We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lion Quays

Hotels.comUS$ 121*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Lion Quays
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,220: English reviews
Start your review of Lion Quays
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

As the nearby hotel we wanted to stay at was overbooked, we ended up here. Very expensive. Rooms are nice and big although our bathroom was tiny - only one person could get in there at any time. The breakfast had a huge selection and the staff were nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana E
Matthew W, Guest Relations Manager at Lion Quays, responded to this review

Dear Diana E, Thank you for taking time to leave a review regarding your recent visit to us here at Lion quays. I am pleased to read you found our rooms to be nice and big and that you found our breakfast selection to be of good quality. I hope to be able to welcome you back to Lion Quays...

Carmarthen
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel and helpful lovely staff. Very modern, spotless rooms with a beautiful bathroom, a comfy king bed, and double doors looking out over the canal. The evening meal was expensive, we had fish and chips but it was cold half way through, we did complain but nothing was done about it. Very disapointed with their response. The breakfast in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BethanJ
Matthew W, Guest Relations Manager at Lion Quays, responded to this review

Dear BethanJ, Thank you for taking time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us at Lion Quays. I am pleased to read you found the room and the facilities to be modern and spotless and the bed was of good quality. May I apologise most profusely for the problems regarding your evening meal, this is not the...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Today myself and my girlfriend are thoroughly depressed at the thought of having to leave this beautiful place. We arrived Thursday morning to celebrate my 30th birthday. We were booked in for 2 treatments at the spa which, were magnificent. The staff even bent over backwards to accommodate myself and my pregnant girlfriend so that we could have a joint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenStevens10
Matthew W, Guest Relations Manager at Lion Quays, responded to this review

Dear BenStevens10, Wow! Thank you for leaving such a fantastic review and may I wish you a belated happy birthday. Its fantastic to read you had such a lovely experience during your stay with us at Lion Quays. I am delighted to read you found many aspects of your stay to be so great you were sad to leave. Thank...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The spa facilities are good The hotel room clean and peaceful. The new Waterside Restaurant for our inclusive evening meal was delightful. Lots of choice for my dairy free diet and a super surprise that there was a fabulous vegan dessert. What a special treat. The setting is lovely and the resident peacock a joy to see. Staff on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggie L
Matthew W, Guest Relations Manager at Lion Quays, responded to this review

Dear Maggie L, Thank you for taking time to leave such a lovely review regarding your recent visit. I am delighted to read you found our Waterside restaurant to delightful and you were able to choose from a wide range of items. I am glad to see Eugene our resident peacock was able to greet you during your visit. Its...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Have stayed twice for company business at Lion Quays: Good points: Spa and leisure facilities are exceptional. Friendly and helpful staff. Eugene the peacock is charming and very nosy if you have a ground floor room. Room service breakfast is delicious. Bad points: On both stays rooms were tired and in poor repair (heater hanging off wall, curtain pelmet hanging...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LBandTG2016
Matthew W, Guest Relations Manager at Lion Quays, responded to this review

Dear LBandTG2016, Thank you for taking time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay at Lion Quays. Its great to read you found our Spa facilities to be exceptional, we are very proud of our spa here at Lion Quays and its great to see our guests feel the same. Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff, they...

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel from 11th to 13th May 2017 and while it looks really good it's in reality a little tired and not a four star hotel but probably a decent three star. Our room was clean but the carpet was heavily stained with black marks and the veneer on the dressing table area had come away. One...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
Matthew W, Guest Relations Manager at Lion Quays, responded to this review

Dear Paul R, Thank you for taking time to leave balanced feedback regarding your recent stay at Lion Quays. May I apologise most profusely for the problems that you encountered with the condition of the carpet in the bedroom and service at dinner. I have reported this to Senior management who will ensure the carpet is cleaned by our carpet...

Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Job well done on the refurb ,nice contemporary feel now Bar staff appeared overworked although v pleasant & apologetic for wait . Interesting choice uniform looked like something out of the workhouse of long ago. Can.t be very comfortable to work in . Would be helpful if when ordering food info on what sides included ,as Didn.t order any &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brian c
Matthew W, Guest Relations Manager at Lion Quays, responded to this review

Dear Brian c, Thank you for your kind works regarding our recent refurbishment of the Waterside restaurant. We are very proud of the work that has been carried out and its great to read our guests feel the same. I have noted the comments regarding the dishes and what accompanies each dish, I Will pass these comments on to the...

Gladestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival we were impressed by the setting and overall tidiness of the landscaped areas with well varied planting of healthy shrubs etc. The young lady on reception at the hotel was very welcoming and efficient, even changing our room to one with a view over the canal and fields along with a balcony. The original room was right by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melvyn H
Matthew W, Guest Relations Manager at Lion Quays, responded to this review

Dear Melvyn H, Thank you for taking time to leave feedback regarding your recent visit to Lion Quays. I am pleased to see our staff were able to help and assist with a change of room I will pass on your kind comments to our reception team here. I have noted your comments about the service in the Waterside and...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here before on a spa break deal and so chose to go again because of our previous experience. We were informed that the waterside restaurant was closed when we originally booked so we chose to reschedule as this was the highlight for us the first time round. We had a package of B&B plus 3 course evening...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike J
Matthew W, Guest Relations Manager at Lion Quays, responded to this review

Dear Mike J, Thank you for taking time to leave valuable feedback for us here at Lion Quays. I am delighted to read that you found many aspects of your stay to be great and that you really enjoyed our country club facilities we are really proud of these here at Lion quays. I can assure you this is not...

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having visited the lion quays on my own several times before, I finally managed to bring my husband. The hotel, spa, and restaurants meant we had the most fabulous of times together, all topped off with a marvellous evening in the riverside restaurant. The restaurant and bar staff were beyond helpful and courteous, and made our break absolutely perfect. As...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank philippakr
Colin J, General Manager at Lion Quays, responded to this review

Dear philippakr, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your 5 star review regarding your recent stay with us at Lion Quays Hotel & Spa. I am delighted that you had the perfect get away and you managed to bring your husband on this trip. I will pass on your lovely comments to the team here who...

292 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (280)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (142)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston Rhyn
6.4 km away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
404 reviews
26.2 km away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
7.8 km away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
439 reviews
24.2 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
25.2 km away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lion Quays Hotel & Spa is situated just north of Oswestry, between Wrexham and Shrewsbury, on the picturesque banks of the Llangollen Canal, just a short walk from the UNESCO World Heritage Site that runs along the canal from the Chirk Aquaduct to the Horseshoe Falls in Llangollen. With 82 rooms including a bridal suite and family rooms. Lion Quays has something for everyone. We offer all the comfort and convenience you would expect from a 4 star hotel as well as full access to our Country Club - 25 m swimming pool and poolside jacuzzi, steam room and sauna for all hotel guests. You will also discover our award winning 5 bubble Spa with thermal suite and snow cave. Spa facilities and treatments can be booked on their own or with a stay in the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lion Quays

Address: Weston Rhyn SY11 3EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Weston Rhyn
Price Range: ₹ 7,488 - ₹ 12,452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion Quays 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lion Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Quays Oswestry
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lion Quays staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Lion Quays staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try not to be near the front of the hotel as you can then hear the bar, etc”
Endsor-Wigg, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“When we stay here again will ask for a room with balcony to watch the boats go by.”
BethanJ, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Cabal view and ground floor balcony best”
, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with balconies facing over canal are good, better views.”
344melvynh, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Room with canal view”
jjonessss70, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 121* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 121
Expedia.comUS$ 121
Orbitz.comUS$ 121
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates