We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sandpiper Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Hermosa
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sandpiper Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sandpiper Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 118: English reviews
California
Reviewed 14 May 2016

My husband and I just got back from a week and a half in Costa Rica and we spent the first half of our stay at the Sandpiper. It was THE BEST stop! Greg and his wife Saritha were the best hosts. We were able to arrange for Greg to pick us up at the airport even after our flight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim_Nootbaar
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

The Owner, Greg, is aggressive, unorganized and disrespectful. Rooms are disgusting and not clean, have spiders in beds and are very outdated. Grounds are a mess. Hot tubs broken and outdoor bathroom had blood in the toilet. Wifi/cable is meaningless. Worse than a hostel! Just a little about us: We have lived in and traveled several cities worldwide mostly on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank walkeram328
sandpiper222222, Owner at Sandpiper Hotel, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you so much Annie for the lenghtly venting! So let me start by stating a basic fact! You arrived about 4pm after a long 5 - 6 hour drive after getting lost on the way as you stated..After arriving, we showed you your rooms & gave you a complete tour of the grounds on how everything works as...

Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewed 10 March 2016

My son and I spent the last three days of a wonderful 2 week vacation at Sandpiper Hotel, owned and operated by Greg Miller. Unknowingly, we had saved the best place for last in our journey moving along the South Pacific side of Costa Rica. The hotel sits right on one of the most beautiful beaches in the country and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bternst
Wyandotte, Michigan
Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

Great little oasis.! The room was clean. We had fresh brewed coffee each morning with the owner Greg Miller. He treated us like family..This was our first time to Costa Rica. He suggested things to do and see,wish we had more time there.The Sandpiper is walking distance to plenty of good places to eat. It's location to a little store...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brian m
Ocean City, Maryland
Reviewed 1 February 2016

Back to reality after a fantastic trip to Costa Rica which included four days at the Sandpiper Hotel in Playa Hermosa. First a little about Playa Hermosa... Hermosa is a laid back spot about a 10 minute drive from Jaco with a beautiful black sand beach and good sizes waves. A surfers paradise but also great for families and travelers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank breganoc
Reviewed 31 January 2016

What an amazing experience from day one when we contacted Greg Miller at Sandpiper Hotel. We contacted Greg asking him for help in setting up our wedding at the Sandpiper Hotel. Greg was very helpful and knowledge of the area. We planned our wedding for several months and contacted services in the area and mentioned we were staying at Sandpiper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
costa rica
Reviewed 27 January 2016

We stayed here and the room was simple but clean. We paid $90 for the room which is fair for a beachfront property of this type. The owner Greg was friendly and accomodating. There isn't much special about the proerty, nor is there anything bad that we experienced. It is a good place for a quick weekend surf trip or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dac8555
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 January 2016

I am already having SandPiper withdrawal. My boyfriend and I booked a last minute trip to Playa Hermosa over Christmas to get away and do some surfing. We didn't have an itinerary at all. Greg the owner, who has become a lifelong friend suggested and arranged transportation for places to eat, activities we would enjoy and took us to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
Reviewed 23 November 2015

Stayed there for 3 nights in Februray 2015 while on parental leave with our six month old. This was our first stop for a three week's stay in Costa Rica. Everything was excellent and this was such a great introduction to the awesome country that is Costa Rica. Greg picked us up at the airport and was very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hjördís G
Vashon, Washington
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Great place to stay if you aren't looking for cookie-cutter hotel amenities, but want to experience beach side living with iguanas, geckos, baby turtles and a chocolate lab on the premises. This is a charming surf-side hotel and Greg goes out of his way to provide a personal touch with clean rooms, local intel and everything you need to make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndreSapp

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (151)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.5 km away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
88 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#22 of 44 in Jaco
124 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
2.5 km away
Terraza del Pacifico
Terraza del Pacifico
#4 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
184 reviews
4.9 km away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our rooms have FULL kitchens with Microwave, Stove, Toaster, Coffee Maker, Fridge, Dishes, pots & pans..Great A/C, WiFi, Cable TV with English stations - HBO, TNT, CNN etc..Free Beach chairs & beach Umbrellas, Pool, Ping-pong, Rancho with Hammocks, secure parking & we are ON the beach / Sand!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandpiper Hotel

Address: On the beach, in front of Soccer field | Playa Hermosa / Jaco / Costa Rica, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Price Range: ₹ 5,236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Playa Hermosa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandpiper Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Huntington, Vermont
9 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Sandpiper Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was at the end, closest to the ocean and we would recommend that one. Wish I remembered the room name.”
 of 5 bubbles teamlove, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not all the rooms have views, but they are ALL only steps away from the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles jahappyheart, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get the upstairs larger room with balcony”
 of 5 bubbles C1852BBlisam, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“For bigger parties the larger room upstairs was perfect, not to mention the view from the balcony is awesome!”
 of 5 bubbles rondab583, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All are good, but the two with ocean view are perfect”
 of 5 bubbles Marco_Montero, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5