We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Hartington Hall

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA Hartington Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for YHA Hartington Hall
See the most recent reviews
Showing 264: English reviews
Burton on Trent
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Circa 70 of us came here for 2 days & 1 night for our annual xmas gathering. We've done various locations in the past, usually at hotels etc. but this was a great location. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The hall itself is gorgeous, stunning views and good facilities. We had a variety of bunk rooms, twins and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The_Simnetts
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your lovely review. I am so happy to here that you had such a great time here. The hostel really does lend itself to large gatherings whether that's conferences or parties and in your case both! We would love to host your annual event/s again in the future. You'll have to come and visit us...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Heating came on at various times in the rooms, very unnecessary to be on overnight. Everyone we spoke to had windows open o/n as too hot, as we did. Ideally in the morning from 7am for 1-2hours and then in the afternoon from 4ish. A great location for walking, lovely evenings by the fire. Maps for walking great, but when...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarah_capon
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hostel. I am glad that on whole you had a good stay. With the building being so old we do sometimes have problems with the heating but this, along side the refurbishment of our self catering kitchen will be fixed. We do have timers for the heating, which...

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017

A great experience from checking in through to departure 4 days later. All the staff team were polite and very helpful with a range of questions I had. Superb quality food at a reasonable price, well cared for buildings and gardens(given the time of year!)

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank martinfox44
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, I will pass this on to all of our staff. Hope to see you again soon!

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We have been using Hartington Hall Youth Hostel for many years as we bring Y12 away on retreat for a week with the Hallam Youth Ministry team. The hostel has always been flexible, which is essential for a school group of this size. This year we were provided with 31 campbeds in order to take all those in Y12 who...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisbteacher
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay again. The new system for clearing down with larger groups really does work and I am happy to hear that worked in your favour too. We hope that you will return again this year!

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Another lovely stay at Hartington Hall. 3 families, friendly welcome, a windy bike ride along the Tissington Trail and gossip around the fire. A slightly bizarre acting Christmas tree...sure there was a rational explanation :) Perfect start to 2017, thank you. We will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. I am happy to hear that this isn't the first time that you have stayed with us and enjoyed it! We have had some windy days recently, if you haven't already you should try the Manifold trail, also close by but a little more sheltered. The Christmas tree in the entrance hall did have...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016

We needed a place to stay for our annual gathering which usually takes place in fairly swish city centre type apartments so this was a real break from the norm and we all loved it. The rooms, bedding, etc were all clean and tidy. I felt the top bunks were slightly more comfy but that will no doubt vary from...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cakeforbreakfast
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review. I am really pleased you had a great stay. I will pass on to the housekeeping staff how pleased you were with the cleanliness, and to our Reception staff for the good feedback. Our heating is temperamental, and the radiator in the dining room is a fine line...

Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here one night as a half way point to meet friends from Manchester. Great place and very reasonably priced. Excellent circular walk from the hostel too. Great facilities for kids too. Would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do have something for everyone here, from great walking paths seconds away to games that can be played indoors and out. We hope that you and your friends will stay with us again the next time you meet!

Whitstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

This house is beautiful. We arrived in the rain, dark, bit scary. But the house was lovely, the welcome at reception was great. Lovely lounge to hunker down in on sofas with a glass of wine. Shame the fires weren't working, as they were being refurbished, but all was great. Beds were comfortable compared to some of the YHA places....

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruthiebon
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! We are very much looking forward to having our fires fixed especially with winter upon us. Shame about the weather but unfortunately that's beyond our control, you did come at a very beautiful time of year though and we hope that you come again! Thank you...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

This is a beautiful hostel to stay located right in the heart of Hartington with a lovely pub, tea room, shops and even it's own cheese shop - delicious!! No logs fire were working on our stay shame but lucky as we was up on a attic room that was very stuffy and had to have our very small window...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sash54
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay so much and can only apologise about our log fires of which we aim to get back up and roaring as soon as possible! We will always do what we can to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible whether that is turning...

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

The food and bar service leave a lot be desired they are right next too each other bar / hot food dispenser and it is madness to say the least at busy times. We abandoned our meal due to the wait and went to village pub one occasion and on another we stuck it out to wait in the meal...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sparky659
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that at very busy times there are sometimes longer waits at the bar and we always manage this in the most effective way that we can. However, we are currently putting plans together to redesign this area and can only apologise that your experience on this occasion wasn't a positive one. If...

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
0.4 km away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
853 reviews
9.6 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
9.7 km away
YHA Ilam Hall
YHA Ilam Hall
#1 of 2 in Ilam
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 km away
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
18.6 km away
YHA Eyam
YHA Eyam
#2 of 2 in Eyam
58 reviews
12.7 km away
Staden Grange
Staden Grange
#3 of 18 in Buxton
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Log fires, oak panelling and adventure playground - all make this 17th century manor house perfect for weekend breaks in Derbyshire. Did you know that Bonnie Prince Charlie even slept here? The hostel is in a lovely, unspoilt area - great for activity breaks, walking holidays and cycling holidays. Use this great accommodation as a base to explore Alton Towers and Chatsworth House nearby. If you're looking at wedding venues in Derbyshire, you can get married at YHA Hartington Hall, have the hall as a magnificent backdrop to your photos, and then stay in our self-contained suite 'The Roost'. Don't miss the pets area and games room - great for family fun. Good home-cooked meals are available in our restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Hartington Hall

Address: Hall Bank, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Price Range: ₹ 2,238 - ₹ 4,725 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Hartington Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld and LateRooms so you can book your YHA Hartington Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartington Hall Hotel Hartington
YHA Hartington Hall Peak District National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Hartington Hall staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Hartington Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring Ear Plugs”
Gorwydd, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“One right away from the main building. Don't forget those ear plugs!”
2oldfarts, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“"The Barn" is separate from the main building and is a little more peaceful. Hartington Hall has a preserved history plus modern amenities.”
, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I stayed on the 3rd floor (top floor) and the room was much larger than other rooms that my friends stayed in.”
massimopB8879NY, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The Roost was ideal for us - bedroom, bathroom and kitchen/lounge area.”
R_C_2014SA, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5