Water Scapes

Water Scapes

Traveller (1228)
Our cottage over a canal
Room & Suite (301)
Lake view
Pool & Beach (118)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
₹10,620
Go to your Happy Price
₹10,621
Fully refundable before Sun, 2 Jun
₹10,082
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#9 of 31 hotels in Kumarakom
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Waterscapes - this exotic backwater resort, on the shores of Vembanad Lake is located inside the Kumarakom Bird Sanctuary, which draws migratory birds from as far away as Siberia. The only resort in the destination located inside the bird sanctuary and is noted for its independent huts that stand on stilts and is a place teeming with mangrove vegetation. It offers its guests uninterrupted access to the backwater life of Kumarakom. It is also an interesting location for eco tourists who are interested in mangrove ecosystem, birds related ecosystem. The property is part of the original Kavanattinkara estate once owned by Alfred George Baker. It is also widely popular among the "honeymooners".
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Secured parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Boating
Car hire
Conference facilities
Internet
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Vending machine
Entertainment staff
Fishing
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Room types
Pool view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Marina View
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

Kumarakom 686563 India
763Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 327
  • 317
  • 78
  • 26
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
drharishremya wrote a review Jul 2022
Alappuzha, India71 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our second visit to the property. The last visit was in 2014 before the renovation works. The premises are awesome with those little wood house cabins all over with canals in between which gives you a very fresh feeling which no other properties in Kumarakom can offer. We had opted for the lake view room which was very close to the infinity pool. The room was spacious with clean white bed linen and a good bathroom. Toiletries were of high quality. Towels were neat and clean. Drinking water is supplied in glass bottles. Yes they do have the ' no to plastic' motto. The pool is huge well maintained infinity pool. Pool towels were fresh. There is greenery everywhere

Why did I give a four star rating to this resort?. KTDC resorts are considered to be one of the best when it comes to food. Be it Lake Palace, Aranya nivas or Samudra. However the food was not upto the mark here at waterscapes. They have a buffet meal which had only limited items, not tasty too. Also they include only one non veg item in the buffet menu. If you have fish in the list, there won't be meat and vice versa. I think they should consider revising the menu at the earliest .
If you are not a foodie kind of person then you can surely visit the resort which is within the Bird sanctuary.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking available for many cars and busses
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Waterscapes Kumarakom, General Manager at Water Scapes
Responded 2 Aug 2022
It was a delight to read your review on this travel forum ,also we regret to hear that the buffet option was not able to meet up your expectation corrective action will be taken on that matter. We wish to welcome you back again and look forward to your next visit Manager KTDC Waterscapes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Culture12053307925 wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in the special villa which had the most beautiful view overlooking the backwaters!
Very neatly maintained and comfortable, the food lays emphasis on local cuisine and is an absolute delight! We hope to return again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Waterscapes Kumarakom, General Manager at Water Scapes
Responded 12 Feb 2023
Thank you for choosing KTDC Waterscapes - we are glad you liked us and rated us 5 stars. Knowing that you are pleased with our Food , maintenace .Your appreciation means a lot to us. We look forward to serving you for many years to come Manager KTDC Waterscapes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deb G wrote a review Oct 2022
Kolkata (Calcutta), India213 contributions28 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a canal view room for my family through MMT. I called in advance to check about the boating facilities available in one of the numbers provided. I was assured that for resort guests no need to book in advance and the boating was complimentary. Turned out none of it is true - couldn't do the boating (motor boat only, no house boat) as it was already booked out for the day by other guests. Only the paddle boats are complimentary which is limited to the resort canals. Not a great way to start.
Other than this incident, my experience with the resort and it's staff were quite satisfactory. The area is quite big, and you can call the buggies if you need. Swimming pool is well maintained, my daughter used it to full extent. Room was nice and clean, with the required dental and shaving kits. You can take a morning walk in bird sanctuary trail (1.5km one-way), though we couldn't spot too many birds.
Food was a mixed bag. Complimentary evening snacks were not as per our taste buds (there was only one item, forgot the name). Dinner non-veg items were also mediocre, veg was good though. Breakfast was comparatively better.
Must mention the staffs who was super helpful throughout, though had minor issues with English at times. All in all, I feel it's quite VFM among the luxury resorts on Vembanand.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Waterscapes Kumarakom, General Manager at Water Scapes
Responded 13 Nov 2022
We sincerely apologize for the lapse in service which happened initially it is not a reflection of the hospitality that we delight our guests with. Your points have been noted and addressed with the highest importance it deserves. Happy to know that other than initial experience you had you were very happy with the stay with us. Suggestions you made will be taken care with at most importance . Welcoming back to our property once again Manager KTDC Waterscapes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Payel wrote a review Oct 2022
9 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had paid a lot of money to book my stay directly from KTDC central reservation team because their website said that the Waterscapes is exotic backwater resort, on the shores of Vembanad Lake. The photographs show direct view of the lake but after I landed here I found that between the resort and the lake there are miles of water weeds and you can hardly see the lake. It looks like a faint black line in a distance. It is very very disappointing. I feel cheated. KTDC should take initiative to clean the lake and remove the water weeds and also remove the lake view photographs from their website till this is done or provide discounts.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask the hotel directly if the water weeds have been removed from the lake. If not then books...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Waterscapes Kumarakom, General Manager at Water Scapes
Responded 26 Oct 2022
We regret to read that your experience with us was not a memorable one, due to the weed problem in Vembanad Lake. Please do accept our sincere apologies for the same. We would like to inform that the weed removal is not permitted to any resort or parties in the area and the weed in Lake moves from place to place according to wind and tide, all properties in the area are helpless on this matter. We have taken note of the areas of improvement that you have highlighted and the same will be addressed in all earnest .Look forward to creating a truly memorable experience on your future visit and showcase the true our Hospitality and experience We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to KTDC Waterscapes soon. Manager KTDC Waterscapes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Passport43129031294 wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The stay, facilities and the location are excellent. We enjoyed the pool and the location was very good for taking photos

The food was a disappointment. We went after seeing good reviews from YouTube expecting great food as well. But food is overpriced and not worth it. There was a buffet for dinner with only 1 non veg variety which caused heavy as well. Basically we spent huge amount for a buffet with no good items.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Waterscapes Kumarakom, General Manager at Water Scapes
Responded 21 Feb 2023
Thank you for sharing your review, I regret to read that your experience with food was not up to your expectations at the hotel Our team is dedicated to providing excellent customer service in all areas and in every parameter. I am making a special note of your feedback and I assure you of working on . Manager KTDC Waterscapes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Renjith SV wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent property by ktdc but degraded service due to non-professional and inefficient people posted eg:
Sarath. T.

We reached by 2pm yesterday but room was not ready and hence waited in the lobby for more than half an hour. While asking about the same, the reply from Sarath T was really insulting. Also, they are not providing ‘high tea’ as advertised., Intermittent power outage, and no covid protocols maintaining. None of the staffs were wearing masks. Not asking for covid vaccinated certificate during check-in etc.

But we are really impressed about the restaurant staffs. They are very professional and polite. Same way ktdc need to pay more attention about front office staffs. Eg: staffs like Sarath should be given proper customer handling training before exposing to the guests.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philly Sp wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for one night at Waterscape KTDC in June 2022. Overall it was a very good experience. We booked the tickets through booking.com and the process was seamless.

The resort is an exclusive KTDC property, its a prime location with nice view of the Backwater. The cottages are well maintained & appears to be recently renovated. We were vacationing with kids and it is a very kids friendly place. The rooms were very clean & bathrooms and other amenities are up to date. We used the outdoor swimming pool and it was very nice. The place looks amazing at night with all the landscape lighting. The food & meal service was very good. Nice menu option to choose from. The breakfast buffet was very good too. Free bicycle, paddle boot is provided to guests. The resort also arranged for a 1 hr boat ride through the backwaters for a nominal fees.

Mr. Sarath the manager at the site personally took the time to talk to each guest to get their feed back. This was very commendable. All staff we encountered at this resort were very friendly & professional.

Highly recommend this place. 5 stars !!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Lake view cottages have best view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Waterscapes Kumarakom, General Manager at Water Scapes
Responded 2 Aug 2022
Hi, Many thanks for leaving such a wonderful feedback and rating. Our team works very hard to give the best experience to our guests in all aspects and it means so much to us when we get to hear this positive feedbacks from our happy guests. Your comments have been shared with the entire team and they are overjoyed as it is amazing to hear that we have been successful in our goal of providing our guests with the best possible experience. We are grateful that we had the opportunity to serve you and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again! Manager KTDC Waterscapes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Santhosh wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I went with my family and had booked three rooms. Check-in time was 1 PM but we reached around 11.30 am but they allowed to check-in early without any issues. Property is extremely beautiful and well maintained. Bird sanctuary is nearby. There are lot of house boating options near the resort. They provide activities like cycling, motor boat etc. There is no additional cost for cycling. Motor boat is also very reasonable. Staff's are well behaved. Food price is reasonable but they should probably add few more options and if they have lot of bookings they only provide buffet option for lunch/dinner. The best part of this resort is the swimming pool. They have seperate pools for kids and adults. Pool is extremely clean and well maintained. They also provide complimentary tea and snacks in the evening. Overall it was a great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Waterscapes Kumarakom, General Manager at Water Scapes
Responded 26 Oct 2022
Thank you for your review and your compliments are greatly appreciated. It gives me immense pleasure to be recognized for the efforts put in by my team and I thank you for commending them. Thank you for your valuable feedback and for giving us an opportunity to have you as our guest. Suggestion on Restaurant food options will be taken care with utmost importance . I wish you and your families continued safety and thank you for your continued support and patronage Manager KTDC Waterscapes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roushan wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great landscapes. Beautiful scenaries. Nicely maintained woodhouses at waterscapes will great view of backwaters and canals. Had a very pleasant and comfortable stay. Would highly recommend to add Waterscapes in your travel itinerary if visiting Kerala.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Waterscapes Kumarakom, General Manager at Water Scapes
Responded 2 Aug 2022
Many thanks for taking time out of your day to share a personalized review of your stay with us .We are very pleased to know that we were able to meet your expectation on all aspects of your stay and give you a 5 star experience. We will definitely let our team . It was truly our pleasure getting to take care of you and we look forward to hosting you again! Manager KTDC Waterscapes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ANINDYABATABYAL wrote a review Jan 2024
Kolkata (Calcutta), India18 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I and my wife stayed at the KTDC Water Scapes, Kumarakom from 25th to 28th December, 2023. The location of the resort is excellent, just beside the vast expanse of the Vembanad lake. You can leisurely watch the setting sun while sipping tea at the resort. The resort is located just adjacent to the Kumarakom bird sanctuary and you can take a stroll across the sanctuary from the resort. During winter, we were fortunate to see quite a lot of migratory birds.
We stayed in the canal view rooms. The rooms were impeccably neat and clean with good view of the lake. The lake front rooms have a better view of the Vembanad lake but all those rooms were booked before we made our booking. The resort has a vast area where you can enjoy your stay in the lap of nature. The restaurant serves primarily buffet menu. The food served at the restaurant is good although some of the items were a little bit spicy. The complimentary buffet breakfast was quite good too with a lot of options. However,it will be better if separate a-la-carte menu is introduced in the restaurant during lunch and dinner particularly for those who do not wish to take the buffet menu.
If you want to do boating in the Vembanad lake, you can do so in KTDC's own boat, which is quite good. You only need to tell the reception staff in advance about it. They will make the necessary arrangements.
I would say that this resort is a wonderful place to stay at Kumarakom. All the staff at the resort were extremely helpful, polite and cordial. The overall hospitality at the resort is excellent.We would again love to stay at Waterscapes, Kumarakom very soon in future.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try to book early so that you can book the lake front rooms.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Waterscapes Kumarakom, General Manager at Water Scapes
Responded 21 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking the time to review WATERSCAPES KUMARAKOM and awarding us with a five star rating on this forum. We are glad to know that you had a comfortable stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back soon and assure you of our best services always. Manoj Kumar K Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from 466surenderm
New Delhi, India141 contributions16 helpful votes
We were there in January and heard nothing about renovation. You may contact the resort for latest updates.
Pritha asked a question Apr 2017
Kolkata (Calcutta), India132 contributions22 helpful votes
Do they provide houseboat to alleppey?
Answer from travelddays
19 contributions
No I guess
Answer from Anup Rajput
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India12 contributions2 helpful votes
I don't think they arrange for just boating n lunch. If I am not wrong you need to have atleast one day stay.. still you can call once at the hotel...
Stay60281662980 wrote a tip 6 May
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Small kids should be cared at any second."
Read full review
Tania N wrote a tip Feb 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Everything perfect "
Read full review
Mahendra Pratap S wrote a tip Feb 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Must visit place."
Read full review
sree wrote a tip Jan 2024
Dubai, United Arab Emirates2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to get the lake view cottage"
Read full review
ANINDYABATABYAL wrote a tip Jan 2024
Kolkata (Calcutta), India18 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to book early so that you can book the lake front rooms."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kumarakom area.
PRICE RANGE
₹8,081 - ₹10,497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
waterscapes ktdc backwater hotel kumarakom
LOCATION
IndiaKeralaKottayam DistrictKumarakom
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WATER SCAPES (Kumarakom, Kerala) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Water Scapes
Which popular attractions are close to Water Scapes?
Nearby attractions include Vembanad Lake (7.6 km), Bay Island Driftwood Museum (1.4 km), and Kumarakom Bird Sanctuary (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Water Scapes?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Water Scapes?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Water Scapes?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Water Scapes?
Yes, secured parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Water Scapes?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lime Tree, The Waterside, and Ettukettu.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Water Scapes?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Water Scapes?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Water Scapes offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Water Scapes?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Does Water Scapes have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
All Kumarakom HotelsKumarakom Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KumarakomHotels near Water Scapes
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire