We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Chalets @ Terraced Gardens

Show Prices
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chalets @ Terraced Gardens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chalets @ Terraced Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Showing 67: English reviews
Oakland, CA
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Our chalet was clean, comfortable and spacious with a nice closet and drawers. The setting was marvelous, deck wonderful and kitchen had all needed necessities. Kim, the owner, was gracious, resourceful and saved our day from a rained out disaster by finding wonderful activities for us nearby. She even did our laundry. I can not disagree with the previous reviewer...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aligold
Canada
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Spent 3 nights here, wanted to leave after 15 mins. Dirty floor (pubic hairs) when I wiped the floor with a damp paper towel it was filthy, fridge handle was disgusting, half empty milk left in it. Horrible cheap rough sheets, we had to go buy pillows because I wasn't sleeping on those. No luggage rack, no space to keep...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SPF04
Kim052, Owner at Chalets @ Terraced Gardens, responded to this review

When I take each guest, personally, to the chalets to show them the facilities I make sure to tell them to come to see me if there is anything else they need or any problems, so I am at a loss to understand why you did not approach me once in three days even though we live on site and...

Chengdu, China
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Thanks Kim. My friend and I just love this place. We spent only one night here in Feb 2013, and we did not wanna leave. Spacious room, spotlessly clean, quiet, well equipped facilities, great surroundings. We even bought a bag of apples as Kim suggested, very nice..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa L
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The ultimate accommodation in the Abel Tasman area! Kim and John are incredible hosts and have literally thought of everything in the creation of these self-contained chalets. I have to begin by saying that although there are many fantastic things about this place, the biggest and best value is the generous and hospitable care that Kim and John provide. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tjtravelle
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 5 January 2013

If you are looking for a quiet, self-contained place in the Abel Tasman area look no further. We stayed 3 nights near the end of November and truly wished we had another couple of days. An affordable option that will exceed your expectations. Here are the details: LOCATION: The property is actually located in Riwaka, a short drive from Motueka...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kristy31
Kim052, Owner at Chalets @ Terraced Gardens, responded to this review

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us enough to write such a comprehensive review. ii enjoy meeting visitors for all over the world and it makes me very happy when they enjoy our beautiful area and their stay with us, cheers Kim

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2012

A beautiful location, green, lush and serene and the chalet is just as nice as its surroundings. Clean and new-looking, high-quality linen, towels and kitchen utensils and the views are fantastic. The amusing pair of quail chasing each other all over the place are an added bonus. Thanks Kim, we would love to return and for more than one night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hila5
Kim052, Owner at Chalets @ Terraced Gardens, responded to this review

How wonderful that you enjoyed our local home grown produce and your stay with us. We take pride in growing everything organically and spray free and it is a joy to be able to share it with our visitors. cheers Kim

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Thanks to Kim, for being a great host. We even bought her own-grown macadamia nuts. They really taste great. Kim has also offered to help us made our bookings for some sight tours. She always tried to make or fulfill your request if possible. The interior of the cottage are clean and nice. I recommended those who want to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saggits_R
Auckland
Reviewed 3 November 2012

There are only 3 chalets at this property which sits elevated on a hill quite a way behind the host's residence and farmland, with great views looking towards the tasman bay. Very peaceful and tranquil location. Our chalet was well presented with a queen size bed, great linen (more luxuries that your average motel/hotel set up), well stocked kitchen, large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dynamac
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I stayed at the chalets for one night after crossing from the north island. They are nicely off the beaten track, and off the main road, in Riwaka just north of Motueka. Self-contained, clean and quiet, deck facing towards the coast and wonderful surrounding countryside, and a great host who made me feel at home straight away. Don't expect 3G...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ringspa
Kim052, Owner at Chalets @ Terraced Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our chalets, we appreciate your positive response. I am please to say that we have now been able to extend the free WiFi up to the chalets, cheers Kim

Ayrshire, Scotland
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Really nice little chalets on a fruit farm. Excellent views from your balcony. Very peaceful location - a nice change from town centre accomodation. Wish I could have stayed here longer - very relaxing. Owner is very friendly and helpful. Chalets very clean. A car would be a must here however.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LCGAyrshire_Scotland

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
27.1 km away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
250 reviews
7.2 km away
Split Apple Retreat
Split Apple Retreat
#1 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
117 reviews
5.4 km away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
340 reviews
5.9 km away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
166 reviews
6.5 km away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#4 of 5 in Motueka
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersGold level
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the scenic beauty of the real New Zealand in the Riwaka Valley Ten minute drive to Abel Tasman National Park (NZ Great Coastal Walks)and Kaiteriteri Beach and Motueka Town. Newly built and opened December 2008, Chalets at Terraced Gardens are three self-contained, self catering, air-conditioned/heated chalets in a garden setting, high on the hill with stunning, panoramic views of the mountains and Tasman Bay from your own private deck. Peaceful and relaxing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chalets @ Terraced Gardens

Address: 133 Dehra Doon Road | Riwaka RD3, Motueka 7198, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Price Range: ₹ 4,426 - ₹ 7,108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chalets @ Terraced Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Chalets @ Terraced Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chalets @ Terraced Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“3 equally equiped small chalets”
  • Terrace view
 of 5 bubbles Andrejka74, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
“You will not be disappointed!”
 of 5 bubbles Smiley80843, 21 Mar 2015 | Read review
“There are only three chalets and they are all in a perfect spot!”
 of 5 bubbles 206clarem, 11 Feb 2015 | Read review
“There are only 3 chalets all the same, perfect”
 of 5 bubbles lorrian, 1 May 2014 | Read review
“There are only 3 chalets so book early!”
  • View from room
  • View from Chalet #2
  • sleeping area
  • Very clean washroom
 of 5 bubbles Kristy31, 5 Jan 2013 | Read review
5 of 5