is also a kitchen and tv room. The setting is beautiful, with large plantings of harakeke (native flax) separating the powered sites. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pauashel
Colyton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2015

The price and location of this campsite are great. The cost includes free hot showers, and wifi, there is also a cafe on site. On arriving at the site we planned on cooking our dinner, but unfortunately could not find the kitchen, we were also not provided with a map of the site. In the morning i did find the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaLetten
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 May 2015

We booked 2 nights and loved it so much we stayed an extra night. Loved that our dog was welcome, the cafe was such a bonus and the food fantastic. Really nice atmosphere, very friendly owners and the chalet, although a little more than we planned on spending, was so nice with it's little veranda, that it was worth it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bubblynz
Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 May 2015

Two of us stayed in a motel unit near the road. We chose the location so we could get good access to both ends of the Caitlin's. We had a good nights sleep but the room was really small, dark and so out of date. The prices were too much for the room. It was really an old cabin with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whymiss
ISPIDunedin, Manager at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for writing us a review 5 months after staying with us. It seems like you have stayed in one of our "Historical Motel Ensuites" which was built in the 1980s as stated. If you wanted to stay in something more 'modern' then we do have our luxury one bedroom chalets available, which are very new and modern....

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaslands
28.1 km away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
50 reviews
28.3 km away
Thomas's Catlins Lodge And Camp Ground
30.6 km away
Catlins Newhaven Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.8 km away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
17.3 km away
Waikava Harbour View
Waikava Harbour View
#1 of 2 in Waikawa
103 reviews
20.9 km away
Catlins River Ridge Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Central Catlins location, next to the Cathedral Caves & McLean Falls. Accommodation ranges from private cabins to self-contained chalets and cottages, RV & tent sites, suiting everyone's needs and budget. Meals, coffee and craft beers are available within the complex at the acclaimed 'Whistling Frog Cafe & Bar,' offering all day dining and evening meals. One of the few places in the Catlins that offers such amenities and convenience. Ideal for couples, families, tours and groups. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls

Address: 9 Rewcastle Road | off Chaslands Highway, Chaslands 9586, New Zealand (Formerly McLean Falls Motels & Holiday Park)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Chaslands
Price Range: ₹ 3,770 - ₹ 7,768 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We chose a simple cabin, super quite”
michelleskinz, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid staying in a motel room if you want don't want to hear the neighbours”
jmW6290DW, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The motels rooms are nice with ensute. there is a well set up communal kithen. But the chalets are all self contained and very special”
361micks, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“instead of a motel unit, perhaps a villa is better value”
604roberth, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Standard cabins are lovely, number 5 is closest to the shower block!”
AdamJ725, 3 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 60* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 60
Expedia.comUS$ 100
Priceline
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates