We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge

14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 201: English reviews
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2015

Just returned, 3 weeks ago, from Indonesia and it really was…. the “holiday of a lifetime”. In fact I cannot stop enthusing about it, and the 2 nights at Rimba were a brilliant highlight. The joy for me was being away from the luxury of an anonymous hotel, but instead being in the heart of the rainforest, surrounded by wildlife...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Hazel S
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for wonderful write up about your Rimba experience. We are just about to commission a 24/7 electricity system driven mainly by solar power. Thank you all so much

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2015

Rimba Lodge should be viewed as an alternative to staying on your klotok (boat). It is up a river with poor land transportation with all services arriving and departing by boat. Therefore the price is higher and also a percentage of the money goes to the Orangutan Foundation. It is basic but there is air conditioning and the beds are...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jane W
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your realistic report. We are a conservation company dedicated to empower local people with jobs to fight off the illegal attempts to destroy this wonderful national park with its eight primate species and millions of other species of fauna and flora dependent on the conservation of the orangutan. We are not a 5 star establishment; however we...

Waimea, Hawaii, United States
Reviewed 10 February 2015

Travelled to Rimba Lodge in February 2015, the accommodations were not for us! We ended up leaving the Rimba Lodge after one night, and asked the guide and boat captain to take us back to civilization to get a hotel room for the night. Our Emerald Room (supposedly the best room), we could see water stains from the roof leaking...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Diana M
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

We refheer to your report and certainly the room report will be investigated. This is likely to result in staff member in charge of your room being removed. Regarding your complaint re no power between 1000 and 1700. This has always been our policy but will change when our new solar power plant (currently being installed) is operational in around...

Reviewed 7 February 2015

We ‘only’ stayed at Rimba Ecolodge for 5 days, but what a big impact it made on us. It started with emailing about the possibilities. We got quick replies every time and with the help of ecolodges we decided to adjust the 3nights/4days to our wishes. We gave them our flight number, and from there on we didn’t have to...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank JosuaEnKim
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate your report on our Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge especially mentioning our guides and boat staff. You have captured the magic of the Rimba experience, which has been missed by many. Our company only employs local people, empowering them as a conservation measure and it is with such pleasure to know that the persons you mentioned looked after...

Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 18 January 2015

I Travelled to Rimba in December 2014 and had a once in a lifetime trip. Greeted by my guide Eros, the 4 day tour was fantastic. The relaxed pace of the klontok cruising up and down the river, waving to other travellers and spotting the proboscus monkey groups, crocs and with our Captains skill, even wild orangutans, the tour was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gdoreian
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

We thank you for your report about us especially the variation of wildlife around the lodge and the comments about our staff who are all local people as part of our conservation policy, namely to empower local people. Thank you

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 13 January 2015

We recently stayed 4 nights at Rimba Orang-utan Ecolodge. We had such an amazing time - the setting is just fantastic, with proboscis monkeys, langurs and macaques around the lodge which completely charmed us. In spite of being in such a remote area, the staff managed to prepare excellent and varied food and were very pleasant. We really appreciated being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kittyjacqui
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

We greatly thank you for your report on our lodge especially about our restaurant staff and Hakim, the Head of our guide services. We believe this is a unique place and we very thankful that someone from South Africa, a rich place for lodges supports us.

Reviewed 4 January 2015

Nothwithstanding the rave reviews of the forests, the orang-utans, and the nature walks – nothing of which can be attributed to the Rimba Lodge or its management’s efforts, most of the reviews that focus on the actual experience at the Lodge appear to be negative. I would like to add to these reviews. I stayed at Rimba Lodge in late...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ira S
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

We refer to your report on our Rimba Lodge. There is a management group up in a few days and we will certainly look into your remarks. We certainly do not compare ourselves with the remote locations in Africa and make no pretenses as you imply. A large solar energy unit will shortly costing over US$ 300,000 which will give...

Reviewed 1 January 2015

We (a family with 2 children) stayed at the lodge on Dec 29th. The basic design of the place and its overall intent (which presumably was set up in 1991) is good. However, clearly the management sees this is an monopoly situation. The entire place is dusty and the paint and the wooden boards are all worn. A simple act...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Pradeep T
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

We have waited until we had a site visit by senior staff including myself to our precious Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge prior to answering your email which also appears to be an advertisement for the use of boats. Your sweeping generalizations regarding monopolies, lack of electricity, our board walks, service, cleanliness and cost are in the main all rejected for...

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2014

We stayed two nights here whilst in the Tanjung Puting national park visiting the orang-utans. Our first night was on the boat (see other review) and then second and thirds nights in Rimba lodge. Food was dreadful, extremely limited breakfast choice. Staff not overly friendly. Our room was basic and dirty, dusty side, dirty / stained bedding. We would suggest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James R
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your report. This is a "wake up call" for us and we can assure there will be immediate action as this is not our norm. Thank you

surrey, england
Reviewed 3 November 2014

I emailed the manager prior to our trip to find out if we could bring anything along for the local community. She wrote back almost immdiately to tell us of the local school where about 80- children are taught. We took pens, paper, books, hair slides, skipping ropes and a few toys. The children sang to us and I taught...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank smartcookie50
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Your comments about our Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge are greatly appreciated. We will shortly be on satellite internet and have just signed a large contract for solar power at the lodge hoping this will improve our service to clients. Thank you

214 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (208)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkalan Bun
24.7 km away
Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun
Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun
#1 of 2 in Pangkalan Bun
149 reviews
23.7 km away
Arsela Hotel
Arsela Hotel
#1 of 5 in Pangkalan Bun
41 reviews
25.2 km away
Grand Kecubung Hotel
Grand Kecubung Hotel
#2 of 5 in Pangkalan Bun
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Antoneri Lodge
Antoneri Lodge
#4 of 8 in Moni
46 reviews
0.0 km away
Noah Maratua Resort
Noah Maratua Resort
#2 of 2 in Maratua Island
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge

Address: Sekonyer River | Kumai, Pangkalan Bun, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Kalimantan > Central Kalimantan > Pangkalan Bun
Price Range: ₹ 4,889 - ₹ 5,725 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“listen for monkeys on your roof”
alantS401JI, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A flat screen is NOT important. Depends on what you value in life.”
intrepidtravellernz, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seem to have aircon, as we didn't choose the cheapest rooms.”
jackact, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask about different types”
OrangutanEngland, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Diamond room is good.”
most_peaceful, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Agoda.comUS$ 79
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates