We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bell At Sax'

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bell At Sax\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 177: English reviews
Llandudno Junction, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good food, looks good, tastes good. Service very friendly. Nice atmosphere. We have been for another meal and were equally pleased. First meal was a Christmas special which was very good so we went again for my birthday and were not disappointed. Would recommend and we will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ann e
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

That's lovely, so pleased you enjoyed your meals with us.

UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel feels a little cold on entry owing to its old flagged floors but its maintenance of a traditional décor is one of its attractions. Our room (at the front, overlooking the main road) was large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was unusually spacious and surprisingly modern compared with the fittings in the rest of the building. Plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hpboap
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We do try to keep The Bell cosy but as you mentioned it is an old building and this can be difficult. Our breakfasts are good and yes you do get generopus portions with all our meals. Hope to see you again.

Cambridge
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed on New Years Eve as we were attending a wedding nearby so probably not the best night for a review. We had a good size room with comfy beds and decent bathroom - it was a bit chilly when we arrived, only having a turned down radiator by the front door and not in the bedroom, room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It most probably was not the best night to stay and we did accomodate you as best we could. The bar did close to the public at 6pm and we did finish serving drinks for the party at 1am, so apologies for that and just bad timing I am afraid. I do hope we can...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night on the 29th December, rooms need updating, no mirror near electric points, shaver light not working in bathroom. Russian army practicing marching at 4am above our room and up and down stairs. Breakfast was so so, burnt chipolata posing as a sausage and dried out cardboard for bacon. Under staffed with one woman dealing with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We were all very surpirsed to hear you had a disturbed night. As to the breakfast; I don't know what to say as we are always complimented on the quality, so I can only apoligise and wish you had said something at the time so that we could offer you...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here on a 2 Night Groupon deal early November & were very impressed with the value for money. The room was very clean with good facilities. All the staff went out of their way we had a great stay. The food was excellent & would recommend & we'll be back to sample some again. Well done all!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ukopinion
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review and so very pleased you had a good stay.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We dined and stayed overnight as part of a pre-Christmas break to see family. We loved the whole experience: welcoming, friendly and efficient staff, a lovely big room (nicely decorated, like staying with a good friend rather than over primped hotel). The evening meal had lots of good choices, and our meal was delicious - lots of it, very tasty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RuthMT
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we are really please you enjoyed your stay and your meal.

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2016

The Bell is an eighteenth century coaching inn and made such a refreshing change to the Premier Inns we usually use. The building is old so expect traditional keys ( the natural "key rings" means there is no chance of losing your key ) the odd squeaky floor board and old fashioned door latches - but this all just lends...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GUARDSMAN
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we do hope to see you again and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Stunning food only matched by super friendly staff. Warm friendly hotel with stylish rooms. Great location for Sax and all surrounding Suffolk villages. Have not stayed in such a friendly place for a very long time!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

Wow, thank you very much for your lovely words. So very pleased you think we have achieved what we set out to do. Hope to see you again.

Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

As locals on a miserable December eve, we stopped by for a meal. The pork belly cassoulet was to die for and we both contemplated the last few chunky chips in despair, unable to force them down! Lacked a little ambience, as lighting was bright and Christmas decor minimal. But great value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth H
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

Thank you for your review and very glad you enjoyed your meal. Sorry about the ambience, must have been that rare occasion! As for the decorations I am not sure what we could add.

Aldeburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Great meal. Accommodated for gluten free Waiting staff a little rushed and dessert menus were delivered without any explanation of which desserts were gluten free. Otherwise service and food was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 811philipp
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

Thank you for your review, so glad you had a lovely meal. We will endeavour to make our dessert menu clearer in the future with regards to the gluten free options. Look forward to seeing you again.

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saxmundham
5.7 km away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
643 reviews
10.0 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,358 reviews
8.0 km away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
925 reviews
10.0 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
608 reviews
10.1 km away
The Crown Hotel - Framlingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast Available
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bell At Sax' is a laid-back welcoming 10 bedroom restaurant-with-rooms, in the heart of Saxmundham, surrounded by the Suffolk Heritage Coast and the stylish destinations of Southwold, Aldeburgh, Framlingham and Woodbridge. Here at The Bell, we are all about good cooking, carefully prepared by owner & head chef Jonathan Nicholson and his team, into hearty elegant dishes, made with fabulous local ingredients from our artisan producer friends around East Suffolk. We welcome weekenders, business travellers, holidaymakers, parties and small weddings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bell At Sax'

Address: 31 High Street, Saxmundham IP17 1AF, England (Formerly Bell Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham
Price Range: ₹ 6,623 - ₹ 8,398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell At Sax' 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Bell At Sax' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bell At Sax' staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bromley, United Kingdom
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Bell At Sax' staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only used the restaurant because we live close by.”
 of 5 bubbles 662anne, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not attic rooms we were told if you're tall.”
 of 5 bubbles ukopinion, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 has a sloping roof so seems a little smaller”
 of 5 bubbles GUARDSMAN, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 is great, very soundproof and spacious!”
  • Our twin room
 of 5 bubbles katebeaarch, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 5. Check that the windows are fully closed as the paper shop next door to the hotel gets a few early birds.”
 of 5 bubbles BillC847, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay