We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Blue Moon B & B

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Motueka
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Blue Moon B & B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 39: English reviews
Start your review of The Blue Moon B & B
 Click to rate
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 13 May 2015

The Blue Moon B&B is gem of an accommodation. We (my wife Sanchita and I) were in New Zealand for 15 days. We covered most of both the islands and stayed at various accommodations which included hotels, serviced apartments, motels, huts and B&Bs... and then there was The Blue Moon. It was the best of all the properties. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VikasYadav1211
Jane B, Owner at The Blue Moon B & B, responded to this review

Thank you Vikas for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, it's so nice when people really enjoy their stay as much as you have. Thank you also for sharing your photos. It was a pleasure to meet you and Sanchita and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon and had a safe journey home. All...

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 3 March 2015

Very spacious, romatic room with good bathroom. The only thing that not satisfied is the hot water, if you want to take a bath with the bathtub first, and then take a shower, you may need to wait for some time during bathtub and the shower because running out of hot water.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carol b
Jane B, Owner at The Blue Moon B & B, responded to this review

Thank you Carol for taking the time to write a review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry the hot water ran out so that you were unable to take a shower afterwards but as you can appreciate the bath is unusually large and the information folder does explain that it could run out if you run a...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 February 2015

Lovely spacious room equipped with everything you need. Excellent location (easy drive to beautiful Kaiteriteri Beach) with plenty of privacy. Comfy bed and luxurious bathroom - the sunken bath is a real treat. The bathroom is almost at the end of a hallway so not having a door was no problem at all. I probably wouldn't order the breakfast tray...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amber_owen
Jane B, Owner at The Blue Moon B & B, responded to this review

Thanks Amber for taking the time to write a review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in the area and hope to see you again one day. All the best.

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2015

What a lovely stay, the very large bedroom/living/kitchen area was beautifully designed and the bathroom was a special treat. We had the use of a private area of the garden with plenty of comfortable chairs and an excellent BBQ. Jane was very friendly and helpful especially as we left a few things behind and she kindly posted them on to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PAW743
Jane B, Owner at The Blue Moon B & B, responded to this review

Thanks so much for finding the time to write a review, it was a pleasure to meet you and I'm so glad you received the parcel - thanks for the postage money! Glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope the rest of your trip was a good one. All the best. :-)

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 2 January 2015

We stayed at the Blue Moon for 4 nights after Christmas. In one word: perfect! Now some more words: The appartment is very spacious and looks even better than on the pictures. You can feel the love in all the great details. The place has a lot of sunlight and with the decorations at the ceiling it looked special and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JBausHH
Jane B, Owner at The Blue Moon B & B, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderfully detailed review, highlighting the good points about the accommodation and the Riwaka Hotel events! I was happy to be able to help you get there and so glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope the rest of your holiday was just as memorable. All the best :-)

Boston
Reviewed 13 December 2014

We stayed at The Blue Moon B & B in Nov 2014 and it offered the largest amount of space accorded by any of the 11 B&B's we stayed at in New Zealand. Off of the main drag in a quiet neighborhood, the B&B provided more than ample room to spread out and feel comfortable while allowing beaucoup amounts of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BostonPetvet
Jane B, Owner at The Blue Moon B & B, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Blue Moon, I'm glad you enjoyed the space, especially all the sunshine that flows in. I'm sorry about the cobwebs, I will ensure that both myself and the cleaner look harder and try to keep them under control more. Believe it or not as fast as we clear them, they come...

Breda, The Netherlands
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here in Feb this year and we really enjoyed it a lot. The room is very spacious and beautifully decorated. It has a very nice bathroom and a garden to relax. It's located close to the Abel Tasman National Park and on short driving distance from several small towns.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandrav v
Jane B, Owner at The Blue Moon B & B, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and I know others will appreciate your comments when making their decisions on where to stay. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday :-)

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I cannot say enough about our amazing stay at the Blue Moon - if only we had more time in New Zealand we would have stayed longer! We came to the B+B after a long day of traveling and found a wonderful welcome sign for us. Minutes from the Abel Tasman Park, the room we stayed in was bright and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Risleys
Jane B, Owner at The Blue Moon B & B, responded to this review

Hi and thanks so much for taking the time to write such a warm review, it's always a pleasure to know guests have enjoyed their stay and that they were able to relax after a long day on the road! I also hope to see you stay here again one day should you manage to return :-) I hope you...

Seattle
Reviewed 11 April 2014

What a wonderful place to stay as my base in the Motueka area. Perfectly located in a quiet and scenic area just a few minutes away from the beach and a nice walk, and convenient to the shops and cafes of Motueka. And only 15 minutes to one of the prettiest beaches Keiteriteri - the gateway to Abel Tasman. The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeattleToNZ
Jane B, Owner at The Blue Moon B & B, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review and for pointing out all the features of the room and the location. It's such a lovely area and it's always nice to know guests have enjoyed their stay as much as their visit. It was lovely to meet you and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in NZ...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is unusual, arty, quirky, yet spacious accommodation with good facilities and well looked after. Would prefer a door on the toilet. Optional breakfast turned out to be disappointing and poor value. Also, we had 5 weeks experience of welcomes from B&B owners and this was the poorest.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger E
Jane B, Owner at The Blue Moon B & B, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you found the facilities well looked after and enjoyed the spaciousness. I'm sorry however that you found the welcome so poor and the breakfast not to be of value. I have understood from you privately that you found my welcome poor because you were not offered tea/cake/biscuits on arrival as you had...

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
28.8 km away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
255 reviews
24.0 km away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
332 reviews
3.8 km away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
155 reviews
5.8 km away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
173 reviews
3.1 km away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Once in a blue moon you find somewhere different... luxuriously spacious and sunny guest room with king size bed, en-suite including large, circular sunken bath with overhead shower, kitchen/dining area with microwave, fridge, tea/coffee making facilities etc, wood burning stove, peaceful garden setting, separate entrance and off street parking. A continental breakfast tray is provided to your room the night before, allowing you to wake and eat at your leisure, or choose our room only option and self cater or eat at the many cafes in town nearby. Enjoy a complimentary glass of wine and relax. A great place to base yourself to visit the local sights. Only 5mins drive from Motueka, 10mins from Kaiteriteri beach, 20mins to the start of the Abel Tasman National Park, 45mins from Nelson and 1hr from Golden Bay. Walk to the nearby estuary and sea for sunsets and birdlife. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Blue Moon B & B

Address: 57 School Road | Riwaka, Motueka 7198, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Price Range: ₹ 9,477 - ₹ 10,458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Blue Moon B & B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is only one room”
 of 5 bubbles PAW743, 10 Feb 2015 | Read review
“There's only one room and it's amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles JesseAshlin, 3 Jan 2014 | Read review
2 of 2