We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Globetrekkers Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Omapere
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Globetrekkers Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Globetrekkers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 35: English reviews
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

Right on the riverside, the location can't be beaten. Well stocked kitchen facilities, clean bedroom, and bathroom. Owners are incredibly helpful about what to do in the area. Lovely local walks in the forest. No WiFi, so a welcome break from the hustle and bustle of everyday life!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank eyaf1205
Reviewed 25 March 2015 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed in de double room. The room and the facilities where very nice. The manager gave us usefull and lots of information about the area and our further trip to Auckland. I would really recommend this hostel if you are in de the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anouk D
Great Glen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2015

Stayed here one night mid Jan 2015 with my sister. What a great place and great hosts. My first visit to a backpackers lodge. Brilliant. Charming. Highly recommended. Large kitchen, lovely lounge area, great outdoor space, linen included. Wish I could return, mayhaps some years hence.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexDolman
hokianga_79, Manager at Globetrekkers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Alex Thank you for taking the time to give a review for Globetrekkers We are so pleased your first experience was a good one and you enjoyed your time here in the Hokianga Many Thanks & safe travel Sue

Reviewed 25 January 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on our road trip around NZ. It was literally only a pit stop for us but you could easily stay for longer! So calm and relaxing and in a fabulous location. Rooms are spacious and clean, comfy beds and the kitchen/bathrooms are really clean and great facilities. The kitchen is huge which makes a change...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan B
hokianga_79, Owner at Globetrekkers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your review We do appreciate you spending time here with us and taking the time to post a review . We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday Thanks Sue & mike

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 January 2015

Stayed for 6 day's what was too short. We got great information from lovely lady Sue who will explain what there is to do in the area. We had the family room what was roomy for the 3 of us. Great kitchen and plenty of fridge space to store our food. It is lovely to sit outside see photo where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oeht
hokianga_79, Owner at Globetrekkers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our accommodation So pleased you had a great time here and trust you have taken home some special memories .Have a fantastic 2015 Sue & Mike

Reviewed 27 November 2014 via mobile

Lovely spot, friendly owners, lovely homely set up and amazing views across the bay. Can't knock the hostel just wish it had wifi but in some ways it suits the ambience of the place to escape to lose the connection to the modern world.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luke S
Reviewed 11 September 2014

3 nights stay in a double room. Backpacker situated in the mouth of Hokianga Harbour, just an amazing place. Lot of walks; we saw the wonderful lookout in the Sation Radio point, walked on the wild beach during low tide and saw the surprising Koutu Boulders. Sue is very friendly and know all the area! Room perfect for us, with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pépite D
hokianga_79, Manager at Globetrekkers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review it was kind of you to take the time . We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay here Best wishes Sue & Mike

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 September 2014

What can I say about about this wonderful place not just for the things that you can do with the surrounding areas but the peace and tranquility that beholds you when you arrive. Weather has no hold on this place just so much to do and the bungalow type accommodation is to die for! Comfortable beds whether bunks, doubles or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kilincli
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I loved the location of this backpackers, which does have a nice garden & sea view. I had a lovely little room with a double bed..The bathroom was opposite & was clean. The kitchen was well stocked...& the living room quite pleasant....the only thing for me was there was 'No WIFI' & that was promised on the website! So disappointing,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
hokianga_79, Manager at Globetrekkers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Chris Thanks for your feedback and comments.I was pleased you enjoyed your time at Rawene and Kokukohu they are very interesting places but I think you may have mixed up your web sites Globetrekkers website does not mention WiFi Cheers Safe travels Sue

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I can't say too much about this hostel as we were only there very briefly but it had a nice big kitchen, decent shower and we had our own private room which was clean and comfortable. We stayed here to do the Twilights Footprint tour which I recommend and they came here to pick us up no bother.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DMc5

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omapere
1.0 km away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
3.0 km away
Opononi Hotel Limited
Opononi Hotel Limited
#1 of 2 in Opononi
91 reviews
2.5 km away
Opononi Lighthouse Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Waiotemarama Falls Lodge
35.4 km away
Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park
38.2 km away
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
#3 of 12 in Dargaville
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located directly across from the beach. We are the closest backpackers to Tane Mahuta in the Waipoua Forest. Come and enjoy our hospitality with fully equipped kitchen. BBQ area extensive terrace & gardens with dramatic views over the harbour and sand dunes. Activities: Footprints Night Tours, bone carving, sand boarding, fishing forest/waterfall walks. Come relax in a hammock in the unspoilt beauty of the Hokianga. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Globetrekkers Lodge

Address: State Highway 12 | 281, Omapere 0444, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Omapere
Price Range: ₹ 1,760 - ₹ 6,091 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Globetrekkers Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Globetrekkers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“What ever you choose they are all perfect”
 of 5 bubbles kilincli, 2 Sep 2014 | Read review
“We had a double room in the main building which we were happy with. They also have one double room in a separate building just outside the main building which might be more private and quiet if there're many people staying at Globetrekkers.”
 of 5 bubbles HeyD82, 22 Oct 2012 | Read review
“They have internet but you have to ask as its in the office - Also ask about what's to do from owners. We were surprised by how much there is in the area. Bone carving was AWESOME!”
 of 5 bubbles auto123, 16 Sep 2012 | Read review
“Call up well in advance as Globetrotters seems very popular. We found people of all ages there - and there was enough to keep everyone amused.”
 of 5 bubbles CSWE, 5 Jan 2012 | Read review
4 of 4