Backwater Ripples

Backwater Ripples

Traveller (1191)
Our room from outside
Room & Suite (203)
Multi-Cuisine Restaurant
Dining (23)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Go to your Happy Price
₹8,620
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
₹7,654
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
₹8,926
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 spa in Kumarakom
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Backwater Ripples offers 65 rooms including luxury independent cottages in a variety of styles to cater various requirements. The accommodation is spacious, private and superbly appointed with state of the art designer amenities and personalized services. The resort has wide range of facilities to make sure a comfort and memorable stay in our resort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Indoor play area for children
Wifi
Paid wifi
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Foot massage
Head massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Lake View
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

Nazerath Church Road, Kumarakom 686563 India
1,112Review22Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 673
  • 301
  • 75
  • 34
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Swarnim Agarwal wrote a review Sept 2020
New Delhi, India74 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Writing a late review, we visited in Feb 2018 ,I would like to mention we traveled from Trivandrum to Kumarakom via road with private taxi which is easily available, it took us almost 4 hrs to reach there, so please plan your travel accordingly.

On reaching we were welcomed with a refreshing drink and it was an easy check in.
Room was clean, spacious and with all the necessary amenities, the view outside the room was mesmerizing, we had a sea view room, a hammock swing was also there to enjoy the sea view

They arranged a complimentary evening tea and snacks which was followed by a complimentary boat ride for the sunset view which was memorable.
We also took a fun bicycle ride which was available also.

The infinity look pool is well maintained and clean, they also provide swimwear with nominal charges, the dip in pool will definitely relax you.

The food was also good with great taste, and the buffet breakfast was also good with a variety of north Indian and south Indian dishes with different breads and desserts.

One point I would like to mention that there is nothing to explore outside the resort like market or any monumental attraction, so plan accordingly with a mindset of relaxing stay and enjoying just the property.
Overall it was pleasant stay and would highly recommend if you are looking for a relaxing and rejuvenating stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms are good and quiet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shanthakumar wrote a review May 2020
Muttukadu, India11 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful resort in Kumarakom. Sea view rooms were spacious and nicely maintained. View from Balcony was too good with beautiful views of backwaters and garden. Prices are bit higher but service is excellent and staff were very helpful and the complimentary services they provide certainly make it worth.

Swimming pool is maintained very well and clean. Special mention for the lean guy taking care of swimming pool who was very attentive. He immediately jumped and lifted couple of kids who fell inside pool which averted few incidents.
Swimming shorts and goggles are also available at reception store, can be bought for a nominal price which helps follow the rules.

Complimentary evening snacks, tea and boat ride were good. They have enough place to dock houseboat and accommodate requests to enter from backwater which is cool.

They also arranged a nice kuchipudi dance show and when it rained at last minute, they immediately changed to covered venue within premises.
They also provide badminton rackets on request.

Restaurant was very clean and food taste was quite good. Complimentary buffet had huge spread of south and north indian tiffin, fruits, breads, doughnuts, croissants, juices, tea/coffee. Live counters for omelette and aapam were too good.

They quickly arranged taxi at short notice for Alleppey station drop. Also arranged autos for local visit.

Overall a pleasant and excellent stay. Highly recommended!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Naveen K wrote a review Jan 2020
Chennai (Madras), India1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I took a heritage villa and stayed at this facility for a day. The location of this resort, the amenities and facilities, the view of the lake from your room (depends on the type of room you choose) were delightful. The architecture, the interiors, the fixtures were brilliant and aesthetically designed.

I personally felt that the facility was a bit over-priced and the restaurant was quite average. The price also includes a complimentary breakfast, high tea and snacks, a boat ride through the backwaters of Vembanad lake in the evening.

Take a dip into the beautiful swimming pool facing the backwaters, relax with a beautiful book on the hammocks, a peaceful walk through the gardens, a morning coffee with a view of the backwaters - I guarantee that this place won't be a disappointment to you. Best for travelers, couples and families.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Satheeshkarunakaran, COO at Backwater Ripples
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the stay with us as well as you have liked the location. We certainly look forward to being of service again when you next stay with us. Warm regards Satheesh
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alex wrote a review Feb 2020
Cambridge, United Kingdom74 contributions69 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
At the end of a busy business trip I joined friends at Backwater Ripples for a week of R&R. It’s a lovely estate with real character, all the buildings clustered on the lake shore with a mix of hotel rooms, apartments, and individual bungalows, each with distinct tiled roofs and plenty of hammocks among the palms.

We had a bungalow and despite being clustered among others they are carefully situated so that they feel very private. It was brilliant having out own little terrace, we had a hammock too and everything day watched the amazing bird and wildlife right outside. We had an egret that visited every morning and could see bitterns, kingfishers, cormorants, herons.....so much amazing wildlife from the comfort of our easy chairs!

The one big drawback when we were there was the building work going on to remodel some of the bungalows and add a new section to the main hotel building. It started early and went on late which rather spoiled the tranquility we had been hoping for. I wish they had let us know in advance as we might have made different arrangements. Nevertheless, putting that to one side.....

The hotel staff are wonderful, they could not do more to help. There is an Aryuvedic spa onsite offering a range of treatments, I had several while there and felt wonderful by the end of the week. The staff are happy to arrange cars and Tuk Tuks to help you get around (there are great beaches an hour away if you fancy a change of scene), there’s a boat trip around the lake that leaves from the hotel lawns every evening, live music to accompany dinner, the hotel can arrange house boat trips into the backwaters. The hotels also has an infinity pool looking over the lake - great for viewing the sunset!

The menu is extensive and is all available via room service if you don’t feel like sitting in the air conditioned restaurant, and I had the best banana split I’ve eaten since I was a child.

This is a fabulous place and I will definitely be back, but only if I get a cast iron guarantee that the builders have finished!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shifali S wrote a review Jan 2021
31 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here after new years for a couple of days. The resort has been recently refurbished and it was truly an wonderful experience. Rooms and bathrooms are luxurious, views of the lake are just too good that all you feel like is spending time near the lake. Staff were extremely prompt in service and courteous - attended to all needs within just a few minutes of calling them. They offer a free boat ride everyday evening at 5, that you can choose to go on every day of your stay.
Special thanks to the front desk manager Ms. Sindu who was really friendly and made us feel at home. She was extremely willing to help and guide through all our queries.
Only downside of the whole experience was the dinner from the restaurant, which was quite tasteless. We ordered in on our first night, and ended up buying from outside the second. Breakfast buffet was actually good with different varieties on the 2 days of our stay, including both indian and continental options. But the dinner was truly a disappointment. Would definitely visit again and defenitely recommend the place!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grueben wrote a review Mar 2020
United Kingdom96 contributions44 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely lakeview lodge with a veranda where we could watch birds (purple heron, kingfishers etc) on the lake and enjoy the peaceful view. The staff at the hotel were very welcoming and attentive and the management were extremely helpful with any information and needs we had and really went the extra mile.
There were some building works going on which meant a little more background noise and mess than usual but it did not interfere or prevent us enjoying what the resort had to offer. There was also a nice breeze that side of the lake which meant the heat was not too much in the middle of the day. The food and buffet range was excellent and there were tea and snacks provided daily by the pool followed by a pre-sunset boat trip, all included in the price. We also spent a night on a house boat which picked us up and returned us to the hotel jetty which was very easy and convenient. A great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The lakeside lodges have a lovely view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
scjscj2017 wrote a review May 2020
Grand Cayman24 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
BR was the location for our sons wedding , and it was such a good choice ! The location, rooms , food were all excellent but over and above all that- the staff. They were the most obliging , smiling bunch of people. Sindhu and her front desk team, Prakash our ever smiling
waiter , and so many others . Sindhu and her girls helped many of the guests with tying sarees for the wedding ,and many other little kindnesses.
We spent three days in a Heritage Villa. It was clean and well appointed. Morning coffee arrived promptly and could be enjoyed on the veranda overlooking the peaceful backwaters .
We used the spa and had excellent treatments , sadly marred by some noise from construction work .
The food was really good and the team really stepped up for the wedding and mehendi night dinners . They catered really well for vegans, vegetarian and gluten free guests .
Lots of our friends went on the boat rides which were lovely . Evening chai with snacks became a highlight for everyone . The pool was really nice and well used by everyone.
Our only regret is that we were promised that the construction work would be all complete by January but it wasn’t . This meant that last minute room alterations were being done on the morning that people were checking in! The staff did their very best in these trying circumstances. The manager did come to apologise to us. I did message the owner after the event but was disappointed that he did not respond . I feel that courtesy would have gone a long way .
I would highly recommend BR to anyone for a fabulous stay in a backwater setting , as well as for a big occasion like a wedding .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Abhineet S wrote a review Feb 2020
19 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked 3 rooms here for few nights and the experience was decent. Complimentary boat ride was good. Breakfast buffet was nice with ample options for vegetarians. A la carte options are great too. The chef cooked chicken pasta as per our demand (not part of the menu) in the evening for the room service. Service quality and the staff was good too.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joseph Savi wrote a review Dec 2020
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location, amazing view of backwaters and really really clean rooms. The thing that makes this such a good place to stay are the staff and food! The staff was very helpful and generous with their time and advice which helped us experience the best of Kumarakom. We travelled with a lot of luggage and despite the stairs upto the elevator we had absolutely no problem as their was person to carry it to our room.
I travelled in December, so the entire place was decorated with contemporary decorations that gave rustic look. I have attached a picture of their Christmas star, which by the way was my favourite.
This was the nicest place we stayed, during the two weeks we were in Kerala.

Thanks for making our visit to Kumarakam this memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
amolkhuntale wrote a review Feb 2020
Melbourne, Australia4 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I had requested my travel agent to book 5 star resort and he had booked Backwater Ripples. We received one of the coldest welcome ever. We were moved to a room which looked very old, outdated and far away from restaurant. We were travelling with infant so requested them for us to move closer to restaurant area. We were blankly refused stating occupancy issue. Later when we persisted, they asked us to pay extra $$ to move in there.

Room service was too slow. When we called them for an extra spoon, they said you have it in room, use the one!

Positives: Restaurant staff was courageous and food was decent. Area near restaurant and pool is great. Complimentary boat ride was nice with good sunset.

Negatives: Staff needs to be groomed on their level of service (esp during welcome and checkout). Rooms need upgrades (which they are in process of). Be more courageous to guest with infants.

For the price, this resort has potential to be an amazing one, but they definitely need to work on above.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose villa close to pool
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Satheesh K
india3 contributions
Its 0481 2523600. You can also call up the General Manager @ 8594055333
Priya B asked a question Dec 2020
Mumbai, India43 contributions16 helpful votes
Is the construction work still on at the property?
Answer from Satheesh K
india3 contributions
We are all through in full Swing .
Answer from Babey Kurian
1 contribution
Robin, I believe at present they have licensed to serve Beer and Wine only. I have taken out a separate Alcohol licence for a day, for the function.
Answer from vishalchotrani
Mumbai, India58 contributions26 helpful votes
If she doesn't go on a holiday herself, I'm sure she'll be there. Both, Sindhu and Priya were quite helpful. Cheers 🥂
Answer from Megs
Chandigarh, India11 contributions2 helpful votes
A beautiful well maintained property.. very clean pool.. One doesn't need to think b4 booking the property.. It's FANTASTIC
Rajesh wrote a tip 17 May
Chennai (Madras), India80 contributions52 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dont miss the complimentary shikara ride"
Read full review
824rashig wrote a tip Apr 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take more time for this place... Too much to do ... Stay atleast 3 nights to enjoy the whole property and facilities.... Spa is exceptional "
Read full review
Experience752949 wrote a tip Apr 2024
5 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great food at the hotel. And let the staff help you with your backwater tours, they do a great job."
Read full review
Melanie S wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book this Resort, fantastic location"
Read full review
christine g wrote a tip Mar 2024
Newport News, Virginia195 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plan several days there. Tea-time at 4 followed by the sunset cruise 5-6 are a must! "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kumarakom area.
PRICE RANGE
₹7,581 - ₹9,330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
backwater ripples hotel kumarakom, backwater ripples hotel kottayam, backwater ripples kottayam
LOCATION
IndiaKeralaKottayam DistrictKumarakom
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BACKWATER RIPPLES (Kumarakom, Kerala) - Spa Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Backwater Ripples
Which popular attractions are close to Backwater Ripples?
Nearby attractions include Vembanad Lake (3.9 km), Bay Island Driftwood Museum (3.3 km), and Kumarakom Bird Sanctuary (4.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Backwater Ripples?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Backwater Ripples?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Backwater Ripples?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Backwater Ripples?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lime Tree, The Waterside, and Laguna Bass Specialty Seafood Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Backwater Ripples?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Backwater Ripples have airport transportation?
Yes, Backwater Ripples offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Backwater Ripples?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Backwater Ripples offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Backwater Ripples?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
All Kumarakom HotelsKumarakom Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KumarakomHotels near Backwater Ripples
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire